We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good”

Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath
Ranked #8 of 420 Restaurants in Warrington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$46
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ego has an amazing location in Stockton Heath and benefits from free car parking in the Aldi car park as well as a lovely terrace that catches the sunshine all afternoon.
Cheshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

My headline might actually be a little harsh because we hadn't been for dinner here for a while but the last time wasn't great.

Today (06/03/14) however from the moment we entered everything was just right. We didn't have a reservation but it was early (17h30) and the welcomer explained he could fit us in but needed the table back by half seven. Fine by us subject to service!

The service was attentive and pleasant with courses arriving promptly. My sirloin steak was excellent and the sticky toffee pudding was rather nice even if the sauce was a little too runny rather than sticky.

As a reasonably priced restaurant it wasn't surprising when it started to fill up quite quickly whilst we were there. It seems to be favoured by quite large groups and it got quite noisy but it wasn't too intrusive.

Not sure if the air conditioning had a problem but as the restaurant filled the temperature went up so maybe the staff should monitor that. However, despite this we enjoyed our meal and we will be back again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    241
    85
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect dining”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

After having a few cocktails nearby we went to EGO for dinner with friends. Although it was based on continental cuisine we had a great choice including a specials board. From the starter through to the dessert the food was excellent. The restaurant itself was very busy and noisy but it had a great atmosphere. I will go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FEH103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we love hearing from all our customers and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“steak night great night”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Had a fab meal at Ego Stockton heath with girlfriends
It was steak night and I chose the rib eye which was cooked to perfection and extremely tasty (i chose the chargrill option)
Others chose off the main menu and all pronounced a lovely meal and good size portions too.
Service a little erratic at times but nothing to spoil the evening, we will all definitely be back
well done Ego!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chezzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

No matter when you go to Ego Stockton Heath, the level of service is always first class. The food is great, and they are always willing to adapt a dish to suit your personal preferences. Got a big birthday coming up in a couple of weeks, and couldn't think of anywhere better to celebrate with family and friends. The offers they do are great - the Monday offer is amazing, and the fixed price menu is great value. Really looking forward to next visit - always a total pleasure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely words, we are so pleased you continue to enjoy your visits and look forward to welcoming you all soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value on a Monday”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I went to Ego with two friends last Monday. As other reviewers have pointed out, it did get very busy in the restaurant by around 8.30pm and it was hard to hear each other. Our table was booked for 6.30pm and it was very quiet when we arrived.
My friends went for the £18.95 deal (two courses and a bottle of wine per person) while I chose the prix-fixe menu (three courses for £15-ish).
The service was great, very friendly. One waiter did mistakenly take away our olives, but another brought a new dish of them immediately.
All the food was pretty good, with the exception of the calamari rings which were very stretchy. After three courses I was stuffed, even though the portions aren't big, so I didn't really need the calamari anyway! My main course was fishcakes with fries, which was very good. Dessert was tiramisu, which I enjoyed although it was too strong for my friend. If you're used to the kind with a lot of mascarpone and only a little espresso-soaked sponge then be warned!
My friends had the harissa lamb kofta and salad to start, which was very spicy but absolutely delicious. Just the salad by itself was fab. Next came the steak, which was slightly overcooked, and the fish special - whole bream.
Overall the meal was good value, but I probably wouldn't go again on a different night and pay full price - the steak was about £17 by itself!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank x_julesybaby_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we love hearing from all our customers and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath also viewed

Stockton Heath, Cheshire
Stockton Heath, Cheshire
 
Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Stockton Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing