We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wallingford
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Second stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We visitor-ed the George Hotel In January 2013. This is a 3* hotel, staff very friendly & helpful. We stayed for two nights bed, breakfast & evening meal with the gold card voucher, food excellent drinks reasonable prices. Our room was lovely, hair dryer, tea, coffee & kettle. The hotel is a three minute walk to the bus terminal, with a great service we never used are car the whole stay. I enjoyed this place so much we have just returned from there and we will most certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Need the new part at the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen1186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    82
    61
    24
    13
See reviews for
24
107
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

A very comfortable and welcoming hotel. Using the Peel Hotels Gold card, we enjoyed two nights B&B with a three course dinner each night. The food and service were much better than inns or pubs are usually able to provide. The room was warm with a comfortable bed and was kept clean.
As this was our second visit, it is good to be able to report that standards are consistent and we look forward to our next visit to this lovely, fascinating old town.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were treated to a golden ticket as a present which gave us 2 nights with breakfast and dinner. First impressions were good the hotel was situated in the centre of Wallingford, staff were welcoming the room was described as executive we stayed in room 212 however this description was not quite right the room was a bit tired and needed some updating and the shower was just a dribble however having said that it was very clean which for me is more important.
The bar is cosy and the menu is normal pub food reasonably priced the drinks however were expensive however we expected that and they were no more expensive than anywhere else.
Food was good, staff were brilliant especially Ashdon who seemed to be always on duty when we were at breakfast and dinner.
The only down sides were, our room was over the bar so there was some noise till quite late especially on sat night.
overall a brillant base to explore oxford and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cafferys28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

spent two nights here, had a great stay, lovely welcoming staff and warm comfortable well equipped room. Food was amazing and plenty of it. On last night the restaurant only had one member of staff waiting on, but she worked hard and made sure you were well looked after, she was very funny but I dont think she knows just how funny. I would go back a again.

Room Tip: rooms 100 onward down stairs lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

May be localised to one room, but "The Teardrop Room" (214) may be one of the worst hotel rooms I've stayed in. Fair enough the receptionist did warn us that it was above the bar but we didn't expect the noise from clientele and staff alike til gone 1am and the Wallingford chavs shouting "OI OI!" til 3am accompanied by rudeboys in cars flying past the ill fitted and rattling window all night. Not sure what other options there are in Wallingford and hope to never need to find out but if you do, look for them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ShaneOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wallingford hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Got a deal on a 2 night stay fri and sat night Bed breakfast and dinner 2 of us in a double room it was £109 in total.I wasnt expecting much at that price but it was really good.
Room nice, clean with clean bathroom. Fully stocked tea/ coffee/ hot chocolate/ biscuits.
Breakfast, full English and excellent.Waitresses good.Dinner was 3 courses, perfectly decent.
The bar is nice, very old with low beams and wood burners.
Lovely place, would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were on a 2-night stay with a couple of friends.
The car-park was very full, and a patio heater was living in the only 'blue badge' space. Otherwise, everything was excellent: warm, friendly and efficient staff, well decorated common parts, rooms, and restaurant, (though a stair-carpet was rather worn in places – we might have been a little more critical if we were not on a special offer!).
Menus were thoughtfully planned, and the cooking was superb. We were not made to feel we were on a special offer, and would happily come back, though it might be a little expensive at full rates.
Wallingford's a lovely town!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
1.7 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
619 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
698 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
605 reviews
8.3 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,097 reviews
11.1 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: High Street, Wallingford OX10 0BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel, a 16th-century Coaching Inn, is set in the very centre of this pretty, historic market town. It is close to the River Thames, The Ridgeway and Thames Paths, with Oxford and Reading each just 12 miles away, The George Hotel is the perfect base for both business and leisure guests. Whilst retaining much of its original character, The George has been sympathetically extended, and now provides every modern facility for the business and leisure traveller in 39 attractively decorated rooms. Wealh's Restaurant and Bistro offers Morning Coffees, Lunches, Traditional Afternoon Teas and Dinner whilst the Tavern Bar and central Courtyard are a magnet for more relaxed socialising with drinks and light meals served throughout the day. Ample free parking is available on site and the hotel has Wireless and Broadband Internet connectivity throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Wallingford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing