We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner, lunch and coffee all excellent!”
Review of Taylors

Taylors
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week with a fantastic range of menus Taylors has something for everyone. A modern breakfast menu, freshly made cakes, delicious coffee, light lunches, the unique West Country Tapas menu and our full evening menu compliment a superb wine list, extensive cocktail menu and a delicious range of beers and spirits with Peroni on draught. Taylors offers a more formal upstairs dining area to compliment the relaxed cocktail atmosphere downstairs together with the private dining area in the Kings room. A full outside catering and events service is also offered giving you the opportunity to sample the Taylors experience wherever you like.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner, lunch and coffee all excellent!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

During December we have visited Taylor's for all of the above with both friends and for lunch with small children. The two evening meals were both exceptional and I consider it good value for such quality . The Christmas menu was imaginative with good portions , a particular highlight was the excellent pre dinner cocktails we enjoyed on the sofas. A proper vodka martini and champagne cocktails, no where else in Tavistock can you match these! Most recently we had calamari , duck and steak and everyone commented on the high standard of food , duck as it should be and perfect steaks! The atmosphere has improved considerably and dining downstairs is now a very pleasant experience.
It is a refreshing change as somewhere to go for a coffee during the day, fantastic cakes and easily accessible with a pushchair. We have found the staff helpful, attentive and welcoming , both the young-men working front of house stand out. Taylor's keep doing what you are doing it is first rate and we are now committed regulars, we cannot recommend it enough .

Helpful?
1 Thank Honestjohn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorsTavistock, Owner at Taylors, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi, we are delighted you have enjoyed your experiences with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. As a regular you may be interested in our January offers including free meals for children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    152
    54
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“HUGE improvement!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Three times I ate at Taylor's under the old regime and three times I was disappointed. Having heard good things about the new ownership I thought I'd give the place another chance. SO glad I did, twice.
Amongst the dishes sampled (all beautifully presented), perfectly cooked tender steaks, the best steak and kidney pie I have ever tasted, tasty Thai fishcakes and the chef's speciality, lemon meringue pie - a must.

Excellent friendly service and an attractive environment in which to eat. Practically faultless in every way we are definitely returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorsTavistock, Owner at Taylors, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Hi Sweatpea62, we are delighted that you gave us another try and even more delighted you enjoyed your experiences with us. We have our new January menu being launched this week and lot's of exciting improvements in the new year so we look forward to trying to exceed your expectations going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I visited Taylor's with the whole family on Christmas Eve and had a wonderful time,delicious food,great wine list,all topped off with a lovely Christmas atmosphere and brilliant service, will defiantly be returning again soon !!!! :-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would n't go back”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Don't know if we were just unlucky, but we did n't have a great dining experience. We waited 10 minutes before anyone paid us any attention, and then a further 45 minutes for the meal. Two of our party had the steak, and both left it, saying it was tough - and my nut roast and few vegetables was n't great. The food seems overpriced. And why does n't the restaurant put a proper light in the recess where the coats are kept? My mother - in - law went through an anxious 10 minutes before her coat was found.
Would n't go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaylorsTavistock, Owner at Taylors, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Hi, many thanks for your feedback we are of course very sorry that your experience was not a positive one. The feedback we get regarding the quality of our meat and steaks in particular is generally very good but I will ensure we continue to monitor this closely. Christmas Eve was a very busy night and with meals being prepared freshly to order there can at times be delays but we always do our best to minimise this. Our pricing is reviewed continuously and we feel we offer value for money...with the majority of feedback backing this up.Our new January menu starts this week so if you do decide to give us another try then there are many new alternatives to the nut roast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Overpriced for a christmas lunch.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We are regulars here. Thought we would try the christmas lunch, found both the turkey and nut roast with a very limited veg and potatoes. Very dissapointed really not worth the price. Will think twice about returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zobo1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taylors also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Taylors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing