We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Buxted Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buxted Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went for afternoon tea just before Christmas and it was lovely, it is a lovely old hotel and you are well looked after.The room we had tea in was great with a big log fire and we had a great tea. This week we returned for tea to celebrate my mothers birthday and again had a lovely tea with plenty of food infact we had to take some home with us.Well worth the money, we will return again hopefully when it is warmer when we can sit in the garden.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your Afternoon Tea.

I was pleased to read that on both occasions the team looked after you well and that you managed to take home some of our delights!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring when there is no finer place to sit than on our terraces enjoying a traditional Afternoon Tea.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

I went to dinner at the Buxted hotel after carefully reading the reviews and having visited many 4and5 star hotels in the UK had some idea what standard to expect. Unfortunately it was a big disappointment I had the cod which would have been nicer if it wasn't swimming in a luke warm concoction with luke warm spaghetti? My friend had the lamb which was very stringy and when we told the waiter he apologised. Perhaps my expectations were too high as I was really looking forward to it, but it was in my opinion poor value for money,
A

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Dolly421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your dinner with us.

Please accept both mine and Steve Cole head chef’s apologies for the impression you received. Since joining the team before Christmas we have received much praise for the standard of cuisine. I know Steve has already conveyed your disappointment to the team so valuable lessons can be learnt.

Naturally I would like to restore the lost faith and ask that you contact me on your next visit to Buxted Park when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife & I stayed for 1 night after going racing at Plumpton, our welcome was very friendly and informative (although the door into the building was a bit awkward to negotiate). The dinner service was first class and very attentive, the food was extremely well presented and very tasty! Our room was very clean and well appointed so certainly no complaints there. Breakfast provided an extensive number of options and the quality and freshness of the food did not disappoint.
Overall a great nights stay and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay and visit to Plumpton Racecourse.

I was pleased to read you found all aspects of your stay to be excellent and will certainly convey your kind words to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My daughter and I spent a night at Buxted Park and the whole experience was lovely. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. We will certainly return and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41shep38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read you and your daughter enjoyed your overnight stay and that the team looked after you so well. Thank you for your praise and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have just had the most wonderful stay at the Buxted Park Hotel. After having had a disrupted Christmas due to problems at work, we decided to spend some time out together at one of our favourite hotels.

The service is always great, but this time the staff surpassed themselves! From Janine on reception, who allocated us our wedding suite (as we got married at the hotel in 2011), to Rob the bar man who was entertaining and informative, and to Andrew and Liam who looked after us in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast; we were made to feel extremely welcome, comfortable and 'at home'. And the food was delicious!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

It is always a pleasure to read about individuals who are named for their excellent service. I will speak with them all to ensure they received this praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Under the personal involvement of the Food and Beverage Manager, Marc Desseaux, this hotel has many special events over the course of a year.
Musical events cover a broad range of tastes from three opera singers who perform their favourite arias to tribute pop groups and solo artists such as Elvis Presley. These events are performed accompanying a pleasant meal in the beautiful ballroom.
Other options include gourmet meals which are served in a transformed and specially decorated orangery. Once a year this is accompanied with different champagnes with a talk on each by a representative from the champagne house or as with this last weekend individually chosen wines by the resident sommelier to accompany each course. A lovely finishing touch to these particular events is that the discounted price includes accomodation overnight.
The staff are mainly French and Marc 's particular personality really comes to the fore when he is commenting on the particular areas of France that they originate from- which of course do not compare well with his own region.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLIVE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following our Gourmet evening.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed the evening and that you have over the years you have attended many events organised at Buxted Park. Marc is indeed the main man when it comes to arranging these evenings and I know takes great pride in seeing so many guests returning time after time.

I will pass on your kind words to the team and look forward to welcoming you back to hotel hopefully for the Suspiciously Elvis event 19th January!

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I have just returned from yet another fantastic three night break at Buxted Park Hotel - excellent service, fine food and superb building set in beautiful parkland grounds enjoying stunning views across Ashdown Forest. Total relaxation but made to feel so welcome again. Nothing too much trouble for all the staff. Nothing like snuggling in front of a blazing log fire with a good book and fine food and wine on a very wet, blustery day!! Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good: more modern in the wing though but not as large as the beautiful suites in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneSnodland_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon_Owen, General Manager at Buxted Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service to excellent along with the fine food.

I strongly believe the right welcome makes for the perfect stay and we are blessed with a fantastic reception team who regularly surpass our guests expectations.

I agree snuggling down in front of one of our roaring log fires is a must during these damp winter days, a glass of mulled wine is my choice!

On behalf of everyone at the hotel we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uckfield
2.8 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
240 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
15.7 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,230 reviews
16.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxted Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxted Park Hotel

Address: Buxted Park, Uckfield TN22 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uckfield
Price Range: £94 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxted Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sussex, this magnificent Georgian Palladian mansion is set in 312 acres of superb parkland yet conveniently located only 24 miles from Gatwick Airport and 60 miles from Heathrow, with easy access to the M25 and London. The parkland features three lakes and is a site of Special Scientific Interest, a real feature for walkers and orienteers with walking maps available from reception.All of the guest bedrooms are finished to the highest standard with flat screen TV, DVD player and complimentary high speed internet. Feature rooms and suites have been carefully designed to blend Georgian styling with today's more contemporary comforts. A small fitness room is located in the hotel and in addition, guests are able to workout in the comfort and privacy of their hotel bedrooms with gym and yoga bags.The Dining Room has become a food destination accredited with 2 AA rosettes recognising the high standards of cuisine and offering the finest in regional produce and seasonal flavours. Regular special culinary events are held each month featuring gourmet, tribute and interactive experiences such as Cookery School. Enjoy nearby places of interest such as Brighton and Eastbourne only 20 miles away, Tunbridge Wells, Haywards Heath, East Grinstead and Lewes all on the hotel’s doorstep. Local attractions include Battle Abbey, Penshurst Place & Gardens, Seven Sisters, Sheffield Park Gardens and Bluebell Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buxted Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxted Hotel Park Uckfield
Hotel Buxted Park
Buxted Park Uckfield
Buxted Country House Park
Buxted Park Country House
Buxted Park Hotel East Sussex/Uckfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing