We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallingford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old School House
Ranked #4 of 13 Wallingford B&B and Inns
The Hague
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“First Class B&B”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Absolutely perfect, a lovely friendly welcome, a beautiful room, the house and garden are lovely and Bill and Carolyn are great hosts. Carolyn's first words [after her welcome] were "would you like a cup of tea?" music to our ears after a long journey. We honestly could not have wished for anything more, the bed was like sleeping in a cloud and the bathroom one that you just didn't want to leave, the L'Occitaine kept me there. I highly recommend this lovely B&B it ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just like the house, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a stunning, stunning house in a very convenient location. I stayed in the Morrocan Room and it was luxurious, comfortable and had lots of lovely touches. Carolyn and Bill are the perfect hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. And I think it was a draw on which of them made the best poached eggs! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Intended to leave this review back in summer 2011 when we stayed there for one lovely night. We travelled with another couple and between us 2 children under 2. Bill and Carylyn made us feel at ease to leave the children there and head out for a supper in Wallingford. Beautiful house, so homely and very comfortable. We felt genuinely welcomed by hosts who love to meet people. Yummy breakfast, just like being home. Soooo appreciated tolerance of our inquisitive 2 year old. Just watch them in the garden which open out onto a busy road.

Room Tip: You share a bathroom if you take the smaller room.. just opposite, and not a problem at all for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KickingkingCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The name alone evokes the atmosphere and charm that greets you when you enter Bill and Carolyn's home. We were shown to our room in what seemed like our own private wing of this beautiful gothic victorian style house and we felt immediately at home. The immaculate White linen in striking contrast with the dark engraved doors leading to the sultry Moroccan shower suite. This is not an ordinary B&B. It's not even an M&S B&B. This is rare treat.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory and how delightful it was to enjoy a full English which was cooked perfectly whilst listening to the birdsong and looking out over the garden.

We recommend The Old SchoolHouse, Wallingford without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PANKIN-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

What a joy this place is. As a group of four friends researching B&B's we happened across the Old School House whilst looking for a place to stay for an event nearby over the bank holiday weekend,.

Bill,& Carolyn are naturals in the hospitality business, they genuinely enjoy welcoming people to stay... making us instantly welcomed likeold friends and lots of giggles were had from Bill's hilarious banter.

The decor in The Old School House is an elegant country house style and meticulously clean. A property tastefully designed that could feature in House & Gardens yet there is nothing stuffy or precious about the atmosphere. The ingredients for breakfast were straight from the garden...I will NEVER forget those delicious sweet juicy cherry tomatoes...and as a group made up of of meat eaters, vegans, vegetarians all our kooky needs were catered for. Fresh fruit, home made bread and real coffee ground that morning...overlooking an elegant mature garden ...bliss.

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts it seemsand even extra blankets were sourced for me late into the night without a blink of an eye. Really accommodating and staying here made a great weekend event even better knowing we were going to come back to such comfortable beds and crisp sheets, white fluffy towels and affable hosts who had givien us the freedom of the house..
Oh... I also made great use of the lovely Marc Jacobs perfume generously left for use in the bathroom...outrageous!!
I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daraghmcdonogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Carolyn and Bill made us very welcome in their lovely home, set in beautiful gardens in an unspoilt corner of southern England. The room was very clean and comfortable and the pillows and quilt were amazingly soft - like sinking into a warm nest!
The excellent breakfasts were sociable affairs with the a single table shared with the other guests. We liked that.
The location is good too. The town centre is a few minutes walk away. Footpaths across the meadows to the Thames are just across the road.
We rated this as the best B&B we have used for years - like being guests in Carolyn and Bill's home rather than "customers".

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
0.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Crowmarsh Gifford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coachmakers Arms
The Coachmakers Arms
#2 of 13 in Wallingford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Property: The Old School House
Address: 23 Castle Street, Wallingford OX10 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Wallingford
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Gothic Victorian School House located 300 metres from town centre . This Victorian School house has recently been restored to a very high standard. The house is set in the grounds of a beautiful and well maintained large garden, adjacent to the Saxon Moat which fed Wallingford Castle opposite. The house provides spacious and comfortable accommodation. Breakfast is served in the conservatory dinning room. The house is situated close to the Thames path (less than 5 mins walk). The Ridgeway, another favourite for walkers, is also close by. Henley is 15 mins drive away. The Henley Regatta and Henley Festival attracts thousands of visitors in July each year. Oxford and Reading are not too far away, 30 mins by bus and less by car. R.A.F. Benson is only 5 minutes away by car, convenient for visitors to the airbase. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old School House Wallingford, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing