We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the Devon countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little gem in the Devon countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were looking for a nice B&B close to Tavistock for a family birthday party and had this little gem recommended to us by a local!

We booked the twin bedded room with its own conservatory overlooking the swimming pool and wonderful views of Dartmoor. It is very spacious and was very clean with comfortable beds and good quality bedding.

The en-suite was also spacious with large walk-in shower with good water supply and fluffy towels. Fresh towels were supplied every day.

The flat screen television had a lot of channels to choose from plus a radio is supplied.

Lovely welcome on arrival from Dave & Gil and she brought along freshly brewed coffee and loads of biscuits. There are tea making facilities in the room and fresh milk is supplied nightly in a flask.

Breakfasts are substantial with fresh fruit and home made yoghurt, cereals, substantial English breakfast with local bacon and sausages, their own free range eggs and Dave makes the bread. There are some nice local walks to reduce the waistline!

There is a country road adjacent so you'll get some traffic noise but it is generally not obtrusive. Just up the road is a local garage and mini supermarket/village shop.

We stayed for three nights and paid a discounted rate of £62 per night for two people which we thought very good value for the quality of the accommodation, the location and the food.

Thank you Dave & Gil for running such a lovely B&B and making us so welcome. We plan to return.

Room Tip: The room with the conservatory gives a lovely spacious feeling and the views are magnificant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

On arrival we were greeted with fresh coffee and biscuits as we settled in for the evening. The room was very spacious with a conservatory on the back which has fantastic views over the countryside.
We still cannot get over the size of the bed! The room was ensuite with a nice powerful shower.
The next morning we went through to the main house for breakfast. Fresh orange juice, homemade natural yoghurt, cereal, cafetiere coffee, fresh eggs from the resident chickens, locally sourced bacon and local hand churned butter and fresh homemade bread.
We had been eating a lot of cooked breakfasts up to this point in our holiday, when we mentioned this in passing to Gill, she offered us continental breakfast and then pancakes; well Steph’s eyes lit up at the thought of pancakes, with jams, syrups and fresh fruit.
Overall this is a fantastic little B&B, comfortable bed, great views and nice food.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jupp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Thanks to Gil and Dave for a lovely stay. The setting is picturesque and the room very comfortable. Couldn't fault the breakfast - homemade yoghurt, their own eggs, local bacon, hand churned butter and the chance to eat it out on the patio in the sun!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanedi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

What a lovely place to stay, we had 2 nights at Appledown B&B (wish we could have stayed longer, Really lovely views from our room with the conservatory. very clean & fresh, Our Hosts Gill & Dave extremely friendly and very helpful nothing too much trouble, next time we are in the area we hope the same room is available. see you soon

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Appledown House is a small B&B and offers wonderful personal service with Tea and biscuits on arrival and nothing being too much trouble. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and wished we had been able to stay longer. Appledown House is situated a couple of miles from Tavistock with good access routes to the local area. (If you like a sightly challenging walk try Lydford Gorge - takes about 2 hrs - National Trust). Gill delivers a lovely breakfast with homemade products and home laid eggs from the 50 hens that they have. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, the room with the 'conservatory' offers wonderful views across Dartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I found this place when I was on a family trip and had an excellent personal service, good clean rooms, excellent facilities, best breakfast ever.
I have just been on a business trip with A&S Constabulary and remembered why I wanted to go back again!!!
Best thing was the personal service by the owners and the local food.

Room Tip: There is a front room with conservatory, well worth it, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at Appledown House for 3 nights and it was such a relaxing and a peaceful stay.Gil was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the stay so much.The rooms were very clean and cosy & we felt like home.Will definitely recommend the place to friends.

Savan & Minoli.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minoli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.2 mi away
One Drake Road B&B
One Drake Road B&B
#13 of 25 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wonwood Barton B and B
Wonwood Barton B and B
#3 of 25 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lamerton, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appledown House is set in the heart of the West Devon countryside yet only 3.5 Miles from Tavistock, which is situated on the edge of Dartmoor. We have 2 en-suite (shower) rooms: a south-facing twin/superking, with its own small conservatory and superb views across the gardens and stunning countryside towards Dartmoor, and a front-facing twin/superking with a lovely light and airy en-suite shower room. Soft fluffy towels, a hearty full English breakfast using fresh eggs from our own free-range chickens and locally sourced produce, home made bread and yoghurt and golden butter straight from the farm await you along with a warm welcome to our stress-free haven! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appledown House Bed And Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing