We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to camp”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 3 days there camping and were very pleased with our choice. Great pitch number 37 but next time would ask for 38 if it was free as it was slightly bigger and had the cover of the bushes. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the on site bar served great food at very reasonable prices. It is a good sized site but it did not feel like you were hemmed in. Very friendly atmosphere and also great location as within a 5 min walk up the road you are on the moors. We will go back and would recommend this site to all our camping friends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for your review and kind comments, the park has a great location for getting out on the moor and has been enjoyed by people for the last 60 years. Hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    55
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
180
240
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews on here before we booked. The reviews are very good. We stayed in caravan 15 but I suggest anyone else requests not to stay in it. We complained about the fire and oven having a very slow insufficient gas supply and good enough it was resolved pretty quickly. We had spent 2 morning cooking breakfast which was taking us an hour due to the lack of gas. The caravan main bedroom smelt musty as did the bedding, which I suppose people can cope with but most annoying was the creaking floors of the caravan. Once one person was awake, everyone was awake. The main bedroom door was difficult to close and made a lot of noise on being pushed shut. One of the single beds made creaking noises if the person in it moved and my daughter had to sleep in the living area to not wake others up. I have stayed inn many caravans and i know you have to creep around but this floor was a nightmare and effected everyone's sleep, as did the single bed on the first 2 nights. The camp itself is in a good location and is nice and clean. The childrens children's play park is nice. The toys in the manor house are a nice touch but the games room is outdated. The restaurant /bar opens up at 7 which is a bit late for dinner when you have young children. I stayed at A

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank billynoodle1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for your comments and I am sorry that the holiday home was not up to standard for you. We will investigate the creaking floors and bedrooms with the holiday home manufacturer as this is a fairly new model. We're glad you enjoyed our location and facilities on the park. We appreciate your feedback and hope that overall you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited in August 2014. We saw the reviews and noted that the owners responded to them, showing a customer focus and hard work that was evident in our stay. The site is well laid out and maintained, making use of a relatively small space. The site, and washing/toilet blocks, were well equipped and spotlessly clean. USe of natural resources was good and well explained, and the general information on the plants/wildlife was really good.

Bar/lounge area is small but fine for what we wanted and the size of site. Staff work hard to make it welcoming, and a great evening space when damp, or escape area for rain. Limited shop, but great idea to have bread/croissants freshly available each morning.

All in all, a real hidden gem, ideal for Dartmoor or further afield and close enough to amenites to make it great for families, and would definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinatownbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello! I often wonder if anyone reads my responses to the reviews and yes they do! Thanks for your review and hopefully the reviews gave a true impression of Langstone Manor Park - we do try to keep everyone happy and know that we have a great location for Dartmoor and the surrounding area. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as a group of 4 (end of July).

Glamping Pods - 5 Star!

Amazing holiday will defiantly return! Toliets/showers and pods beautifully clean!

Lots of space for bbq's and sitting out on the day/night!

* Check out: Exeter Bike Hire - 20mins away - beautiful trail down to lydford gorge (5miles each way)*

*Check out: Tavistock Market!*

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PokerDot-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello and thanks for the great comments on Langstone Manor and the suggestions for days out. The local cycleways are great as they are on old railway lines which means they are flat!! The Lydford one is especially lovely as it goes along the moor with great views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in the 4 person glamping pod, 1 adult, 2 teenagers and an energetic Springer.
The pod was a comfortable size for all of us, including 2 double blow up beds.
The decking area outside the pod was great for cooking breakfast and having a glass of wine in the evenings.
The bar in the Manor house was very comfortable although we did not eat there.
The modern shower/toilet block was extremely clean as was the dishwashing room.
It was easy to get to all the places that we wanted to visit from the park and we were so lucky with the weather.
Overall I would say it was a very relaxing, comfortable camping holiday and it made a nice change from using a tent.
We'll definitely be going there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donnaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks sounds as though you are a convert to glamping pods! They are a great idea especially if you don't fancy the putting up and taking down of tents! The facilities are being very well cared for by the staff and a lovely lady called Joan - I will pass on your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The amenities and park are very nice and the childrens play area is great, the caravan was clean. Unfortunately for me my holiday was spoilt due to rude and unfriendly staff. I felt so uncomfortable that I avoided going into reception when I needed help or information. I am giving a 2 star rating as my holiday could have been so much better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 704jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
I am very sorry that your experience at Langstone Manor was marred by not being treated in a friendly and helpful manner - I did speak to you when you were here and I apologised to you at the time and the staff involved will be disappointed in having this review, and regardless of how the situation arose will take on board your comments. As you can see from other reviews this is not the way we want to be portrayed and hope that you can accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here in our motorhome for 4 days. The park is lovely with excellent facilities and a great kid's play area. The manor house has a really pleasant bar, selling excellent local beer and good evening meals (of the pub grub variety) very sensibly priced. The location is fantastic and we were able to walk out straight on to the moor with all that that has to offer. The staff really help to make this site. They are very friendly and helpful. We took our puppy with us but forgot his food! One of the staff was driving into Tavistock and picked some up for us, thank you Dave. This saved us a taxi trip, so very much appreciated. As we only live down the road in Cornwall we will definitely be heading back to Langstone Manor, and look forward to trying it in spring and autumn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayserchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for your kind review and glad that Dave could help with the puppy food! I hope the puppy enjoyed the moors and hope you return to Langstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
2.9 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
13.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,025 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
467 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
369 reviews
5.3 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages

Property: Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Address: Moortown | Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langstone Manor Park sits on Dartmoor National Park just outside the town of Tavistock. Established over 60 years the park offers 5 star service and facilities with a perfect quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and PitchUp so you can book your Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing