We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas Activity Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gullivers Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas Activity Weekend”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel after visiting the park for a Christmas package. The park was great value for money (We booked early and got 25% off one of their xmas packages) The children loved it, there were hardly no queues and we had a great turkey carvery included. They enjoyed the visit to Santa through a lovely grotto and then were able to choose a good quality gift from Santa's shop.

The hotel was fab and very family friendly. We stayed in a pirate themed room and our first words were 'wow'!! Our boys were amazed by it and loved their own bunk area (shaped like a pirate ship) with individual TV's. The whole room was tastefully done with good quality fixtures and fittings and lots of quirky details. I was as equally impressed as the children! It was lovely and clean and even had sweets and juice and an advent calendar- a lovely touch.

We ate in the hotel and the food was good and reasonably priced. there was a play room next to the restaurant and an outdoor play area with a crazy golf. Some characters from the park came to do a disco.

Breakfast was advertised as 'light' but there were hot items bacon, egg, beans, sausage etc as well as cereal, toast, crumpets , yogurts and more.

Overall we had a fantastic stay, the staff were lovely and we cant wait to come back.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Pirate rooms were fab!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday30NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    176
    72
    36
    9
See reviews for
374
9
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greenock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Absolute bargain, stayed just as the schools went back in September meaning the park was out of season. We got a massive room with a massive balcony, good breakfast. Not a bad word to say about this place. Anyone working within 20 miles should stay here if it's out of season. We were 50 a night b&b for a twin. Probably the best hotel I've came across while working away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marckarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The location is very handy for the M6 & M62, easy to find, with many major stores being close by in the local retail parks. Arrival at the hotel is pleasant driving down a tree lined driveway & being situated very close to the theme park itself. The Hotel is quite new, well designed & furnished. Reception staff were pleasant & informative. Nicely detailed corridors & communal areas leading to the bedrooms, our family room was spacious, well planned & finished, with quality fittings & very comfortable beds ( even the kids beds were good ) Again the bathroom was well fitted & all spotlessly clean. We didn't have evening meals, but found the breakfast fine, buffet style with toast & a few cereals, fruit juices a great coffee machine :-) A warm selection was also available, scrambled egg, sausage bacon & beans.
At that price....£45 / night you really could not ask for more, far better ( in our opinion ) than a premier inn. Well done Gullivers

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blownthecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed twice now and really enjoyed both times. Have stayed in the standard room with gullys den and second time the princess themed room which is beautiful. The rooms are the best family rooms I have stayed at in the UK and I wish other hotels would take note.
The hotel is spotless and staff friendly and professional.
I ordered Chinese to the hotel so can't comment on evening food. The breakfast is more than adequate as its only advertised as a light breakfast but there was eggs beans sausages and bacon then the usual toast cereal yogurt etc. There is a coffee machine to help yourself to a latte or cappuccino.lovely outside play area and play room inside. Only thing there was not any paper for drawing and most of the toys had disappeared on second visit which was a shame,. This is a great hotel especially for small children ,my daughter has been so excited on both stays with the beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennylee2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I booked this hotel for an overnight stop in the north west and was very impressed with its quality and the friendliness of the staff.
I booked an executive suite which was huge, well equipped and had a great view. The decor was top notch apart from the fiddly bath/shower mixer and the sticky TV remote control.
The only thing stopping me giving the hotel a 5 star rating was the size of the bar.... way too small.
The staff were very friendly and I had a good chat with the two ladies on reception in the evening.

Room Tip: Book the executive suite (room 219 is huge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_in_Weymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip and, like many, was skeptical as I approached the hotel owing to its location in a theme park.

However, very pleased to report that not only were the staff friendly, but the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms well appointed and stylish (DVD player in the room was a bonus) and there was a TREE HOUSE BUNK BED in the corner of my room.

I didn't sleep in the tree house as I am a sophisticated business type, however I did try it out after a few drinks and I imagine it would've been a dream come true if I had been 20-25 years younger... It was fairly amazing even now.

I am also pleased to report the shower was good.

Why haven't I rated this hotel higher than a 3 i hear you cry? Catering isn't particularly wonderful, and being a slightly isolated property there is a real opportunity for them to improve that and drive a bit of business. Instead you have to taxi away from the hotel to find an eatery of any standard. The bar also shuts quite early for a remote hotel.

I also feel that many business types may not enjoy the tree house as much as I...

Room Tip: If you've got kids ask for a tree house... if you're a serious person ask for not a tree hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversRep, Public Relations Manager at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank's for your review! Our Tree house beds are very popular and we find that most adults visiting want to try them out, I have passed your comments to the team at the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to review The Gulliver's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting the theme park. The hotel looks wonderful from the outside - log cabin-like themed. Lovely and modern with a small separate car park to the main theme park one. Even though the M62 is only 5-10mins away, it feels as if you are staying in the middle of a forest! Inside the hotel was just as good. We were welcomed by lovely, friendly staff. They explained the basics of the hotel etc and we were directed to our room. The room was fresh and very clean. The décor is lovely and modern and the en-suite was that of a 'wet-room' style. There was tea and coffee in the room and also fruit squash and sweets. Lovely touch. The hotel has its own bar and restaurant which are equally as clean and modern. Reasonably priced food and drink. There is a kids play area to the rear of the property - and also a huge bonus is that there is a kids playroom which has a Playstation games console. Ideal. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family. We had a fantastic stay both in the hotel and the theme park was equally as good. We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversRep, Public Relations Manager at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to Review The Gulliver's Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
1,706 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,432 reviews
4.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 21 in Warrington
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villaggio
Villaggio
#15 of 21 in Warrington
128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
#7 of 21 in Warrington
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gullivers Hotel

Property: The Gullivers Hotel
Address: Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gullivers Hotel is in an ideal location for both business and leisure. All our rooms have been designed in a modern contemporary style providing maximum comfort at affordable prices. The Gullivers Hotel is nestled in parkland in the north west area of Warrington. Surrounded by woodlands and adjacent to the Sankey Valley Park our lodge style hotel sits well in the local environment. The hotel is approached by a private driveway making it difficult to believe you are so close to the town centre. Gullivers World theme park and SplashZone are in walking distance from the hotel making it an ideal base for a family fun break.Easily accessible from three motorway networks, M6, M62 and M56 Gulliver’s Hotel makes an ideal base to visit Chester, North Wales and the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gullivers Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing