We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, Smashing, Great 😀”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #21 of 64 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional village pub, run by village locals, serving traditional home cooked meals. Lovely garden and patio area. Dining room and two bars. Lovely welcoming log fire in the cold months. Friendly, and welcoming. Come and see for yourself. Food served lunchtimes (Mon-Sun), and evenings (Wed-Sat). Booking preferred for large parties.
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for some food with the family and the warm was very welcome. Great service and happy and friendly staff.

The food is fantastic, I have a food allergy and always worry about whether food is ok for me. I had nothing to worry about tonight, the menu gives an indication of what the food contains but the chef is more than happy to adapt to your needs as the food is freshly cooked to order. I was even able to have onion rings, haven't had those in ages - yum yum

Will definitely be back to enjoy the great atmosphere and try some more of the fab food.

1  Thank Kalinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Kalinda,

We are delighted that you had a great time in the Red Lion and look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best the Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

Thanks to the new management The Red Lion is firmly back on our radar - so lovely to have a warm, welcoming village pub serving great food :) We stopped off for lunch after a walk with our two small boys in the week before Christmas. Friendly welcome, pint of ale and a glass of good Syrah. Our boys were delighted with a box of toys that kept them entertained until food arrived. The service was caring and thoughtful from both the manager and waiter - eg putting cutlery/condiments on the adjacent table to avoid disrupting a precious building block tower, and giving us warning of our food on its way so that we could tidy up and make space. Little things but really appreciated. The food was very good - childrens' meals generous, fish and chips, burger and sausages all delicious. The sausages were a particular hit - from the local butcher and probably the best I've had. Looking for excuses to go back and will now be number one on our list for a local pub meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hppigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Hppigrl,

Thank for the great feedback, the Cholsey sausages from RG Parks are always a great hit! If you are looking for excuses to come back in follow us on facebook and we will do our best to tempt you back with news on our special menu items and new gins!

Looking forward to seeing you soon,
All the best the Red Lion team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We came here today after a long country walk and it was just perfect. A friendly welcome and attentive staff, great, reasonably priced food and a lovely atmosphere. The new owners have got it just right.

1  Thank SueRob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Sue,

Many thanks for your great review. Knowing your experience in this business you have us glowing with pride.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

The Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

So, some background. Four very passionate locals have taken on this pub with a view to making it the local pub they would love to be in. None of them have any previous experience but all of them have a huge desire to make it work. There is a temporary chef in there at the moment and they are looking for a new, permanent chef and manager in the New Year. This should help to explain why the menu is a bit limited at the moment and certain processes or standards aren't quite in place (as pointed out by a couple of other reviewers). However, these are all temporary issues and, actually, minor ones at that. We were a party of 11 celebrating a birthday on 15th December. We had fantastic service, despite the pub being packed to the rafters, and the atmosphere was great. The food isn't gastropub standard but Cholsey doesn't need a gastropub. Cholsey needs a friendly, welcoming pub serving good, standard pub food that is great value for money and that is what you'll find here at the Red Lion. We love our new local.

1  Thank emmabD4583AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Emma,

You got it spot on with your description of us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review we really appreciate it. As you say we are local to the village and we are learning as we go and trying hard to make The Red Lion the pub we always wanted it to be in those distant days when we were the other side of the bar.

We have the new chef, Jason, and he is great! We will be expanding the menu, we will not be gastropub we will be a village pub serving great food and a great price!

All the best,

The Red Lion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Disappointing after reading the rave reviews the menu was limited and food was average the starter was soup or nothing. The staff were friendly enough but probably won't return

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank quizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Quizers,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the experience your were expecting at the Red Lion. We are continually developing and improving our menu as we build the business. As other reviewers have mentioned we are four locals who have taken over the pub and are learning as we go. I would like to invite you back to give us another chance to impress now we have our new chef in position.

Many thanks for your feedback,
All the best the Red Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing