We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Partridge is situated in the historical market town of Wallingford.Our front of house team our professional, warm and welcoming.We pride ourselves on using high quality fresh ingredients, sourced locally. Our menu changes on a regular basis, with weekly specials. We specialise in; Intimate dinning, Steaks, Group Bookings, Local Produce, Dietary requirements, Sunday Roast and Weddings.We would like every single customer to leave our restaurant feeling like they have been well looked after, in a relaxed atmosphere with good food.
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a fantastic meal here recently. Food was great and the owner knew his wines which was great. The waitress working that night May gave been new because she wasn't the vest, but hopefully was just learning. My only real criticism is with the quality of the chips that accompanied my steak were inedible. The had been cooked to oblivion, so were really just greasy crisps and unfortunately, the salad I ordered didn't arrive, but wasn't charged either. Will visit again and hopefully the front of house will have improved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a beautiful and comfortable restaurant, decor excellent and welcoming. Owner and chef attentive and understand his ethos of sourcing local fresh produce and our meal was well cooked and presented, however, he needs a good 'front of house' person. Don't mean to be rude but, wine ordered was forgotten, garlic bread - to be served with meal, again, forgotten - silly giggling when these omissions pointed out, little or no awareness of what good customer service is by his staff. Left feeling very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthewinn, Owner at The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I am sorry you left disappointed, when we said goodbye to each other I would never have known.
I did forget your bread, I apologised but I was a little confused as we had happily converted a starter into a main for you.
I don't think that the waitress taking your water on one tray while the other drinks were ready on the bar for a second journey counts as forgetting?

Sorry non the less. Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We dined here with friends, arriving early and took the opportunity to precede our meal with a bottle of Prosecco whilst we perused the menu. Despite being without the services of his assistant chef, Matthew still took the time to discuss our specific requirements, giving us the benefit of his culinary expertise. As a result, we enjoyed our evening immensely; excellent sharing platters to start and superb main courses, complemented by a most acceptable red wine. Only one of us could originally find room for a dessert but, after tasting the delicious ice cream with the Pedro Ximenez El Candado, the rest of us decided to join in too!

Service was also excellent and we would not hesitate to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Solibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Two lady friends and myself had lunch here last week. We enjoyed sumptuous sharing platters in the garden. The staff were very attentive, polite and informative. The whole experience was excellent and the variety and quality of the food was also extremely good. Would like to return to try other things on the slightly unusual menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susipearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

we liked everything about the Partridge Inn, especially when the chef came out to ask why we didn't eat the goat's cheese (I don't like goat's cheese but his was deliciously creamy when I tried it) - he clocked our plates - First class in every regard and would highly recommend a visit (best to book - it was very popular)

Thank mediagirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 
Benson, Wallingford
Wallingford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing