We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ambiance, friendly staff, Menu has become boring and repetative”

The Old Post Office
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: US$11 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Near Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good ambiance, friendly staff, Menu has become boring and repetative”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Aussie manager/supervisor- great "greater and seater". Menu has become very boring for someone that goes for a meal several times a month.
The special board helps but they usually are very much the same food.
And a Chateaubriand of Lamb is a misnomer as it refers to a cut of BEEF usually!!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crowmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    182
    111
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Good food, good wine, good service. Doesn't get any better.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nonseq_1599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the old post office a breath of fresh air”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I was over in wallingford for a 9 week holiday and after trying many bad local resaturants and bars discoverd "the old post office". when u arrive you are greeted with a very well designed bar and restaurant which has a wonderfull flow and mixes the old with the new perfectly. You instantley feel welcome and at home with warm smiles and comforable chairs.
iIwent there many times for diner and every time the food was stunning and the service was quick. i have taken a lot of friends down and they have now become regulars of the place as well. would defintley sugest you try it out if you are going pass how ver i would sugest booking a table as it is very popular

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opuacruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Always good for a girlie lunch”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We often shop in Wallingford and this is our favourite place to have lunch. The staff are really friendly and the menu is great as you can have as little or as much as you like, I have even been known to just have a glass of wine while others eat a full meal and no one seems to mind. There is a good vegetarian choice and always some specials on the board. In the summer they have one or two tables outside at the front and a few more on a kind of deck at the side. The interior of the restaurant is very modern, pleasant and clean. I always look forward to lunch here.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwigsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average restaurant, dissappointing bar”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The food is nice, but not amazing for the price. The biggest dissappointment I have found is the bar, where depending on which bartender serves you, you will have either a good or very poor cocktail or drink. For the prices they charge I expect a well made drink but sadly very rarely get one! And more annoyingly when this issue was raised, the barman was very discourteous and dismissive. Real shame for a lovely looking place... Will go back, but I'll stick to lager as anything else seems too much trouble for them.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InTheIndustry1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Benson, Wallingford
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing