We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left disappointed”

The Old Post Office
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: US$11 - US$37
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Left disappointed”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Went here with my family and was quite disappointed. I'm not vegetarian but I ordered the vegetarian roast because it sounded absolutely divine but it was entirely missing the fondue sauce the menu advertised. It was essentially crumble topping on bare vegetables. I really dislike complaining but I thought I would ask about it, however nothing was really done to rectify the situation. I was told that the chef had been notified and it would be changed for next time but what about my own meal? I was expecting them to at least remove the cost of my meal from the bill or offer a different meal but they didn't do either. Everyone else enjoyed their meals and the waitress we had was polite but I don't think the situation was handled well. I think I should have been offered a new meal or at least not had to pay for one I wasn't satisfied for. It shouldn't be the customer's job to ask for it to be done, it should be offered.

I'm sure it was just a bad experience but I wouldn't recommend it now to my friends and I probably won't go again unfortunately.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elc1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,


I absolutely agree that the Primavera Crumble was lacking in a sauce and, as promised, Chef and I have reviewed the dish.

I must respectfully point out, however, that I did indeed offer an alternative. Conscious that the rest of the table were eating their meals, I suggested bringing you a seperate sauce or, should you prefer, cooking you an different meal. Your preference was for the sauce. I also applied a discount to the bill that represented a 70% reduction of your meal that I consider appropriate for a dish that was entirely consumed.

I am more than happy to apologise publicly for your experience and I am fully aware that, on this occasion, we let you down. I'm gratified to read that the remaining 6 members of your party enjoyed their meals and I do hope that you reconsider your resolution not to return to the Old Post Office. I am certain that we will swiftly rebuild your confidence in us with a re-visit.

Should you wish to chat further, I am available via damien@oakmaninns.co.uk.

Warm regards,

Damien Hughes
The Old Post Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    196
    116
    68
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great Food. Great Cocktails. Decent Real Ale (Loddons)
Bar Staff always polite and professional.

Can be a little echo e as open plan. Nice to sit outside on the pavement cafe area and watch the world go by.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgaine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for the postive feedback.

Warm regards,


Damien Hughes
The Old Post Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avelgem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Recommended by our B&B hosts at The Old School House, we decided to have dinner at The Old Post Office (everything seems to be old in Wallingford) and did not regret for a minute. We were served by an extremely kind waitress coming from Bulgaria and the food was just as mouth-frienly. The outdoor seating at the side can be a little bit more comfortable (no need to have a view on tha trash-bins) but that couldn't spoil the experience of a warm, friendly and tasteful family evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jan,


A big thank you from the Team for such a lovely review. Your waitress' name is Kameliya and she will be rewarded for her good work and the personal mention.

Warm regards,


Damien Hughes
The Old Post Offce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A plate of rocket, 2 grapes and a minute portion of Duck”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We order the duck salad, the bar person told us it had slices of Duck, not fried! It arrived promptly, contained mostly rocket, a few sesame seeds, two grapes and a minute portion of warmly heated duck. After complaining our money was returned and we ate elsewhere. Service poor. Tables need a clean and we will not return. Shame as previously have eaten here many time and had coffee. Sadly the standard has declined. I do have a photo of the meagre portion but its so embarrassing so wont share.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bert015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
This issue was dealt with appropriately in situ and it’s a real shame to see that you have decided to follow through on your threat of Tripadvisor blackmail when because we refused your demands for further freebies.

Damien Hughes
The Old Post Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great setting”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Worth visiting. The food is really good. The menu is often changed and is rather diverse. They do good cocktails too. It also gets nice and lively in the bar area at the weekend. Nice outside seating area too.

Central Wallingford location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JakeM91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPOWallingf0rd, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jake,

Thank you very much for the great review. If you're a fan of our cocktails, it's worth noting that we are currently running selected cocktails at £4.95 throughout July. There's a great selection on the discounted list and still a good fortnight left to take advantage of the offer!

Warm regards,

Damien Hughes
The Old Post Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Benson, Wallingford
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing