We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended to me now I recommend to you”

The Foresters Arms Fairwarp
Ranked #21 of 65 Restaurants in Uckfield
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Recommended to me now I recommend to you”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Lovely little country pub, attentive staff and service that many larger restaurants could learn from.
A great menu with plenty of choice and a fine selection of daily specials.
We booked a table uncertain if it was necessary on a wet windy Wednesday evening, as the placed filled I was glad we did.its comfortable but some might think the tables too close but not for us. The food arrived in good time and the portions were plentiful. Give it s go you won't feel let down

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch......”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Was great. You can always tell how good a Sunday roast is by the roast potatoes. And boy were they good! Starting to be our favourite pub, not just for the location, or the very hospitable staff, but the food is great, non gastro-esque pub food. Why ruin something great by adding that pathetic parsley garnish? Well, the Foresters don't do that. They serve great food in a pub, local produce, local ales, served by local residents! What more can you ask for! Excellent, well done again, see you soon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cagneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great local gem traditional pub”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Passed this many times going through the Forest but decided to book for dinner this week. We had an early reservation so it was nice and quiet when we arrived. A very charming young lady showed us to our reserved table by the fire - delightful and cosy.

The pub is very basic, in an old pub way which I love, unfortunately many pubs have that modern gastro feel and look and have lost their local identity. The Forester offered a lovely selection of ales, Badgers which I have not tried before but very good.

The menu was simple and containing typical pub greats and some interesting options, my wife had the Steak and Kidney pudding, the best she has ever had, highly recommended. Lovely chips and fresh vegetables presuming local as the sprouts were lovely large and crisp.

Service was very polite and helpful and the pub filled up with very nice locals.

Will be back soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pbjmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great local gem pub”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Passed this many times going through the Forest but decided to book for dinner this week. We had an early reservation so it was nice and quiet when we arrived. A very charming young lady showed us to our reserved table by the fire - delightful and cosy.

The pub is very basic, in an old pub way which I love, unfortunately many pubs have that modern gastro feel and look and have lost their local identity. The Forester offered a lovely selection of ales, Badgers which I have not tried before but very good.

The menu was simple and containing typical pub greats and some interesting options, my wife had the Steak and Kidney pudding, the best she has ever had, highly recommended. Lovely chips and fresh vegetables presuming local as the sprouts were lovely large and crisp.

Service was very polite and helpful and the pub filled up with very nice locals.

Will be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pbjmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfriston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely location : shame not open through Afternoons”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Good food and a variety of ales available all times when we have visited this busy venue. I have seen it at lunchtimes at a weekend and in the week; and also on a Saturday evening over recent years. Have eaten before of a lunchtime : but too often we cannot base ourselves around this lovely part of the southern edge of Ashdown Forest as our walking members look for a hostelry at the end of their walks > usually from 4:30 to 5pm of an afternoon.
It is therefore a shame that this one is not open through afternoons, at least at the weekend. I know, you cannot please all of the people all of the time : and in all other respects this is a good and popular venue.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalkLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foresters Arms Fairwarp also viewed

 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Foresters Arms Fairwarp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing