We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restauarant - not so great kitchen service!”

The Old Post Office
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: US$11 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great restauarant - not so great kitchen service!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a really nice restaurant with a great atmosphere in a high ceilinged converted former post office. Menu is varied form morning breakfasts through an all day eclectic selection. You can spend anything from a tenner upwards and enjoy pasta, fish, focaccio sandwiches, steaks, burgers etc.
Our experience of this restaurant has always been of good food and very friendly table service. But something doesn't always work well in the kitchen area and we have experienced very long waits for our food on more than one occasion.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankly Speaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    182
    111
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great venue, disappointing service.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was the fourth time in as many months that I had visited but this visit was the first evening visit. I went with a group of friends and we were sat on a good size table where we could chat without having to shout too much. After looking at the specials most of our group had ordered fish. Our waitress struggled to answer questions regarding what each dish actually came with and we were a bit surprised at her opinions of the size of each dish. She informed us that the Halomi salad was massive as was the seabass, a bit exaggerated!! But she was tiny so this could explain this. 10 mins after we had ordered we were informed that the fish dish 2 of us had ordered was only available for one so I chose another fish dish. When our food came just one fish platter arrived(my revised order) but nothing else almost as if they thought it was a starter. So this was taken away. It then took ages for "all" our dish to come. This is a lovely place but the staff need to have more knowledge about their food. And the english language. Also when our bill came the initial fish dish was charged. This has put me off going at night again as service is a major part of the experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summertimelover73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakmanInns, Public Relations Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Hi there, we are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at the Old Post Office. We always strive for high standards of service and have all the relevant training porcesses in place to achieve this, however we would like to look into your experience and hopefully resolve any issues you had. If you could please email us at marketing@oakmaninns.co.uk we will make every effort to restore your faith in the Old Post Office. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful use of an old Post Office”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I have enjoyed having several weekend brunches at The Old Post Office, all of which have been excellent.

On another somewhat belated note every New Year's Eve we hum & ha for something to do, and with some trepidation having been dissapointed at several other local venue's previously, this year we booked a 'fully organised' evening at The Old Post Office.

The package consisted of a set menu with selection of 3 starters / 3 main / ditto dessert's, the evenings entertainment of live music and later a DJ, all the baloons / streamers you could want, yep definately all inclusive. Cut to the chase, what a wonderful evening from the moment we walked in to the much hand shaking and thank you's from their very attentive staff when we eventally left in the wee small hours of New Years day.

Go and enjoy, from a laid back weekend brunch to an all inclusive and well organised New Years Eve party, the Old Post Office get's it right.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxTravelWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The place I love to eat”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It was once the main post office in Wallingford with the only Edward 7th coat of arms in the UK above the main entrance. After a number of previous restaurant occupants, the OPO as it is locally known opened 3 years ago. It has gone from strength to strength under the management of the delightful Christine. The food is always good and the staff really are delightful and helpful. It is a very child-friendly restaurant with books and pzzles for the younger diners. If there is a drawback the acoustics could be greatly improved, if you have a hearing aid, it is someimes painful

Helpful?
Thank Longfellow1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxed Place to Eat and Meet”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We went at Sunday lunchtime to eat with four adults plus toddler and baby in a push chair, and didn't book ahead. Although restaurant busy, staff found us a good table to suit our little group. From a reasonably varied menu, food was good all round including the 'specials', portions fine. Staff friendly. Relaxed environment. Small problem with the baby change area which should have been sorted out. Otherwise fine and would go back again.
Entrance area looked good to meet up for a drink.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SloeVodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Benson, Wallingford
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing