We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soap? Shower gel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gullivers Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went as a family of four lastinute and were suprised by
How big the double room was. We were told that we could only eat after 8pm as all the other slots were filled??? We got
To the hotel at 5pm!! My 4 year old wouldn't have waited that long so they suggested we had the carvery which we would not have to wait for. The pork was covered in fat, there was only cold yorkshire puds and no dessert!!! We then went
to our room for a shower and bed to find no shower gel or soap. We complained to the receptionist who had a look around and then told us they were discontinuing the soap and shower gel. What were we to wash our hands with? And
forget showering as all they had was hand lotion!?!? I am really disappointed that these basics are not included In the price :(((

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeacherJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for leaving us this feedback about your stay at The Gulliver's Hotel.

We would first of all like to apologise about the confusion over the availability of soap/shower gel. We are looking into this further however we can assure you that these basics are available at the hotel.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your room. We hope to welcome you back to Gulliver’s Hotel in the future.

Many Thanks,

The Gulliver’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is lovely in general BUT i have problems with 1 The Staff & 2 The Food. Staff don't explain things to customers. We didn't realise that we could watch a film with the kids & have milk & cookies. Instead we went up to our room non the wiser. We weren't told of the playroom or outside play area just lucky we had a room overlooking it. The bar area is nice but very small, we sat outside on the decking but it had a smell of drains. Food is appalling. Carvery consisted of pork or beef with 'smash', cooked frozen veg, cooked frozen roast potatos, watery gravy & yorkshire puddings. The room itself was very spacious, the 'treehouse' bunk bed is great & no arguing as both beds have tv's. I like the fact it can cater for more than a family of 4 as most hotels don't without charging for an extra room.Breakfast wasn't much better. I really don't know how so many people can be seated in such a small area. We came down quite early. Cooked breakfast consisted of beans, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs & make your own toast. No fried or poached eggs were offered neither were hash browns, mushrooms or tomatoes. Cereals were offered along with juice & croissants. We had coffee which was extremely weak. We noticed glasses from the bar weren't collected until the following morning. Very poor service. On a whole we wouldn't stay again.

2  Thank debris80
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gulliver’s Hotel, we value the feedback of all our guests.

We are very sorry to hear that you missed out on the chance to enjoy some of our facilities and evening entertainment. We state on our official website that the hotel has a playroom and outside area for children however we apologise that you were not informed of them during your visit.

We are constantly evaluating our menu and your comments will most certainly be taken into consideration. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your room and the treehouse bunk beds. We are sorry you did not experience the level of customer service that we always strive to deliver.

Many Thanks, The Gulliver's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed overnight after a wonderful day in Guillivers. This was a family outing for my Grandson's birthday. Booked three rooms - a family room, a cowboy room and a princess room. From the time you book in at this hotel until the time you leave you can be sure of the warmest, friendliest welcome you can imagine. Staff are brilliant.

What can you say about the rooms - well all rooms were clean and well maintained. The themed rooms are a must for children. A lot of thought has gone into them to ensure safety and a 'fun' aspect. All Grandchildren were excited and loved them. One small thing is that more towels need to be in the bedrooms - we only had one hand and one bath towel. Speaking to the other members of my family they were the same not enough for the amount of people in the rooms.

You have the option of ordering from the hotel or sending for a 'take away'. As it was a special occasion we decided on a take away. Staff printed out menus for us and even set up a large table in the conference room to accommodate all 11 of us. Plates, cutlery were provided. Nothing was too much trouble. They even telephoned the room to say our order had arrived. We even had a visit from Guilly to help celebrate the birthday and staff bought in the birthday cake with candles.

This is the second year running that we have used this hotel - it certainly will not be the last. Special thanks go to Keyleigh and Sarah but also to everyone else involved in the smooth running of this unique hotel. A thoroughly enjoyable stay - would recommend to any one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for leaving us this great feedback about Gulliver's Hotel. We greatly appreciate your five star review and will certainly pass on your lovely comments about our team members. We are glad you have chosen to stay with us two years in a row and we look forward to your next visit.

Many Thanks,
Gulliver's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was a very last minute break, checked in on the 7th April for 2 nights with my family, didn't know what to expect really but from the moment we checked in to the sad moment of leaving we felt extremely welcome by all the staff who could not do enough to help us. The chef kindly was able to prepare food for our dietary requirement, and the milk and cookies for the children before bed was a very nice touch.

The 3 rooms we had were fab and very modern, and very well equipped and maintained daily, and a very good size indeed.

The staff at the reception always greeted with a smile and no task was too big for them.
The laundry room was a god send especially for my OCD sister who's favourite time of the day is washing clothes!!!!

WIfi throughout the hotel had an excellent connection.

We can not wait to return in the summer again more so for the hotel rather than the theme park.

Would like to suggest a spa facility on the sight would be great and a small indoor pool should you have the option to expand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for The Gulliver's Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed all of the facilities on site. We have designed the hotel so that families can really make the most of their stay and we know that extras such as the family facilities room can make all the difference.

Your wonderful feedback about the helpfulness of the staff will be passed on to the hotel team. We look forward to your visit in the summer.

Many Thanks,

The Gulliver's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel was awesome, staff were friendly and so was Gully the mouse. The bunk bed was amazing. Ideal for visiting Gulliver's World theme park and the Slash Zone. We went on a Mother's Day package, from Fri and left Sunday which allowed entry to the Splash Zone and to Gulliver's World. This included breakfast Sat and Sun and the food was good for the cost. The Mother's day carvery lunch was included. This was very bland so we all dined somewhere else.

Room Tip: I saw some rooms with a balcony so maybe this is an option to consider
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marvadread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your five star review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay over Mother's Day Weekend. The hotel team work hard to make sure all our short break packages are a fantastic experience for guests, so it is great to know you had such a brilliant time. We look forward to your next visit. Many Thanks - Gulliver's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A big thank you to all the staff at Gullivers for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. Our month long stay with our two year old daughter Isabelle could of been hard work being away from home!!! But everyone made us feel like part of their family. Facilities like the laundry and playroom were a godsend, and the staff had the ability to interact on a personal level from the minute we checked in we will miss them all. Nothing seemed too much trouble Kyle the chef was quick to customise the menu to accommodate my wheat allergy eating out is a problem with having coeliac disease but I had no problems!!! And not to mention Margaret with her breakfast and her lovely warm welcome. All my family would recommend this hotel my daughter misses her princess room it was fantastic. Thank you Sarah and Danielle and everyone who made our stay so enjoyable. See u all soon. X

Room Tip: Brilliant themed rooms, lovely views from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for leaving such a great review of your time at The Gulliver's Hotel. All the team will be happy to hear such lovely feedback. We certainly look forward to you returning and coming back to your 'home away from home'. Many Thanks - The Gulliver's Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely hotel with spacious, modern and clean rooms. Was so surprised how good the food was for the great value prices. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Puts a lot of lot more expensive hotels to shame! Well Done :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are focused on providing great value and a great service. To be given a five star review and such positive feedback about our staff is a genuine delight. We look forward to your next visit. Many Thanks - The Gulliver's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#8 of 22 in Warrington
1,976 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,506 reviews
4.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#9 of 22 in Warrington
266 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#12 of 22 in Warrington
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villaggio
Villaggio
#15 of 22 in Warrington
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gullivers Hotel

Address: Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range: £48 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gullivers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gullivers Hotel is in an ideal location for both business and leisure. All our rooms have been designed in a modern contemporary style providing maximum comfort at affordable prices. The Gullivers Hotel is nestled in parkland in the north west area of Warrington. Surrounded by woodlands and adjacent to the Sankey Valley Park our lodge style hotel sits well in the local environment. The hotel is approached by a private driveway making it difficult to believe you are so close to the town centre. Gullivers World theme park and SplashZone are in walking distance from the hotel making it an ideal base for a family fun break.Easily accessible from three motorway networks, M6, M62 and M56 Gulliver’s Hotel makes an ideal base to visit Chester, North Wales and the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gullivers Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing