We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice staff.”

Wallingford Tandoori
Ranked #36 of 57 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good food, nice staff.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A very pleasant little restaurant - a good range of dishes and a warm welcome.

Can get a little tight for space at times, but the staff keep things flowing well. A quirky set of stairs up to the loo can be a little disconcerting!

Still, you come to a restaurant for the food, and it's pretty good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soulsease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Have eaten at all the other Indian style restaurants in town, this has to be the worst of them all. Staff were polite, food was so brightly colored, more suited to being photographed, not eaten!
Food lacked flavour, and i did leave alot of it...not like me at all. Nann bread was nice though
I wouldn't recommend this experience...even for free, a big improvement required.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What happened ?”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Something has changed here: after 6 years of great food and service, the Wallingford Tandoori has disappointed the last 3 times I've had their food. Incorrect orders, particularly the provision of chicken dishes when chicken tandoori was ordered, and under spicing have now been repeated with no positive response. The usually familiar staff seem to have moved on with a Ned crew in place, and the takeaway experience is much poorer compared to previously. Come on, Wallingford Tandoori, let's get the basics right!

Helpful?
Thank lenpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendy,food a tad bland and a needing a makeover”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived around 6.30pm on a Friday evening to be warmly greeted by the staff. The place is a little tired and under-light but nice enough. I had a bhuna and my wife a slightly hotter dish. Have to say that I was underwhelmed by the lack of heat in both dishes. OK a bhuna is generally mild but this had no chilli kick at all. Anyway, we ate the lot, with very nice naans and cold beer. Our preferred Indian is Masooms in Goring and it will remain so. Wallingford is in need of a really good Indian along the lines of Masooms or Asiana Spice in Henley.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best tasting Asian food in ages.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had booked a table as this is a yearly visit to this restaurant. If anything, this had improved a lot too. The flavours of all the dishes were just excellent and we all had different mains.
The sag prawns and chicken jalfrezi were really lovely.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
We shall certainly be back on our next visit to the area.
Thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennyanne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wallingford Tandoori also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Wallingford Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing