We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six at Sheffield Park”

Sheffield Park and Garden
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Uckfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sheffield Park and Garden has something for everyone from our magnificent landscape gardens and lakes to the rolling parkland and woodland play trail.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Six at Sheffield Park”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One of our favourite NT places. Lovely grounds, beautiful lake and lots of places for the kids (4/8/10/12) to explore. Take a picnic for the area opposite car park when weather is good and explore the footpaths on the ground that side.

Independent tea rooms have been good too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    228
    32
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Sublime gardens. We'll worth a trip.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having rejoined the National Trust after many years (worth doing) we visited these beautiful gardens a few weeks ago. We combined it with a return trip on the Bluebell Railway. What a great day out. Although the weather was average, the 2 hours spent were memorable. Well maintained mature layout, we got the tail end of the rhododendrons, providing a glimpse of how fantastic they must be in full bloom. We saw the waterfall activated and were impressed. Finishing with lunch in the National Trust restaurant, which was pleasant, I can recommend this venue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge grounds...well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I've lived around here for almost all my life but have never been here before. Today the weather was lovely so we visited with our baby son in the pushchair and our parents. The grounds are huge and very well maintained. There is a wonderful selection of flora and fauna, and wildlife. It is easy to imagine how it must have looked 100 years ago.

It was easy going with the pushchair. The map is labelled with the more difficult sections, but 90% was accessible with wheels. The main paths are wide and well made, but there are also grass paths which are equally fine in good weather like today.

After we'd walked around the whole place and seen lots of fish and birds, we had a cup of tea in the Coach House Tearoom nearby which was also very nice.

We were so impressed that we've joined the National Trust and look forward to many more visits here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gedmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Do visit the adjacent nursery,vineyard & winery”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The gardens and lakes make for an attractive, scenic walk. Mid to late May would seem to be the peak time as the main feature is rhododendrons and azaleas surrounding the lakes and reflecting in the water. By the second week in June this year the azaleas and some rhododendrons were past flowering. There were still plenty in flower to make it worthwhile.

As you drive in there is a sign to take the left fork for a nursery and vineyard. This is not National Trust run but was our highlight of the visit. The owner has an excellent, well-priced and eclectic selection of wines for sale plus beers and ciders. The plants are varied and well-priced and amongst the wines and plants there is a selection of bric-a-brac to peruse.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aitku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sussex Day Out”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Used our National Trust membership cards to visit this lovely park and gardens. Had our dog with us, so could not fully explore the gardens and lakes but had some wonderful walks around the grounds and sampled the afternoon tea at the tearooms and had our lunch at the dedicated picnic area. From here, it was only a short walk over the meadows to the 'Bluebell Railway" at Sheffield Park station.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheffield Park and Garden also viewed

 
Hadlow Down, Uckfield
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Sheffield Park and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing