We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devon delight -- highly recommend!! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Devon delight -- highly recommend!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We would like to thank Gill and Dave for a lovely nights stay, you were wonderful hosts and very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was very clean,spacious and bed very comfy. The welcome tea and biscuits were yum and nice to have after a long drive. The water pressure in the shower was great too, which is sometimes a hit and miss when traveling. Breakfast was great with plenty to eat and good quality (we loved the home made bread with the locally made butter and the eggs from your chickens!) We hope we can return again but for longer. We shall recommend you to our family and friends. Thank you once again, Amanda and Justin, Tasmania :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandib29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
61
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Appledown was perfectly positioned for me and its facilities were perfect too: the room was clean, comfortable and more than big enough for me in the supersize bed! It was a very cold spell and the extra heater was welcome to provide instant warmth on my return in the evening. The breakfast was good, I especially enjoyed the home-made yoghurt, conserves and bread; the freshly laid eggs were wonderful. Gil is a welcoming host and I hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked for myself as part of a weekend visiting the Tamar Valley and found the accomodation truly excellent. The hosts, Dave and Gill were so friendly and welcoming and gave some great recommendations for eating in the area. The room was wonderful offering a fantastic view of the valley, which with the sun rising the first monring there was breathtaking. And the breakfast was really filling, every ingredient was local and tasted delicious. I would recommend Appledown to anyone thinking of visiting the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Me and my better half stayed for one night in July after being rained out of our tent. Never has a wiser decision been made. Dave and Gil were fantastic hosts and having a room off the house in a seperate annex made is seem homely but then you were not intruding in someone else's home. Fresh milk was left in a vacuum flask for us in the morning and the breakfast was fantastic. Sure if you asked you could eat your own body weight in toast! Gil was so helpful in helping us plan our day on a miserable, rain soaked morning and nothing was too much bother. There was also a family staying and Gil was great with children and adults alike. (Children are probably less hassle!). Location was also great - out in the countryside so you could really appreciate the outside world. A fantastic stay and fully recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stopped at Appledown house in July and enjoyed it so much that we came back again for a further week in September. There is always a warm welcome from Gil and Dave the hosts. Our room was excellent, plenty of choice for breakfast, homemade bread and marmalade, fresh eggs from their chickens - wonderful.
We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: The Garden room is excellent and has a small conservatory with wonderful views overlooking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The room and en suite were clean and well equipped. Unfortunately the pool was unheated owing to a technical problem, so we didn't try it! Fresh milk for morning drinks was left on our doorstep in a vacuum flask,which was a welcome change from UHT.
The breakfast was really good and Gil told us where things came from and made the yoghurt herself.This is a very good B&B and would have got this for location, if it weren't for the traffic noise from the busy junction outside, maybe we were unlucky, but it was quite noisy.
We also enjoyed a lovely evening meal at the The Blacksmith's Arms which is a 15min walk away.

Room Tip: We had the garden room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oystergold, Owner at Appledown House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review your brief stay with us. We're so sorry to learn that you were disturbed by traffic noise, which we assume was during the late afternoon when you sat out on the patio enjoying the sunshine as it's a busy time of year in the country, with lots of tractors and farm machinery on the move, which would explain it.

We've been very pleased to have had so many lovely reviews from our guests, giving future guests an indication of just how hard we try to please them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the garden room and had a warm welcome. The local pub is great for a bite to eat and a few pints. The pool is a bonus on a hot day. Fantastic breakfast with lots on offer. Perfect room for ralaxing, request the garden room! A must for any bike rider on the coast to coast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank churchbridge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
3.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.2 mi away
One Drake Road B&B
One Drake Road B&B
#13 of 25 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beera Farmhouse
Beera Farmhouse
#9 of 25 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appledown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledown House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Appledown House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lamerton, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appledown House is set in the heart of the West Devon countryside yet only 3.5 Miles from Tavistock, which is situated on the edge of Dartmoor. We have 2 en-suite (shower) rooms: a south-facing twin/superking, with its own small conservatory and superb views across the gardens and stunning countryside towards Dartmoor, and a front-facing twin/superking with a lovely light and airy en-suite shower room. Soft fluffy towels, a hearty full English breakfast using fresh eggs from our own free-range chickens and locally sourced produce, home made bread and yoghurt and golden butter straight from the farm await you along with a warm welcome to our stress-free haven! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appledown House Bed And Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing