We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Warrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Warrington
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was a lovely hotel, where the staff were very friendly. It is a little bit of everything, a pub, a leisure centre, a spa, but this all added to its character. The rooms are comfortable, if a little tired. The breakfast was lovely.

All in all I would stay here again if I got a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    465
    317
    143
    121
See reviews for
253
537
64
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Every year we spend a long weekend at this hotel. Yet again the staff were fabulous, the girls in the restaurant and bar were friendly reception staff were brilliant and very friendly. The help we received (our son is in a wheelchair) was timely but discrete, the room was clean tidy spacious and welcoming. Can't recommend this place enough.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveleighton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times when on business trips to Warrington. It's a really lovely hotel modern deco beautiful cosy lobby area. Food is nice either in the restaurant or the bar menu. Staff are helpful gym is well kitted out. Only negative if anything is the gym can get quite busy. Other than that I would recommend this hotel if you in Warrington you literally outside the town centre walking distance if want to go for a wander! Not much to do in Warrington but with this hotel you don't need to leave. Good atmosphere in bar in evenings apart from when the footy on - it can be over excitable then!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SZ_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Went on a girls Spa break, which was booked last minute price included 2 x 25min treatments, accommodation, evening meal and breakfast. The spa is not a spa at all its more of a nice beauticians. Yes the staff are lovely and polite and the treatments are nice but there is no where to relax and sit and chill after your treatments. The so called relaxation area also doubles as the waiting room so there is constant coming and going so not in the slightest relaxing. Also as there were so many of us we were told we couldnt stay in this area and the only other area is the main pool, which was full of kids having swimming lessons.

The rooms were nice but very dark, it does bug me that a hotel of this so called star rating has tolietrees stuck to the wall like a cheap motel. The room we stayed in was 121 and it was so noisy there is a vent or air conditioning unit next to it so we barely got any sleep.

The food was fine, nothing particularily exciting - we dined in the main restuarant and there was a function going on so all the restaurant orders got forgot about whilst they served the people in the function room. Everything decent also had a supplement which is annoying.

Overall the hotel was disappointing and I wouldnt rush back on a spa break, if your on business then its fine.

Room Tip: avoid 121 very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redredshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Went here for a late works Christmas party. The venue was good with excellent facilities and the banqueting room was set out great with a circus theme. The food, however, was appalling and such a disappointment. We started with a tomato soup which was ok but tasted like it was from a tin. The main was roast chicken, bland, bland, bland. But it was the dessert that took the biscuit - a supposed sticky toffee pudding that was simply a block of sponge plonked on a plate? No garnish or any attempt made to make it look appealing. Sponge was unidentifiable, tasted like a cross between chocolate, Parkin but certainly not STP, there was no toffee sauce and it was served with a jug of gold custard or cream? Not good! Would not recommend for a large party venue I'm afraid.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1976heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warrington hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I'd rate this hotel 4*.
Perfect location, everything you need and all in one building (pub, restaurant, swimming pool, jacuzzi, stream room, spa, gym).
I met up with my girlfriend for the first time at this hotel and we shall be returning for our 1 year anniversary next week (I feel this lovely hotel was just the start of an amazing relationship!)
The staff were very polite, pool area open till 10pm which is brilliant if you work 12 hour shifts!
Me and my partner are a long diatance relationship, so we've stayed in a handful of stunning hotels, De vere is in our top 3!
We LOVE the lazy Sundays, 2pm or 5pm check out and a 5 course Sunday dinner for an extra £30, the price you would spend on a meal : ).

We'd stay here everyday if we could!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My first impression of this hotel was very favourable - modern, lively reception area with a buzz to it and a fairly spacious room with good modern design. However it all went down hill from there. For whatever reason I was given a wheelchair access room despite not being a wheelchair user. No problem in that, and it probably meant that my room was more spacious than others. However, I did ask myself why they would put a wheelchair access room on the second floor a long way from the lifts??? With it being a supposedly accessible room, the bathroom was in fact a large wet-room. Again not necessarily a problem but for the fact that the water from the shower didn't drain properly and so the whole bathroom just became a big puddle. Worse still, the shower controller was a single knob - turn for cold water, turn further for hot water. Having showered, I meant to turn the shower off but turned it the wrong way. Within moments the water became scaldingly hot. Fortunately I was able to jump out of the way and avoid injury but had I had limited mobility I would probably have been in a lot of pain. Other grumbles included no apparent ability to have breakfast in the room (which I would have found helpful as i had to prepare for a meeting) and no information in the room about the hotel facilities. On check-out I mentioned the bathroom problems to the receptionist who really seemed not to care at all - it was if I had told her that it was cloudy outside. "Oh really? Hmm..." For the price I paid (£110) I have stayed in much better hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
3.2 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
4.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#12 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington Centre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Warrington

Property: Village Hotel Warrington
Address: Hotel Warrington Hotel Warrington 110 Centre Park Square | Warrington, Warrington WA1 1QA, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Warrington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Warrington 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Warrington is close to the beautiful Cheshire countryside and situated between three major shopping centres: Warrington, Liverpool and Manchester all within easy reach from the M6, M56 and M62. You can take a trip to North Wales or visit Arley Hall and Gardens. Family outings should include Chester Zoo and Gulliver's World. Village Hotel Warrington has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding License, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Village Hotel Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrington Village Hotel
Hotel Village Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing