We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Break”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wallingford
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I stayed over last weekend on a Gold Voucher £129 for two people break which included breakfast and a three course meal each evening. I agree wholeheartedly with the last reviewer - the rooms were clean and very comfortable, the staff were exceptionally helpful and the food was hot and well presented. I can only think that the earlier complainer stayed at a different hotel or was just a professional "whinger". For the price, the break was fantastic value and I really could not fault any aspect of the stay.

Room Tip: We had room 208 in the newer part of the building. The ONLY con was the ancient television which (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had our wedding here as guests came in from all over the world, including us - we live in Germany but had stayed here before.
The hotel itself is charming, oozing with history. However, I want to talk about the staff here, as it is the people who make a place...Sarah and her team are fantastic. Everyone bent over backwards to make our stay and wedding day fantastic - these guys know how to do hospitality with a capital H.
We all indulged in the cooked-to-order breakfast; the professional caterer in our party complimented the food - high praise indeed.
If you want to stay in a quaint hotel, in a quintessentially English town with super-friendly staff, the the George is the place for you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This 2 night stay was booked by our friends, when we read the reports about the food being terrible we were a bit worried but as the 2 nights with dinner had been really cheap we decided to make our own minds up about the food & if it was that bad we would just eat out, after all the deal was very good even if it had just been B & B.
We arrived early & our rooms were ready so we were booked in.
The rooms were really nice with everything you could want, safe, iron & board, trouser press, Dove shower on the wall & very high quality toilet rolls, not the paper thin stuff you get in some hotels, it was also nice & warm & clean.
So far we were impressed.
That night we went for evening meal wondering what we were going to get, I can only say that the previous people must have been staying at a different hotel, our food was fine tasty & hot
We have travelled all over the world & although the food was not 5 star it was certainly nice.
The staff here go out of their way to be accomodating & we had a laugh with most of them including the senior housekeeper as mentioned in a previous review was great.
I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay great, Lauren in the dinning room was great fun, we will certainly be returning what a great deal for 2 nights away & the area was nice for exploring
Well done to all at The George for making our stay good

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

we stayed a year ago aswell...same deal £109 for 2 people 2 nights..breakfast and 3 course dinner. Helpful staff and we enjoyed the food. The old coaching bar had a good atmosphere..lovely rooms. the 79 year old housekeeper an inspiration and Wendy at central booking is efficient and friendly...we had ti change date by one week.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Event14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and found that although our room was a little on the small side it contained all that is necessary for a enjoyable stay.

The hotel is however let down extremely badly by the restaurant. We found that some items had been bought in from wholesale catering companies and merely reheated on the the premises whilst the vegetables although fresh were closer to raw than al dente. The meals were served ready plated with the usual niceties including bread rolls being omitted throughout the entire meal.

At breakfast whilst the menu offers a choice of either a full English or a continental breakfast there were no items that are usually associated with the the latter displayed which would question there actual availability. The English breakfast was however cooked to order and of a acceptable standard although there was no bread other than a rack of toast available

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The George at Wallingford is a great place to stay being well located close to Henley, Swindon and Oxford. Bus routes to all from the market square make it a good central point.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms (we were in the new part) while a tad on the small side were well appointed and had everything you could wish for. It was clean, tidy, well laid out with usual coffee tea facilities as well as ironing board, TV etc.
The bar had a good selection of beers, reasonably priced for a hotel with comfortable seating and a nice log fire at night.
The dining room was a little tardy in that it was long overdue a coat of paint with some quite large marks on the walls but having said that it was clean and well laid out. Breakfast was excellent, fresh plentiful and cooked to order. It would have been appreciated if the continental choice was laid out too and not have to be requested from the kitchen. (Bit of penny pinching here I think).
Now dinner, where do you start. Considering it is one of the Peel hotels this was a surprise as Peel are known for very, very high standards. What has happened? It is all boil in a bag and microwave food, this is what you would expect as very, very basic pub grub not a 3* hotel of the Peel Group. Shredded duck starter, more like duck scraps. The ribs were heat and serve, as the chicken pie. Put the pastry in the oven, heat the meat, bowl up throw together and serve. Potato wedges, oven ready. The miniscule portions of vegetables were the only token gesture to fresh food and well undercooked, just slightly warmed. Food was plated up and served like school dinners. Why do they not do the simple little things like, vegetables in a serving dish, gravy in a gravy boat etc? Has the chief no pride!!!! The General Manager doesn’t need to be Einstein to sort it out. It was apparent that no locals were dining in the restaurant, which speaks volumes in its self.
All in all, the George is a nice place, well placed locally, it has good rooms, staff, bar and excellent fresh cooked breakfasts but diabolical evening dinners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowwow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a real gem of a hotel, booked in for 2 nights "Gold Deal" in January we were also booked into their sister hotel in Bournemouth for the following two nights, we were apprehensive of traveling further south during the very poor weather with the risk of being stranded in a flood area, so we asked if the booking could be transfered to the George in Wallingford. The duty manager arranged to have us transfered with no fuss or bother, really pleased with the service.
The hotel is in two halves one being the original building the other half being a relatively new extension, both halves are well decorated and perfectly clean, beds are huge but a little hard, public bar area is quite a lively experiance which also serves the local population, you will not be short of pleasant conversation. Callum was tending bar on a couple of nights very professional and pleasant personality, Callum and Hannah also served us during the breakfast meal always very pleasant and polite.
We found that the meals at dinner were a reasonable standard considering the price we were paying, breakfast was very good. The only drawback to the hotel was the older part of the hotel overlooked a narrow high street and the traffic noise seemed to start at about 5.30am, it would help if the windows were double glazed.
But this was the only drawback to an excellent hotel with staff who were always pleased to help you enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Ask for room in rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terri14Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
1.7 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
668 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
715 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
8.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
6.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: High Street, Wallingford OX10 0BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range: £65 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel, a 16th-century Coaching Inn, is set in the very centre of this pretty, historic market town. It is close to the River Thames, The Ridgeway and Thames Paths, with Oxford and Reading each just 12 miles away, The George Hotel is the perfect base for both business and leisure guests. Whilst retaining much of its original character, The George has been sympathetically extended, and now provides every modern facility for the business and leisure traveller in 39 attractively decorated rooms. Wealh's Restaurant and Bistro offers Morning Coffees, Lunches, Traditional Afternoon Teas and Dinner whilst the Tavern Bar and central Courtyard are a magnet for more relaxed socialising with drinks and light meals served throughout the day. Ample free parking is available on site and the hotel has Wireless and Broadband Internet connectivity throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Wallingford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing