We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheffield Park and gardens”

Sheffield Park and Garden
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Uckfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sheffield Park and Garden has something for everyone from our magnificent landscape gardens and lakes to the rolling parkland and woodland play trail.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sheffield Park and gardens”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Amazing location with lovely walks around mini lakes and through a wide variety of trees and plants with lots of information available by every bench!! Someone had a good idea! .Not the easiest location perhaps but well worth the detour as the surrounding countryside is beautiful.A pity that Sheffield House is private apts as the building itself looks gorgeous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    225
    31
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens to be enjoyed throughout the year.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We live near here and often visit on a Sunday afternoon. The gardens are beautiful throughout the year with the changing seasons. There are good paths, suitable for buggies and wheelchairs and also more wild and muddy area. Plenty of wildfowl on the lakes. Usual National trust tea shop and shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Six at Sheffield Park”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One of our favourite NT places. Lovely grounds, beautiful lake and lots of places for the kids (4/8/10/12) to explore. Take a picnic for the area opposite car park when weather is good and explore the footpaths on the ground that side.

Independent tea rooms have been good too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Sublime gardens. We'll worth a trip.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having rejoined the National Trust after many years (worth doing) we visited these beautiful gardens a few weeks ago. We combined it with a return trip on the Bluebell Railway. What a great day out. Although the weather was average, the 2 hours spent were memorable. Well maintained mature layout, we got the tail end of the rhododendrons, providing a glimpse of how fantastic they must be in full bloom. We saw the waterfall activated and were impressed. Finishing with lunch in the National Trust restaurant, which was pleasant, I can recommend this venue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge grounds...well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I've lived around here for almost all my life but have never been here before. Today the weather was lovely so we visited with our baby son in the pushchair and our parents. The grounds are huge and very well maintained. There is a wonderful selection of flora and fauna, and wildlife. It is easy to imagine how it must have looked 100 years ago.

It was easy going with the pushchair. The map is labelled with the more difficult sections, but 90% was accessible with wheels. The main paths are wide and well made, but there are also grass paths which are equally fine in good weather like today.

After we'd walked around the whole place and seen lots of fish and birds, we had a cup of tea in the Coach House Tearoom nearby which was also very nice.

We were so impressed that we've joined the National Trust and look forward to many more visits here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gedmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheffield Park and Garden also viewed

Uckfield, East Sussex
Hadlow Down, Uckfield
 

Been to Sheffield Park and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing