We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly host, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Talbot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly host, great stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at Appledown House while in the area for a family wedding. Before the trip I contacted Gil a couple of times to change check in times and to extend the booking and found her to be friendly and flexible with the times. We received a friendly welcome and were shown to a lovely clean room with stunning views and given some recommendations for things to see in the area and places for dinner. We had a great breakfast made up of local products with homemade bread and yogurt to accompany it. The room was great value for money and I would definitely stay again or recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My partner and I stayed 1 night on the way to Cornwall. We were given a warm, friendly greeting and shown our beautiful room. We were then presented with a lovely tea tray with a cafetierre, pot of tea and some delicious biscuits! The room was spotlessly clean, fresh and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was lovely. We paid a small supplement for a conservatory on the room which was well woth the extra. The view from it was for miles over the moors. Wonderful.. A good nights sleep in a comfy bed. Then a most wonderful breakfast, including home made bread, locally made jam and finest yoghurts. The eggs in our cooked breakfasts were from Marlene,one of the resident chickens and her feathered friends! Great stuff! There is an outdoor swimming pool but not the weather for us to use it. Excellent stay and really hospitable hosts. Would definitely stay again and would strongly recommend to anyone else. Thank you for a great time.

Room Tip: The extra premium for the room with the conservatory is well it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camborne
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just recently stayed with dave & gill at appledown house. It was a very warm welcome that I received from them both. I could not fault anything about my stay it was absolutely perfect place. I stayed in the room at the back of the annexe which was very cosy with a nice big bed. Washing facilities with a lovely walk in shower plenty of hot water 24-7. The breakfast was lovely with their own home made bread for toast and also fresh free range chickens eggs from their very own chickens in which they own about 70-80. I was greeted on my arrival with a nice hot cup of tea and biscuits. There is also a nice pub close by that do superb meals it is situated about 3/4 mile from the b&b in the Tavistock direction the pub is called The blacksmiths arms. I will definetly stay there again next year and would recommend to everyone. A real home from home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My newly-wed wife and I stopped here for one night (our first night on honeymoon) before heading all the way into Cornwall for the rest of our trip. We found Appledown house to be a pleasant place to spend the night with our hosts being very friendly and helpful. Their recommendation to eat at the nearby Blacksmiths Arms was a superb idea.
We had the smaller room at the back of the annexe, the one without the conservatory, which for one night suited us fine, but be aware it is not much larger than the super comfy bed that inhabits it.
Breakfast the next day was amazing and plentiful: it set us up for what turned out to be the whole day exploring King Arthur's Castle at Tintagel.

Room Tip: Try and get the room at the front with the conservatory. The room we had at the back lacks the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I have stayed with Dave & Gil twice now. On both occasions this lovely couple have made us very welcome into their house. The 'garden room' has the advantage of a lovely view across the Devon countryside, even when you lay in bed! And each morning you are treated to Dave's full English breakfast, which is enough to set you up for the day, even if you intend walking the highways and byways.
We are looking forward to staying with Gil and Dave the early part of next summer, can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Appledown House and Dave and Gill were really hospitable and could not do enough to make sure our stay was really enjoyable. The rooms were immaculate and could be adjoining which was great for us and our two children. Lovely bathrooms and plenty of hot water! The swimming pool was an extra bit of luxury. We enjoyed a yummy breakfast in the morning and it was a great start to our holiday - we hope to be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledownhouse, Owner at Appledown House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we very much appreciate your taking the time and trouble to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Appledown House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The service was faultless, the owner was extremely friendly. The room we stayed in overlooked the back garden with a view of the swimming pool and the rolling hills of Devon. There was a small conservatory at the front of the room with table & chairs where you could sit & watch the sun go down. The bed was enormous, wish mine at home was as comfortable!!! Everything was spotless. This B&B is situated just outside of Tavistock and is handy for anyone wishing to visit Devon or Cornwall. There was nothing I disliked about it and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his full english breakfast. You could have chosen anything for breakfast and as they have chickens you know the eggs are free range and fresh. At £69 with everything included it offered good value as well.

Room Tip: I would ask for the room overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledownhouse, Owner at Appledown House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you so much for your review, it means a lot to us that people take the time and trouble to leave a review and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Appledown House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
639 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#6 of 25 in Tavistock
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonwood Barton B and B
Wonwood Barton B and B
#5 of 25 in Tavistock
85 reviews
5.9 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Address: | Near Lamerton Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appledown Cottage holiday let (formerly Appledown House B&B) is set in the rolling Devon countryside, yet only 3.5 Miles from Tavistock on the edge of Dartmoor. The cottage comprises a twin/superking bedroom with light and airy en-suite bathroom (shower), sitting room with sofabed for additional guests*, small conservatory dining area with superb views across the outdoor pool**, garden and stunning countryside towards Dartmoor. The kitchen is well-equipped with a free-standing electric hob, full size fitted oven, free-standing microwave and fitted fridge. All china, glassware, crockery, cooking utensils etc included along with crisp, fresh bed linen, soft white fluffy towels and kitchen towels & teatowels. There is a 32" TV in the sitting room and a wall-mounted TV in the bedroom. Both are remote control with freeview and integrated DVD players. Free wi-fi is available. We offer an indulgent, full English breakfast (should you wish us to cook for you) served in our dining room, using fresh, free-range eggs from the local farm along with locally sourced sausages and bacon, home made bread and yoghurt and golden butter straight from the farm (there is an additional charge for breakfast). A warm welcome awaits you to our stress-free haven! *Guests using the sofabed have access to the bathroom via a 'JacknJill' door system (with appropriate locks). **Outdoor pool available during summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Appledown House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledown House Bed And Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing