We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“F-f-f-f-Fiona!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Six Bells

The Six Bells
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Six Bells at Warborough is a beautiful English Pub dating from the 1600's in the heart of South Oxfordshire. All are welcome at The Six Bells. The bar is a friendly place where you can spend time relaxing in front of our open fire while unwinding after a long day or just watch the world go by with a glass of your favourite..... Families are welcome and feel free to bring your dog into the bar area too!
St. Austell, Cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“F-f-f-f-Fiona!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Like many other previous visitors to this charming hostelry, we have had bad experiences, but now FIONA is in charge! We said 18 months ago that we would only return if and when the management changed and now Fiona and her team have taken over, all is right with the world. Our order was taken promptly by the landlady and the food, when it arrived within 15 minutes, was excellent, no complaints at all. My Thai curry was divine and everyone else was well satisfied. So Fiona, you can expect us again, keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jonboycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    40
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Midsommer ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is the actual pub where Barnaby used to sit and discuss his cases! Firstly, it's in a gorgeous location on a village green (as the title indicates), the food is scrumptious and the staff very friendly. Also good value for money bearing in mind it's a village location and sometimes the prices can escalate.

It looks like a picture on the top of a chocolate box, it's that pretty .... congratulations to Fiona and all the team !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SmirkingPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I had the luck to stumble on this village pub. The location was chocolate box, village green and the sun was shining. The pub itself was even better. As soon as we walked through the door the landlady gave us a really warm friendly greeting. We proceeded to have a lovely meal which I thought was great value for money. The food was delicious and the staff couldn't have been nicer. When in the area next I wouldn't think of going anywhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 233Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning location, fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A sunny autumn day, a venue that does not fail to please, who could ask for more? I did! My friend and I shared Tempura prawns with a chilli dipping sauce to allow enough space for slow roasted duck leg in port and something gravy and my friends steak in guinness pie, we finished with cheese and biscuits and a walk right round the green.

A lovely lunch, so friendly, lovely staff......happy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't visit again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Food was alright but the staff, well, do they want to work there? Looking at other reviews, perhaps the experience is dependent on who is working at the time. I'd much prefer to go somewhere that I'm welcomed and valued as a paying customer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LPM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Six Bells also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing