We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Lunch with no disappointment”
Review of Taylors

Taylors
Ranked #1 of 66 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week with a fantastic range of menus Taylors has something for everyone. A modern breakfast menu, freshly made cakes, delicious coffee, light lunches, the unique West Country Tapas menu and our full evening menu compliment a superb wine list, extensive cocktail menu and a delicious range of beers and spirits with Peroni on draught. Taylors offers a more formal upstairs dining area to compliment the relaxed cocktail atmosphere downstairs together with the private dining area in the Kings room. A full outside catering and events service is also offered giving you the opportunity to sample the Taylors experience wherever you like.
Pymouth
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friday Lunch with no disappointment”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Came out to visit Mum in Tavi & as we often lunch out, we thought we would try the new look Taylors in Tavi. I had Hungarian Goulash & Mum had fish goujons, both dishes, were appertizing to the eye & plentiful. We'd seen the desserts coming out for others, so, inevitably we had to try them. I chose a gourmand of choc pot, eton mess & crème brulee, Mum had ice cherry parfait, both delightful.
The Manager was very pleasant & helpful, as was the other members of the team.
All in all no disappointment.
Definitely would recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    155
    55
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A late Father's Day treat.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife treated me to an evening out, as we had not tried Taylor's since it had changed hands we decided to give it a go. Service, excellent - nothing was too much trouble and very attentive. The starter was good the main meal was very good, I had fish pie the wife had steak. We enjoyed it so much we back for lunch a week or so later. Again very good both the meal and the service. Will recommend it to others and go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

As soon as we knew Taylor's was now open on a Sunday we had to try it and we were not disappointed. The half a local roast chicken was stunning , very generous portions and cooked to perfection, full of flavour. This place definitely has a real bistro feel to it, relaxed unpretentious surroundings where we felt welcomed with two young children . Best place to eat in Tavistock by far .

Helpful?
2 Thank Honestjohn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S W England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One tiny quibble”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went for an evening meal with our daughter and son in law. Great food, excellent service - the two for one cocktails were a great way to start, the tapas selection as a starter is a bit of a bargain, the pulled pork was just right, the desserts were superb. So why only 4 stars? Just that at this level of food and price I expect the chef to peel some potatoes, cut them into rectangular shapes, dry them, deep fry them (possibly twice - once at high temperature and once, briefly,at a very high temperature) and serve them as....chips! I don't expect him to open a bag of frozen chips - bland and cheap - and put them on the menu as "fat chips". Even my local pub serves real chips that taste of real potatoes. So....a great place to eat but ask whether your chips are real or frozen first.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank andyandangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first visit to Taylors, we picked this place mainly due to the good reviews on tripadvisor and we weren't diasppointed. The staff were all very friendly and the atmosphere was nice. They had quite a few big bookings so we had to wait a while to order our food but we actually prefer that because the evening then isn't rushed. The food was presented well and tasted delicious! Definately be coming back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tillykins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taylors also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Taylors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing