We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and fab staff”

The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Partridge is situated in the historical market town of Wallingford.Our front of house team our professional, warm and welcoming.We pride ourselves on using high quality fresh ingredients, sourced locally. Our menu changes on a regular basis, with weekly specials. We specialise in; Intimate dinning, Steaks, Group Bookings, Local Produce, Dietary requirements, Sunday Roast and Weddings.We would like every single customer to leave our restaurant feeling like they have been well looked after, in a relaxed atmosphere with good food.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food and fab staff”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The sharing platter starters are divine and could be had as a snack in the bar area if you want something light. The menu isn't extensive but certainly gives enough choice. The fillet steak was meltingly tender and came with a choice of chips or sweet potato chips which were delicious. The chef is very knowledgeable and deserves to do incredibly well. The food knocks The OPO off the radar by comparison and I would strongly recommend you visit this restaurant. All the food is locally sourced and there is a great wine list. I would certainly go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    53
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A head and shoulders above anywhere else in the area”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is a super little restaurant that ticks all the boxes. Matt is a knowledgeable chef who is clearly passionate about good food made from carefully sourced ingredients. The staff are attentive, charming and fun.The restaurant is pretty and comfortable; all in all this is by far the best place I've eaten in the area. It really deserves to do well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chedworth
Level Contributor
285 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“What a change!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We occasionally visit Wallingford to see my son and daughter in law. We always eat out in the town at least one night and a while ago tried this place and it was awful. However, it has changed hands and we were persuaded to go again. It did not disappoint. The contrast was amazing. Service was attentive and friendly without being intrusive in any way. The food was excellent, very generous sharing platters to start. A good size main course, Lamb burger special with greek salad, and extra thrice cooked chips which beat me (rare) probably because I had too much to start with. It is not a big choice menu (don't let this put you off) but I would much rather have less to choose from and it be presented and cooked properly. This certainly was. The chef/proprietor Matthew took the trouble to come out of the kitchen to check a garlic allergy with me before the meal and we saw him again in the middle and as we were leaving. Just to make this a 100% review, was a house specials wine list with some interesting and great value wines. I hate being ripped off by restaurants that way overcharge for basic wines. Well done and we shall return without a doubt next time we are in Wallingford. Amazing how a change of ownership can turn a place around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipN741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner 10 th May”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant and did not disappoint, good vegetarian option ,lovely steak and curry all enjoyed on Friday evening . Excellent attentive staff . So sorry my husband failed to leave a tip but that's farmers for you!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moulsford-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

This is our first visit to the partridge since it reopened, and we will be back. The menu while quite limited was very well executed, and for the quality fairly priced. The ambience in the partridge is nice, and it was good to see about 7 other parties dining on a Thursday evening.
We both had the steak which was outstanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing