We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average and adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Warrington
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average and adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Received A warm welcome from friendly staff on reception. The room was dark and very masculine with a red and black colour scheme, whoever thought this was a good idea needs their head examining. It made the room dark and slightly depressing. That said it was clean and comfortable and had everything that you need for a short stay. The swimming pool is good, however changing rooms are undergoing refurbishments and family changing rooms could not be located due to poor signage. This resulted in a little girl having to get changed in the male changing toms which was not ideal.

Staff in the pub/restaurant were accommodating and friendly. However, salad arrived with no dressing and when I asked none was available. What kind of chef really thinks it appropriate to send out an undressed salad? Perhaps vinegerette has not yet reached Warrington but the absence of salad cream resulted in a request for mayonnaise, which was offered as the last dribble in a squeezy bottle. On the whole, food was just ok.

Breakfast was good, with a wide selection of items. My main gripe is the fault of the marketing department of this chain of hotels. The hotel tagline of 'live life love life' is naff ness personified! Cringed every time I saw it. That corny little motto is the only thing that would make me think twice about staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauribeth1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear lauribeth1979,

Thank you for choosing the Village for your recent stay and for taking the time to write your review.

We were naturally disappointed that you found us just average - we work really hard to ensure that each of our guests has an extra special visit.

Our leisure facilities are receiving a £350,000 investment and there was a very short window whilst we created our temporary changing facilities. Bedrooms were of course made available for our guests with children during this short period.

I’m not too sure why you were not offered vinaigrette - all of our food is freshly prepared by our skilled kitchen crew so you should have been offered your first choice, I'll raise this with the team so as to ensure this was a one off.

I’m sorry that you did not love our marketing campaign, we have an upbeat view in the group and want to give all of our guests a feel good message whilst with us. We have so much to offer - our slogan is based around making the most of everything that we do have to offer.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to get in touch personally so we can ensure your next visit is an extra special one.

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    490
    328
    147
    122
See reviews for
270
558
66
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. Room was fine for what we needed with plenty of towels and hot water. Bed comfy and a lively big TV.
Food at the wedding was outstanding and the breakfast was also very good. We had no queue at breakfast like others have mentioned - maybe we just got lucky!. All staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and very polite.
We used the leisure facilities before we left which we thought were really good and we liked that you were able to use them even after check out.
Overall we were very impressed with our stay and wouldn't hesitate to book an village urban hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz30WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Caz30WestYorkshire,

Many thanks for your recent visit and your great feedback - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay.

If you liked our standard rooms you will love our UpperDeck - todays must have upgrade including Sky TV, Starbucks in room, Egyption Cotton Sheets, Bose sound system and lots more - its the ideal way to pamper yourself that little bit more.

We spend lots of time making sure that our food is fantastic and we are so popoluar as the perfect Wedding Venue. We feel really honoured that we can share someones special day with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We purchased a KGB deal for two nights inc breakfast and dinner on the first night with a bottle of wine. The hotel included free access to pool spa and gym. The rooms were lovely, staff were great and customer service standards high. Although the hotel is on an industrial estate it's lovely and Liverpool is 20 min. The docks and museums are a great day out. Would definitely stay in one of the deVere hotels again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Deat Janie52,

Thanks for visiting the hotel and for your feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Our leisure facilities really are second to none and we are just completing a further £350,000 of investment in this area. If you loved them before, you will need to pay another visit soon.

With everything that is happening in Warrington and the cultural quarter only a short walk, we'd love to tell you about all the things that you can do on the doorstep for your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Went here for a 2 night stay. . Food was lovely. .staff couldn't do enough for you. .spa treatments were Lovely. .yes the throws on the bed were a bit Bobbly..but who cares..rooms were clean. .bathrooms were nice. .lots of TVs in the bar. .couldn't fault it. .Some people are really fussy and yes you could pick fault if you tried but overall its a lovely hotel with very friendly staff..would recommend!













  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelovelysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear thelovelysue

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

The team work really hard to ensure that our guests have a wonderful time and are delighted to receive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have stayed at many Village resorts all good but the experience we had at warrington was terrible dark, dirty never go there again.Staff uniform must have changed tshirts and jeans?mould around bath and shower screen.

Room Tip: Small room, view out of window extractor fan not clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bell171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear bell171

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and offer us your feedback.

I am sorry that you did not have an overall wonderful experience with us, contrary to the majority of the wonderful feedback that we receive.

Whereas I appreciate that our darker style may not appeal to everybody, we do have a plan to change the teams uniforms.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future to see what we have done.

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warrington hotels

Rotherham
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Second visit to this Devere but still feel the rooms could do with some refurbishment. The rooms are so dark throughout the hotel and particularly the bedrooms. Had to have light on despite it being a sunny weekend. The shower had horrible black mould in it and the walls some rather unpleasant splashes of something.
The dining room again is very dark and furniture tired but the food was excellent. Staff too were faultless and so very helpful.
Pool was good but families throwing balls across the pool and children 'bombing" were not conducive to my idea of a spa weekend.

Room Tip: Try to go for an outward looking room and away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gert47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear gert47,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay.

I am sorry to learn that there were a few areas that did not meet your expectation.

We are passionate about providing the best facilities and the best service in the North West and I have shared your comments with my Senior Management Team. Whereas our contemporary style may not be to everybodies taste, we have a strong preventative maintenance programme which ensures that our rooms are decorated frequently. I am sorry on this occasion that we did not finish yours as quickly as we would have liked.

I do hope that this has not put you off staying with us in the future and we would genuinely like to welcome you back to the hotel.

If there is anything I or my team can do to assist you with a future stay, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went for a couple of nights and was pleasantly surprised. Lovely clean room, very friendly staff and good food. The breakfast on the Sunday morning was one of the best we've had ever. Will definitely go again. We usually go to Lymm but this hotel was only about 10 mins drive away. Handy for Cheshire Oaks and Chester for shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear kathy c

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay.

The team and I are delighted that you had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Anything we can do, please let us know.

V best reagrds


Donn Timmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
3.2 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
4.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington Centre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Warrington

Property: Village Hotel Warrington
Address: Hotel Warrington Hotel Warrington 110 Centre Park Square | Warrington, Warrington WA1 1QA, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Warrington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Warrington 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Warrington is close to the beautiful Cheshire countryside and situated between three major shopping centres: Warrington, Liverpool and Manchester all within easy reach from the M6, M56 and M62. You can take a trip to North Wales or visit Arley Hall and Gardens. Family outings should include Chester Zoo and Gulliver's World. Village Hotel Warrington has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding License, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrington Village Hotel
Hotel Village Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing