We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Warrington
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Have to admit I was very underwhelmed by The Village. The room was nothing special, neither was the food. Service can be very slow, especially if you want room service and the staff in the restaurant and the bar bounce you between them. Most people seem to stay there for the gym and the pool. My advice if you are not a gym bunny is to opt for the Premier Inn at Junction 21.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibryant1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear ibryant1965

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback.

I was sorry to read that we did not manage to do anything to exceed your expectations on your last visit and hope that we can prove this to you again in the near future.

On another note, we appear to have worked with your favourite Rugby Team within the group who really loved their time at the hotel before their premiership clash with Sale Sharks. You never know who you can bump into at a Village Hotel!

If we can do anything to make your next visit a much more special one, please let me know.

V Best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

I was underwhelmed by this hotel. The pool was fine, the bar was ok although it managed to mess up my food order. We stayed for 2 nights. On the second day we returned at 1730 to find some weird banging every few seconds from downstairs. Having gone out and returned at 2000 we found that it was still taking place. Having complained it appears that the sound was from the squash courts. This continued until 2130. In fairness we were offered the option of moving but frankly I don't really see why I should. That being said the wifi only worked when I was sat on the floor by the door of the room so maybe I should have moved. Dinner at the restaurant was poor. On at least 2 occasions I waited 5 minutes while 2 waitresses finished being chatted up by another customer. I will not be coming here again which is disappointing because the first impression was quite good. This is the first time that I have left a grumpy complaint. Sort the wifi and sort the sound from the squash courts, and tell the waitresses that is they want a tip rather than a chat up line they should pay attention to all their customers.

Room Tip: Make sure you are nowhere near the squash courts (definitely not the first floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Rich H

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback.

I am sorry that we did not do enough to make your visit extra special. The team work hard to engage with all of our guests. Albeit understanding who wishes to be talked to and who wants to be left alone can sometimes be a fine line. I am very sorry if you felt you did not receive as much attention as some of our other guests.

We are sorry that you were disturbed by any noise from our squash courts. This is normally not an issue as we work hard to allocate our rooms within the hotel to ensure no disturbance to our guests.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future and if there is anything that I can do to make your stay extra special, please let me know.

V Best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the urban resort Warrington last week with husband and two boys, 6 and 4. We really enjoyed our stay, a family friendly hotel. Staff are very polite and welcoming. Swimming pool great for he kids and adults...the only negative I would say is the darkness of the decor throughout the hotel. I am very sensitive to lights and there are spotlights everywhere!! Bedrooms are very dark and are also quite dusty but modern in design....I had to ask for the tea/coffee mugs to be cleaned as they were left dirty everyday in the room, normally hotels provide clean crockery in your room daily . And also maybe a little welcome treat could be left in the bedroom on arrival for the kids, there were no complimentary biscuits. The bedroom walls are also very thin, could hear next doors tv blaring two nights in a row. It's a shame that the family rooms are not on the same floor....overall a very pleasant stay, good value for money, breakfast great, Starbucks on site too. Would definitely return!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jolois76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Jolois76

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Please do get in touch prior to arrival and we can assist you with making your next visit even more special

V Best Regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for two nights on a voucher scheme. Our room was lovely, well appointed with very clean bedding and large soft white towels. The toiletries were very high quality too.
Staff were lovely including dealing with our very noisy next door neighbours at 3am!
I would definitely recommend this establishment to travellers

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jdunkley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Jdunkley55

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If we can do anything to make your next visit extra special, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.

V Best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked a KGB deal for a one night spa break, 3 course meal / wine / breakfast. Arrived early, met with very friendly reception staff and had a nice lunch in the Victory Bar. Used the spa facilities, would recommend the very warm jacuzzi! Evening meal fabulous - only niggle - staff a little too efficient and meal was rushed so we had to ask for a break before dessert, but like I say, just a niggle. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear 926Sarah

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and for your recent visit.

We are delighted that you had a fantastic time - the team work so hard to deliver great service and they are delighted to receive feedback.

Im sorry if you feel the team were a little efficient over dinner, they are used to it being a busy restaurant so if you came at a quieter time! I'll certainly pick this up with the Restaurant Manager

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We got a 2 day Great Deal here through Bookings.com and visited the Albert Dock and Speke Hall while staying in the area.
On arrival we were quickly dealt with at reception and as my wife had had a recent knee operation we got a room near the lift.The room was very comfortable.We had a Bar meal which was fine and our Breakfast included in the deal was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TubalCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear TubalCain,

Thank you for visiting the hotel recently and for taking the time to feedback.

We are deligthed that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If you have not yet tried our relaxing Viva Urban Spa, why not book a full body massage or dedicate some pamper time.

Our UpperDeck rooms are also todays must have upgrade to make your next stay even more special.

If there is anything we can do to enhance your next visit - do let us know

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here about a year ago and commented that their disabled wet rooms were exceptional. These now seem to be available in more rooms. They are the best I have come across. Otherwise the hotel was fine, with very helpful staff. Slight downer on one morning, the breakfast queue took 40 minutes, due to a large wedding the night before - the next day was no problem

Room Tip: phone to check if you need any facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnTimmons, General Manager at Village Hotel Warrington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear George W

Many thanks for visiting the hotel and for offering your feedback.

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found our disabled rooms to be the best in the business. We have put a lot of work and thought into this area.

I’m sorry that you had a bit of a wait for breakfast, sometimes irrespective of everything that we do, everybody comes down at the same time. In spite of having a large dining facility, this does sometimes mean a short wait - i am sorry that you had to wait longer on this occasion.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and if there is anything that we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable - please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

V best regards


Donn Timmons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
3.2 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,547 reviews
4.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,439 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#8 of 22 in Warrington
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#11 of 22 in Warrington
568 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#12 of 22 in Warrington
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Patten Arms Hotel
Patten Arms Hotel
#20 of 22 in Warrington
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Warrington

Address: Hotel Warrington Hotel Warrington 110 Centre Park Square | Warrington, Warrington WA1 1QA, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel Warrington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Warrington
#3 Luxury Hotel in Warrington
Price Range: £44 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Warrington 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Warrington is close to the beautiful Cheshire countryside and situated between three major shopping centres: Warrington, Liverpool and Manchester all within easy reach from the M6, M56 and M62. You can take a trip to North Wales or visit Arley Hall and Gardens. Family outings should include Chester Zoo and Gulliver's World. Village Hotel Warrington has 115 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding License, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warrington Village Hotel
Hotel Village Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing