We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in Tavistock”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavistock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottage
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We usually stay with family in Tavi' but decided to do something different this time and will definitely do it again. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves and so benefited from a personal chef cooking delicious breakfasts. Many thanks to both Colin and Jenny for their excellent hospitality and considerable knowledge of the area, which - slightly embarrassingly - exceeded our own!! A big thumbs up from us.
L & M Kemp

Room Tip: Ground floor room in Ticket Office was spacious with excellent en-suite (and comfy bath-robes!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in the Refreshment Hall, 6 adults plus baby. Would love to do it over again, it was superb. Every detail was perfect and Colin and Jenny were lovely. It was few minutes walk into town with lots of places to wat nearby. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jb1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We rented the three cottages as we were attending a wedding in a nearby farm! They were all gorgeous with so much attention to detail and each having their own little character. Kitchens were modern with dishwashers etc, bathrooms and showers were spotless and very high standard. Gorgeous setting and ideal for those wishing to see local area. Very quiet and peaceful too. Can't recommend them highly enough. Particularly loved the back area which used to be the old platform!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Baba1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in the Ticketing Hall 2 1/2 years ago and loved it so much that when we went back to
England the first reservation that we made was with Colin and Jenny. It is so comfortable, neat, and clean. A short walk to the village was enjoyable. We would recommend the Old Tavistock
Railway Station Cottages to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JoyceA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Perfect for big family gathering in three cottages for wedding in nearby farm. well stocked kitchen. outdoor seating with views over Dartmoor. little luxury touches like slippers and robes. very welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minniejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selfcateringcottages, Owner at Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor. The station is an ideal venue for family get togethers, for birthdays, anniversaries and weddings. We are pleased that so many people enjoy their stay with us, whether it's a romantic break for a couple or for friends and family.
Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautiful historical building with comfortable interior. We, couple with two kids) stayed in the Porters office. Well equiped kitchen, great bathrooms, private spacious parking, short walk from Tavistock centre and a great view. I would suggest to walk over the old train bridge next to the trainstation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Annemarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Situated in the town of Tavistock, the former railway station has been superbly converted into a number of seperate dwellings. The refurbishment has been completed sympathetically and in keeping with the former railway stations main purpose.

What we liked: Set in walking distance from the town centre in its own private grounds, the property presents in an outstanding fashion. Decor is to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. We opted for the b and b option and each morning one of the owners -Colin - came in and cooked the most delicious English breakfast with all of the indegredients sourced locally. Tavistock is, intself, a lovely town nestled on the edges of Dartmoor, and easy travelling to the picturesque district of South Hams and Buckfast beckon the traveller. Plymouth is about 13 miles if you like the country and city break idea.

What we did not like: Nothing

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
180 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottage

Address: Quant Park, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 OJQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Tavistock
Price Range: £96 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this luxury holiday cottage in Devon where you can sense the atmosphere of days gone by. Experience the ultimate in 5 star award winning luxury Ticketing Hall self catering holiday cottage in Tavistock, Devon. Owners live on site to welcome guests. Views over Dartmoor and only 5 minutes from the centre of the old market town. Ample parking. BBQ under the platform come rain or shine. Visit local NT properties and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Tavistock Railway Station Cottage Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing