We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start for the new landlords”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #21 of 64 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional village pub, run by village locals, serving traditional home cooked meals. Lovely garden and patio area. Dining room and two bars. Lovely welcoming log fire in the cold months. Friendly, and welcoming. Come and see for yourself. Food served lunchtimes (Mon-Sun), and evenings (Wed-Sat). Booking preferred for large parties.
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

So, some background. Four very passionate locals have taken on this pub with a view to making it the local pub they would love to be in. None of them have any previous experience but all of them have a huge desire to make it work. There is a temporary chef in there at the moment and they are looking for a new, permanent chef and manager in the New Year. This should help to explain why the menu is a bit limited at the moment and certain processes or standards aren't quite in place (as pointed out by a couple of other reviewers). However, these are all temporary issues and, actually, minor ones at that. We were a party of 11 celebrating a birthday on 15th December. We had fantastic service, despite the pub being packed to the rafters, and the atmosphere was great. The food isn't gastropub standard but Cholsey doesn't need a gastropub. Cholsey needs a friendly, welcoming pub serving good, standard pub food that is great value for money and that is what you'll find here at the Red Lion. We love our new local.

1  Thank emmabD4583AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Emma,

You got it spot on with your description of us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review we really appreciate it. As you say we are local to the village and we are learning as we go and trying hard to make The Red Lion the pub we always wanted it to be in those distant days when we were the other side of the bar.

We have the new chef, Jason, and he is great! We will be expanding the menu, we will not be gastropub we will be a village pub serving great food and a great price!

All the best,

The Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016

Disappointing after reading the rave reviews the menu was limited and food was average the starter was soup or nothing. The staff were friendly enough but probably won't return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank quizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Quizers,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the experience your were expecting at the Red Lion. We are continually developing and improving our menu as we build the business. As other reviewers have mentioned we are four locals who have taken over the pub and are learning as we go. I would like to invite you back to give us another chance to impress now we have our new chef in position.

Many thanks for your feedback,
All the best the Red Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Came for dinner tonight with my husband to try the new pizza. Both very disappointed. The pizza's very overly doughy, undercooked and resembled microwave pizza. Certainly not a thin crispy wood fired pizza as expected. The pub grub all looked good, service was fine and the pub cosy.... Just avoid the pizza!

3  Thank LouiseJB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Hi Louise,

Thank you for you feedback, we are very sorry that you had a disappointing experience. You are correct we do not have a wood fired oven, we did however purchase a top of the range professional electric pizza oven and use hand thrown bases.
We have found that whilst we can not replicate the smoked flavour we are able to get the crispy base. Clearly this did not happen for you and I can only apologise. Can I ask if you mentioned this to one of our staff and if so if they offered to cook you a replacement?
I will speak with all the staff to remind them all meals leaving the kitchen must be of the highest standard.
Thank you once again for your feedback, it enables us to improve.
All the best the Red Lion Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely visit and lovely eve with friends xx. To round off the eve a lovely Irish coffee made by Steve !

Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Ian,

Thanks for the great review, as you know Steve has spent most of his life perfecting the Irish coffee ;)

All the best the Red Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

first visit to the red lion and over all very impressed. staff very friendly and very attentive.so i would arrange a meal there again. great surroundings. food arrived hot and plentiful. overall a great experience. highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evie 'Yvonne' M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Evie,

We are delighted that you had a great meal and enjoyed your visit. Thank you taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the very best the Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing