We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gullivers Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just got back from our weekend stay here & thoroughly enjoyed it.
Rooms are very spacious & clean with some nice little touches for the children, bottle of juice in the room, sweets in a jar and little rubber ducky by the bath. They are cleaned daily as well.

There is a indoor play area for the children, few selection of toys/book,s air hockey machine, football table, a playstation and a built in playhouse. My little one really enjoyed this however a lot of the equipment wasn't up to scratch and could do with replacing - part of the air hockey machine was broke, bits missing off the football table, playstation but no controllers, paper but no crayons to draw with, books with ripped pages. Toys are sprawled everywhere and anywhere across the room obviously this is more a fault of the children not putting them back correctly but it did make it hard to find something decent to play with.
Also an outdoor play area with a slide/climbing frame and seating area for the parents. Again, my little boy enjoy this as well but same problem with the playroom - area to play crazy golf but no golf balls/club, football goal but most of the balls were flat.

We chose not to eat dinner here as it was a BBQ both nights and we are not a fan of burgers/sausages - town centre is only a 10 minute drive away so ate there instead. Stayed for breakfast both days and it was ok...average...nothing special. Not a massive choice but it was warm and edible. Only problem was staff didn't seem very organised, tables were left un cleaned and people had to wait around, couldn't find any spoons on our table, ran out of teabags and weren't replaced, cereal and milk spilt everywhere and wasn't cleaned up.

At night time a film, milk & cookies and face painting is provided for the children with bean bags for them to sit on and a few board games to play with. It's a nice way to chill the children out before bed, parents can also grab something chilling from the bar too.

Overall we really did enjoy our stay here and would definitely return. The hotel itself is nicely located within walking distance from the park and its very clean and tidy. Staff, although a little disorganised and very friendly and always happy to help. I think if they could improve on the minor things it would definitely deserve a 5* rating!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasha1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review of your weekend stay at The Gulliver's Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel, such as the evening activities and the friendliness of the hotel team.

We will certainly pass on your feedback about elements of the play areas and we hope to improve on these minor points to make sure next visit is even more enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Gulliver's Hotel. We hope to see you again very soon.

-The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    176
    72
    36
    9
See reviews for
374
9
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked this hotel months ago, along with friends. Was advised over the phone that the hotel room slept 5 not a problem unlike hotels in the area sleeping 4 and needing 2 rooms. Went ahead and booked it for my son's nineth birthday, asked member of staff on 2nd call to hotel if there done birthday cakes advisedno Asda close by... Far enough but was advised could decorate room free of charge no problem. I was delighted of this... But when arrived and checked in dissapointment hit me in the face... No room decorations even tho there computer said decorate room and a travel cot in room for my 4 yr old. Went back to reception complained. Girls got it sorted eventually after about half hour wait in my friends room. Went back to room bed there and decorations my son and I were chuffed. Umtil went to bathroom and sanitary towel bag fell of wall knocked toilet brush over to find alot of urine split on floor. Went to use shower plug in room 116 didnt work as should of, tap ran while shower on so bath filled up.. Takes while to drain. Bed hard as concerete. Air con system in room so loud. Turned ours off and you could hearroom above aircon clear as day... so 2 nights of bad sleep With only 2 pillows on double bed no option for 4 pillows. Breakfast very cold and like rubber. Approached by a kind gentlemen working on behave of hotel. To find out about our stay advised of problems. which he noted down. To top it off hotel reception staff didn't seem happy and contined talking about us whilst putting our luggage in car to leave. No manners what so ever after complaint no service given like I heard them with other customers who were happy customers who obv had good room..If it takes negative feed back to turn into a positive so be it, As way I see it room for improvement is needed and staff training should be given. As staff at desk need to understand there didn't pay for room or slept in it so how can their judge my feedback.. Would'nt stay again even tho rest of hotel nice.. Due to disrepectul attitude whilst I was leaving.. Hope this guy can turn things around. I wish him the best of luck

Room Tip: Don't sleep in room 116 its next door to restaurant area... my friends room 127 great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
All feedback that we receive is incredibly valuable to us and we do use it to constantly evaluate individual areas of the hotel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us this review through our Tripadvisor page.

We are sorry to see that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. Our hotel team are dedicated to providing a great service and we are sorry that you did not feel you experienced this during your stay. We will make sure your comments are given to the relevant manager and we will take into consideration your feedback regarding elements of the room for future evaluation.

We are happy to see that you did feel other areas of the hotel were positive and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the Gullivers Hotel in Warrington for 3 nights this July. I stumbled across the hotel whilst searching google for rooms in that area which would sleep 2 adults & 3 kids. We stayed in a themed family suite which consisted of bunk beds, a double bed & sofa that converted to another bed. The kids were really impressed with the room and their beds. The room was very spacious & clean, it offered tea/coffee making facilities, bath & shower, large TV & DVD player & an individual TV for each bunk bed.
There was an outside & inside play area for the children and also a room where they were able to watch films & we even had a visit form the Gullivers Lion mascot one evening.
We didn't eat breakfast any morning so I can't comment on that, food in the evening was slightly disappointing - we arrived around 8.30pm on the Friday night & were informed food had just stopped being served although the info given was that food was available until 9.30pm. Saturday night we returned from a day out in Ellesmere Port and found that the only food being served was a BBQ, we decided not to have this & drove to a nearby Frankie & Benny's. Sunday was the same, we returned from a day walking round Gullivers World & the only food being served was a BBQ again.....didn't fancy spending another £90 in Frankie & Benny's so we had the BBQ & it was ok, nothing special. I would personally have preferred to have a menu to choose from & be served rather than a buffet style BBQ but the kids were happy with their burger & chips. Some people were ordering takeaways & eating them in their rooms - the staff didn't mind them doing this.
The staff were all really nice, friendly and helpful.
The hotel is situated right across the car park from Gulliver's World which was very handy when we visited there on the Sunday & there is plenty of parking.
I would definitely stay here again & would absolutely recommend it as a base for a family visiting the local area. The kids gave it a big thumbs up & happy kids means happy parents :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritishBeachBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us this review about your recent stay at The Gulliver's Hotel. We're delighted to see that the kids had a fantastic time and that they were very impressed with their themed family suite. We will pass on your positive comments about the hotel team and your feedback regarding the menu and food options will certainly be taken into consideration by the management/catering team. We look forward to your next visit. Many thanks, The Gulliver's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel last week with our grandchildren, although our stay wasn't trouble free I loved the concept of this hotel, and after speaking to the management about my concerns she assured me that they do care about there clients, the grandchildren loved it which is what is more important, I am disabled and found no problems moving around the hotel, most of the staff where helpful and pleasant especially at reception, I would definatly return back to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moordale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Gulliver's Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are delighted that you rated us so highly. We do take great care and consideration into providing each guest with a pleasant stay and we are delighted the grandchildren had a really enjoyable time. We hope to welcome you back again in future. Many thanks, The Gulliver's Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

a very unique hotel, very impressed on the whole with it all, the rooms were big and spacious,the breakfast was a buffet at a good standard as much as you like, would recommend visiting again in the future

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craigd4119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us this fantastic five star review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback and we of course look forward to your return visit.

Many thanks, The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our third time staying at this hotel with our three children. The themed rooms are fantastic and the kids love them. They are big and comfortable and very clean. The food, though, was very disappointing. We went during school holidays and there was only a carvery for supper and a few basic kids' meals. When I went to order the kids' meals, though, I was told they wouldn't be ready until 8 o'clock as they were fully booked. The children were starving so we had to go out and get a take-away. Breakfast was bad, with very little choice and awful scrambled eggs. Unfortunately the food in the park is inedible, so we were left very hungry during our stay. The staff were helpful and the hotel very nice in a beautiful setting and with a lovely outside kids' playground, so if it wasn't for the food situation I would have give the hotel five stars.

Room Tip: The themed rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillsOfMidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We appreciate our guests taking the time to review The Gulliver's Hotel and would like to thank you for providing us this feedback. We are happy that you had many positives to highlight about your visit and that the kids loved their themed family suite.

We are always looking towards feedback from guests to change and improve aspects of the hotel and we will make sure your comments about the food are directed to the relevant people. We hope to welcome you back for a fourth visit very soon!

Many thanks, The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for two night on Sunday having booked a Gullivers sleepover and an additional night package. We brought my niece and nephew who were 5 and 3 and they absolutely loved the family suite we were in. The whole place is geared up for children and they were in their element. The beds, tv's, playroom, outdoor play area were all well resourced and maintained. The juice and sweets is a nice touch too. I was worried about coming, having read previous reviews, but I would definitely go back. We couldn't find fault with the food, we opted for the carvery on Sunday evening which we all enjoyed, there was plenty of everything and then we chose the barbecue on Monday night which was faultless and the family meal deal was great value. When my nephew dropped his sausage accidentally on the floor they replaced it quite happily. The majority of staff were friendly enough and dealt with any issues. Breakfast was fine but we got there early both mornings and it seems that was a good move!

The place does have a couple of little niggles, the room we were in was near the bar area and was noisy on an evening with people in the bar screaming and shouting, the air con unit was very noisy but you needed it on as the window hardly opened. There was a fault with the tap resulting in scorching hot water which in my opinion was a health and safety issue. A lady did come and have a look and sympathised with my scorched skin assuring me she would send the manager when she arrived but this never happened.

However despite all this we were quite happy and the kids loved it, we would return and it is worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorskhire_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for giving us this feedback about your experience at The Gulliver's Hotel. We would like to thank you for highlighting positive aspects of the hotel such as the facilities including the outdoor play area and indoor playroom.

We are certainly glad to see that the kids enjoyed their visit and we will make sure that your comments in relation to the room will be passed over to the relevant managers. We hope to see you again very soon.

Many thanks, The Gulliver's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
1,714 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
448 reviews
4.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 21 in Warrington
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villaggio
Villaggio
#15 of 21 in Warrington
128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
#9 of 21 in Warrington
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gullivers Hotel

Property: The Gullivers Hotel
Address: Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gullivers Hotel is in an ideal location for both business and leisure. All our rooms have been designed in a modern contemporary style providing maximum comfort at affordable prices. The Gullivers Hotel is nestled in parkland in the north west area of Warrington. Surrounded by woodlands and adjacent to the Sankey Valley Park our lodge style hotel sits well in the local environment. The hotel is approached by a private driveway making it difficult to believe you are so close to the town centre. Gullivers World theme park and SplashZone are in walking distance from the hotel making it an ideal base for a family fun break.Easily accessible from three motorway networks, M6, M62 and M56 Gulliver’s Hotel makes an ideal base to visit Chester, North Wales and the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gullivers Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing