We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepover at the Princess suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gullivers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gullivers Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sleepover at the Princess suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here on a 'gully's sleepover' 2 adults 1 child.

I booked a princess suite it cost £127. For this price we got a princess room, breakfast and entrance to the park the next day. There was also cookies & milk available in the evening for children in the room next to the children's play room.

The princess suite comes recommended perfect for your own princess's, my daughter loved it!

Play room was messy and not the best. There is an out door park area too.

We had tea at The restaurant, it was a BBQ. £7 for chicken/steak off the BBQ on a bun with chips & salad available. The food was lovely and worth the money.

Breakfast can be booked for the diner the night before as they had a character there, or if you just want to go to the hotel breakfast no need to book.

It is busy in the morning and they start to tidy away by 9:45 even though breakfast is on from 8-10. But our experience there was good. The food was nice and the place was clean and tidy, always a plus. Staff are friendly but not very fast in anything they do.

I don't know if I will return again as I will only want to stay at the princess suite and the price is quite steep. But as a one off it was great my daughter loved it.

Room Tip: Book a suite, princess or a pirate one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iwentiloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that your family enjoyed the Princess suite. Each family suite from the pirate to the princess is hand-painted and created to give families a wonderful experience. We of course hope to welcome you back to The Gulliver's Hotel very soon.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    163
    68
    33
    9
See reviews for
352
6
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a Gully's sleepover in a treehouse room. We also had entrance into the park and splash zone. I have already posted a review on 'Gullivers World'.
On arrival the hotel was nice (16/08/14). Quite fresh and new looking. Bright and modern. At 3pm we were advised that our room was not ready as they were behind (check out time is 10.30am). We wandered around and the kids found the outdoor play area. This is ok but could do with a few more things for the kids to do. There was also an indoor play area which was quite tired looking and the carpet looked like it hadn't been hoovered in weeks!
The bar and reception area were nice but seemed a little cramped. The gift shop was strange, just a small area to the side of reception with very over priced items.
Once we checked in the kids were delighted with the treehouse area. Bunk beds with their own tv's.
There were plenty of towels. The hand wash had run out in the bathroom and the lotion bottle wouldn't work - but I had my own anyway so this didn't matter too much.
The bathroom was bright but not very clean. Something was smeared on the wall next to the toilet and there were bits all over the floor. The shower curtain had seen better days and the bath had not been cleaned properly.
The bedding on the main bed was ripped.
Breakfast in the hotel was lovely and there was plenty of choice.
Some of the staff are friendly, some are a bit too young and this showed as they didn't seem too interested or seemed like they wanted to help much.
We probably won't stay at the hotel again. It was on our list and that's been ticked now.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollymoo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us this feedback about your time at The Gulliver's Hotel. We will certainly make sure your comments regarding the room itself and wider hotel aspects are used to improve particular areas. We are happy to see that the kids enjoyed the treehouse bunk beds and we will take into consideration your suggestions regarding the play areas, both indoor and outside. We hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked an 'executive' room. When we arrived at the hotel with our youngest grandson we thought 'wow,' the place looked lovely from the outside and our room was good too, but everything else left a lot to be desired.
Firstly the lift was broken.
The bathroom had mould around the bath seal, and it certainly didn't compare to the standard of the bedroom.
The play room was full of broken toys and was a mess.
The car park had a lot of litter in it.
The breakfast was a complete disaster....where do I start?
Not enough effective staff on duty. Little attempt to clear tables so the place looked a mess. A poor choice of cereal, the fruit option was an apple or nothing. There were no teaspoons so our 4 year old had a struggle to eat his cereal with a dessert spoon. There were no tea bags at first, no glasses for fruit juice but after 10 mins some appeared, tepid and poor quality cooked items, mouldy bread for toasting, no butter and a long wait for some to appear,no bakery items apart from the sliced mouldy bread. Very very poor. Won't return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fleur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review of your visit to The Gulliver's Hotel. Please be assured that the points raised will be given to the relevant members of the hotel team. We are sorry if you felt certain aspects of your visit did not meet our typically high standards of service. We are constantly evaluating areas such as the restaurant and dining experience. Your feedback will be used to help us shape and improve these parts of the guest experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks,
The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I chose this hotel as we where spending the day there and thought it would be a nice surprise for my niece & nephew 4 & 5.
Service was very poor, we checked in and booked to eat an hr later.when we came down to the eating area there was very little choice only carvery!
Next morning we came down to what looked like a bomb site!!! We ended up clearing our own table as 3 staff struggled to clean up and top everything up! We went up for breakfast had to ask for bread to toast and more breakfast items! The chef came out and told us there was plenty!!! There were two children two adults approx one portion of bacon half a doz sausages one portion scrambled egg and some beans!! Asked again and chef huffed went back through door and proceeded to ignore us!! We helped ourselves to cerial as little other option! On a scale of one to ten I give it a two

Room Tip: Themed room lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anggrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We value all guest feedback and thank you for taking time out to leave us this review through our Tripadvisor page. Your comments regarding breakfast and the restaurant area will most certainly be passed to the catering department. We are glad to see you enjoyed the themed family suite. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks,

The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a family suite with tree house bunk beds on a family fun package. This included breakfast, two nights accommodation and passes to the theme park and water zone.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful during the whole stay. There were nice touches for the kids including; juice in the room, sweets in the room, individual tv/DVD players at foot of kids beds, milk and cookies on an evening and a communal movie for kids as well as an activity room and staff who put on games for the children.
The breakfast was basic but that's all we needed. On the second morning we chose to have breakfast at Big Gs Diner where there was a person dressed as a theme park character. This was great and we wish we had done this both days as it it was quieter and the food was better quality.
This is the best child orientated hotel we have EVER been to and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank thundercat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for this great feedback about your recent short break at The Gulliver's Hotel. We're happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. We are particularly grateful for your comments describing us as the best 'child orientated hotel' you have even been to. We aim to provide families a fantastic experience and of course we really look forward to your next visit.

Many thanks,

The Gulliver's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just got home after stopping at this hotel, one night inc tickets in a princess room was £159. Could not really fault this break. Room was great, relaxed atmosphere, drinks and food average price. We had the BBQ which was £16 FOR 2 adults and 1 child. Glass of wine 3.35p so not bad prices at all for a good hotel. My grandaughter loved every second of her stay, from the room to the park, some great features and rides. She was not overly impressed with the splash park, but at 4 yr old, it was a bit full of older kids running around etc.
Only negative is a bit of entertainment for the kids at night would be good. She had milk and cookies but that was all at night, a small disco or games would go down very well. Fortunatly the weather was good so kids played on the outside area and playroom in the evening. Would definatly recommend staying at this hotel, it is at the bottom of the car park of Gullivers World so a 30 second walk to the entrance.

Room Tip: All rooms are good especially the themed ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We would first of all like to thank you for leaving us this very positive five star review. We are really grateful for your feedback and the whole team will be delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable time at The Gulliver's Hotel. We look forward to your return visit very soon. Many thanks, The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a cowboy themed room, which got us enterance to the park for 2 days and 2 days at the splash zone too. The hotel is designed for families with younger children - there is an outdoor park, indoor play room, childrens games and sing songs at night, films on the projector screen, milk and cookies, playstation games to borrow, DVDs to borrow, sweeties in the room on arrival - the list goes on! Staff were young but very helpful indeed. Food was OK, very much burger and chip orientated but kids love that! The cowboy room had a jail with bunk beds for the kids, they loved it and played at being baddies in the room for ages! Breakfast was a serve yourself affair with eggs, sausage, bacon, beans and toast or cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc Coffee and Tea were readily available. The hotel does show some signs of it's main guests (kids) being a little rough but the rooms were clean, the beds were comfy and the rooms were quiet - almost perfect! Would recommend for families with younger kids any day!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Netty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullivers-Official, Guest Services Team at The Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for this lovely feedback about your recent stay at The Gulliver's Hotel. We have designed the hotel to match the needs of young families and we are happy that you found our list of little extras to be so useful. Our themed family suites are a popular choice and of course it's great to see that the kids loved their cowboy themed room.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon. Many thanks, The Gulliver's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
4.3 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington Central North Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#12 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gullivers Hotel

Property: The Gullivers Hotel
Address: Old Hall, Warrington WA5 9YZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gullivers Hotel is in an ideal location for both business and leisure. All our rooms have been designed in a modern contemporary style providing maximum comfort at affordable prices. The Gullivers Hotel is nestled in parkland in the north west area of Warrington. Surrounded by woodlands and adjacent to the Sankey Valley Park our lodge style hotel sits well in the local environment. The hotel is approached by a private driveway making it difficult to believe you are so close to the town centre. Gullivers World theme park and SplashZone are in walking distance from the hotel making it an ideal base for a family fun break.Easily accessible from three motorway networks, M6, M62 and M56 Gulliver’s Hotel makes an ideal base to visit Chester, North Wales and the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gullivers Hotel Warrington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing