We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephants Nest Inn

Elephants Nest Inn
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We pride ourselves on producing the highest quality food from the finest ingredients - beef, from local herds that has had a minimum of 21 days maturing; lamb and pork also from local farms; fish that is delivered fresh - never frozen - from St Ives daily; marvellous and varied English cheeses from Tavistock and fruit and vegetables from Helston. All our food is prepared and cooked from these fresh ingredients in our kitchen; no bought-in already prepared frozen food is ever used. Our menu and specials are ever changing and offer a wide selection to choose from including a number of vegetarian dishes. On Sunday lunchtimes we have a choice of two roasts (one of which is always sirloin of South Devon beef), steak and kidney pudding, haddock and chips together with a selection of dishes from the specials board.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went with a group of 8 and we had a lovely evening. The drinks were well priced, was expecting it to be expensive as out of the way and was pleasantly surprised.
We had to wait a while for our food but as we were a large party and the bar was very busy we did not mind.
Elephant burger was lovely, well worth a try.
Bar maid was very polite and helpful.
Lovely evening had and I would recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    92
    28
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful inn, very romantic setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a very beautiful inn with lots of character. Beautiful gardens and views. The food is excellent and very generous servings.
The only downside was that our room wasn't cleaned. The duvets were shaken up and laid over the beds but the beds were left unmade beneath. The bathroom wasn't cleaned for the three days we were there and the plug hole in the bath was clogged with hair and grunge from previous occupants. The little waste bin was overflowing when we left. We did mention the lack of cleaning and were promised it would be done but it wasn't. Therefore we didn't leave any tips.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had the most beautiful meal at this restaurant whilst having a weekend break near Tavistock. The atmosphere was lovely. The place took a bit if finding as the signs were a little obscured by hedges. Lovely food very reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trickyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“I love this place but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I really do love this place...it was part of my growing up, and later I worked here and my son did too. I love its location, its ambience, its decor, its staff, its memories. But its menu needs a complete overhaul. It does have a wide range of dishes on its regular menu-they haven't changed in years-and a wide choice of specials, but here comes the BUT ... steak and kidney pudding in the summer, and it has been a lovely summer? Plus not one special's vegetarian option? No main meal salad? There was one saving grace though, there was no mention of 'Pulled Pork', thank goodness!
We shared a starter of sizzling king prawns-5 for £7.95. They were delicious and just the right side of garlicky. We should have asked for more bread to mop up the juices, but were mindful that we wanted a pudding so restrained ourselves. My partner had belly pork-crispy on the outside, but a bit dry on the inside-with noodles and pak choi. He declared it overwhelmed by a gravy which was lacking in any distinctive flavour! I had a delicious caramelised shallot and goat's cheese tart tatin, which was mouth-wateringly perfect, with a salad, well actually just mixed green leaves, a halved cherry tomato and 3 slices of cucumber. I usually have this dish when I eat here and sometimes supplement the lack lustre salad with a few new potatoes, or if it is the middle of winter, some chips. We shared a very good Eton Mess, but were hoping for the lemon posset, which is sometimes a dessert special but not when we went.
All in all it was a very pleasant evening, but we would visit more regularly, if the menu could be a little more seasonal and there was a wider choice for vegetarians. Actually the same could be said for many so 'gastropubs' these days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heyhey56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food in a picturesque rural setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good beer, good food and a wonderful view from the garden, all in a quiet rural setting. What could be better on a summer evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 101dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephants Nest Inn also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Elephants Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing