We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sausage and mash with style!”
Review of Browns Brasserie - CLOSED

Browns Brasserie
Price range: US$9 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sausage and mash with style!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Brown’s, Tavistock (not to be confused with the UK Brown’s group of restaurants)

Excellent meal – David and I both had a sausage main course with mash and savoy cabbage with bacon and garlic, cream, honey and mustard. For pudding we had blueberry panacotta and blue berry ice cream, all washed down with a Merlot and Shiraz.

A wonderful experience! Steve provided excellent service

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulesMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    26
    19
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Quality from the start”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We came to Browns to sample the lunch time menu and we left very satisfied. The service was friendly and efficient, the surroundings were welcoming and rustic. The food was to die for. The pace of delivery was expertly timed, and each course left us wanting more! Whilst the portions are not huge the flavours are amazing. The meals exude attention to detail and a great grasp of flavours. We loved every minute and would definitely come back again. Highly recommended - thanks!

Helpful?
Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food glorious food”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Where do you start, food great, atmosphere great, looking forward to our Christmas party lunch, always a first class event!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 69Bassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for something special”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Friendly attentive staff,great food and a really nice friendly relaxed atmosphere. Lots of little touches that made our meal something special.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Njm420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Service could have done better”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was our forth visit, is was great to see the menu was different but the service was not at it's best tonight. Staff were a little 'stiff' and distant. Not as good value as River Cottage canteen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowbell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing