We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros: The Hotel Cons: The Restaurant”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wallingford
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and found that although our room was a little on the small side it contained all that is necessary for a enjoyable stay.

The hotel is however let down extremely badly by the restaurant. We found that some items had been bought in from wholesale catering companies and merely reheated on the the premises whilst the vegetables although fresh were closer to raw than al dente. The meals were served ready plated with the usual niceties including bread rolls being omitted throughout the entire meal.

At breakfast whilst the menu offers a choice of either a full English or a continental breakfast there were no items that are usually associated with the the latter displayed which would question there actual availability. The English breakfast was however cooked to order and of a acceptable standard although there was no bread other than a rack of toast available

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

The George at Wallingford is a great place to stay being well located close to Henley, Swindon and Oxford. Bus routes to all from the market square make it a good central point.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms (we were in the new part) while a tad on the small side were well appointed and had everything you could wish for. It was clean, tidy, well laid out with usual coffee tea facilities as well as ironing board, TV etc.
The bar had a good selection of beers, reasonably priced for a hotel with comfortable seating and a nice log fire at night.
The dining room was a little tardy in that it was long overdue a coat of paint with some quite large marks on the walls but having said that it was clean and well laid out. Breakfast was excellent, fresh plentiful and cooked to order. It would have been appreciated if the continental choice was laid out too and not have to be requested from the kitchen. (Bit of penny pinching here I think).
Now dinner, where do you start. Considering it is one of the Peel hotels this was a surprise as Peel are known for very, very high standards. What has happened? It is all boil in a bag and microwave food, this is what you would expect as very, very basic pub grub not a 3* hotel of the Peel Group. Shredded duck starter, more like duck scraps. The ribs were heat and serve, as the chicken pie. Put the pastry in the oven, heat the meat, bowl up throw together and serve. Potato wedges, oven ready. The miniscule portions of vegetables were the only token gesture to fresh food and well undercooked, just slightly warmed. Food was plated up and served like school dinners. Why do they not do the simple little things like, vegetables in a serving dish, gravy in a gravy boat etc? Has the chief no pride!!!! The General Manager doesn’t need to be Einstein to sort it out. It was apparent that no locals were dining in the restaurant, which speaks volumes in its self.
All in all, the George is a nice place, well placed locally, it has good rooms, staff, bar and excellent fresh cooked breakfasts but diabolical evening dinners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowwow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a real gem of a hotel, booked in for 2 nights "Gold Deal" in January we were also booked into their sister hotel in Bournemouth for the following two nights, we were apprehensive of traveling further south during the very poor weather with the risk of being stranded in a flood area, so we asked if the booking could be transfered to the George in Wallingford. The duty manager arranged to have us transfered with no fuss or bother, really pleased with the service.
The hotel is in two halves one being the original building the other half being a relatively new extension, both halves are well decorated and perfectly clean, beds are huge but a little hard, public bar area is quite a lively experiance which also serves the local population, you will not be short of pleasant conversation. Callum was tending bar on a couple of nights very professional and pleasant personality, Callum and Hannah also served us during the breakfast meal always very pleasant and polite.
We found that the meals at dinner were a reasonable standard considering the price we were paying, breakfast was very good. The only drawback to the hotel was the older part of the hotel overlooked a narrow high street and the traffic noise seemed to start at about 5.30am, it would help if the windows were double glazed.
But this was the only drawback to an excellent hotel with staff who were always pleased to help you enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Ask for room in rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terri14Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at the George with my girlfriend for the weekend. Hotel is a very quaint old building with plenty of character mixed with a more modern extension of additional rooms.

We stayed in the more modern half of the building on the third floor. Rooms were good size, clean, good selection of toiletries and very pleasant cleaners. For a 3 star hotel we would have given it 10 out of 10 if not let down slightly by a very poor powered shower which is probably due to dated plumbing and the fact we were on the top floor. That aside we were pleasantly pleased with the room.

We had an inclusive deal for accommodation, breakfast and a 3 course meal each day. Breakfast was served to order which we had the full English. We liked the food, there was a great selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurts etc to accompany the order which also included continental and omelet breakfasts.

For the evening meals there was a good selection of courses which changed each night. We would like to give some constructive criticism on the quality of food. We believe it was good value for the money, but would have to say it was below par for what you would expect to get from a pub. That said the service was excellent and staff very friendly.

The hotel also has a bar which we thought was excellent. Nice old school traditional tavern with a cosy feel. There are 4 -5 other pubs with 5 mins walk. We found the price of drinks in the George were very reasonable and if they are more expensive than the other pubs in the area as mentioned in a previous review I can't say I noticed. A round on the south coast where we are from costs £7.50 to £8 for a pint and vodka and lemonade, so it was brilliant to only have to pay £6.80 :). I'd say its cheap.

We visited oxford for the day and used the park and ride system which was great value for money and hassle free. We visited a few museums, and did a bit of shopping. There was plenty to see and do, for all ages!

All in all, loved the place. Big thanks to all staff especially Luke and Sarah. We would stay again :-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent 2 nights in this quaint hotel on a special deal. The Hotel was warm, clean and comfortable and the staff most welcoming and helpful. The food was plentiful and piping hot, with a good choice both at breakfast and in the evening, We were impressed with The George and Wallingford and its close proximity to Oxford makes this little gem a place to return to again and again. We used the excellent park and ride system in and out of Oxford and would recommend The George to anyone looking for a value for money break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martharose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The George Hotel is a very attractive building with fantastic staff who try their hardest to cater to your needs. The rooms are clean and spacious and in a fantastic location. The main downside was the food - it was truly abysmal. Breakfast came out with wrong items and dinner on one of the nights was inedible. I do appreciate that to cater for 40 or so guests can not be easy, but there is no need for second rate products. The other gripe was the cost of the bar. Yes, I do understand that they are out to make a profit, but the prices charged was daylight robbery (no wonder I suppose as Dick Turpin stayed there!). Stay there, but eat in one of the many other places and drink in a normal pub.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms can get a little noisy at night, but nothing too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

had a two day break with friends hotel was stunning rooms was great nice bar area loved it until dinner time!!! 6 of us eating foid was stale dry i had a curry you could bend pompadom in half without breaking it. it was dripping with fat. the beef in the curry well!! my dog eats tender meat out of her tin. my wife had a pie.looked loverly until she lifted her puff pastry off and must off been two tsb of filling!!!my friend ask for one butterd roll this being size of kids palm they wanted to charge him a pound!!! come desert 3 of us had cake each cake looked like some one had picked ftom it on way to us. my cheese platter was stale hard!!! uou can not serve people this horrible food very low budet i could of served better food frim micro meal from tesco. hotel is let fown by food i would of love to give hotel 5/5 but resturant lowered it to 3 such a shame!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
1.7 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
672 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
719 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
6.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
635 reviews
9.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: High Street, Wallingford OX10 0BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range: £60 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel, a 16th-century Coaching Inn, is set in the very centre of this pretty, historic market town. It is close to the River Thames, The Ridgeway and Thames Paths, with Oxford and Reading each just 12 miles away, The George Hotel is the perfect base for both business and leisure guests. Whilst retaining much of its original character, The George has been sympathetically extended, and now provides every modern facility for the business and leisure traveller in 39 attractively decorated rooms. Wealh's Restaurant and Bistro offers Morning Coffees, Lunches, Traditional Afternoon Teas and Dinner whilst the Tavern Bar and central Courtyard are a magnet for more relaxed socialising with drinks and light meals served throughout the day. Ample free parking is available on site and the hotel has Wireless and Broadband Internet connectivity throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Wallingford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing