We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Pretty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boyton Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and Pretty!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a lovely relaxing stay at Boyton Farmhouse beginning of October. Great location for exploring Dartmoor and the lovely town of Tavistock - also a very friendly pub in Whitchurch not far away. Owners are helpful and there if you need them - (we forgot our camera & they kindly posted it without delay) - nice continental breakfast - cleanliness & quality of furnishings & decor is very good - would highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great accommodation. The two bedrooms and kitchenette make it perfect for families; really comfortable and well-appointed. Peaceful location but still very convenient for Tavistock. The children loved the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell B, Owner at Boyton Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
So glad you had a great family weekend - and thank you for being so clean & tidy - your rooms were spotless!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very quiet location in the middle of a farm...

We got an attic to our own with comprise the bedroom, a kitchenette & bathroom to our own. In the kitchen there lays before we arrive cheese & ham; honey & jam, etc. as well as fresh loafs of bread + Tea/Coffee, Microwave/Kettle... It is a help yourself service though...

The room is surprisingly quite warm, despite a cool day outside...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick112999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell B, Owner at Boyton Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.....glad you were warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is one of the best B&B we ever stayed at! A well choosen ambient design combined with spacious Rooms and practical Breakfast arrangement. We stayed for 2 Nights but if we had known before we would have booked a night longer to enjoy the calm environment at the edge of dartmoor for longer.

it's such a quiet place. We slept like in heaven. Very nice ambiance. Absolute top privacy because of the architecture of the building (Guests have their own entrance).

the only drawback (not really important): The WiFi Reception is not so good. (it worked with the ipad only in the kitchen). But that's totally normal for a building with this size and thick walls.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeocacherCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were only looking for a reasonable place to stay during five days of Dartmoor walking with our son (9), and hit the jackpot by finding this unbelievable place. This is not just your ordinary B&B or self-catering. It's a very spacious en-suite room with studio kitchen that offers modern facilities in a historical setting. There is a second bedroom available on request. The place is only let to one guest party at a time, so there are no other guests around. It's amazing how well the owners found the balance between the comforts of modern life and the atmosphere of an old building. The bathroom door alone must have been a major restoration project. Everywhere in the house you can see examples of careful, thoughtful decoration, never out of style. There is also an outside seating area that we did not even use because we were out walking all the time in this perfect weather. The breakfast exceeded everything called "continental" we had so far in variety, quality, and quantity. The owners were extremely friendly, helpful, and really made us feel at home, without ever being intrusive. It was a bit like staying at a friend's house, we never had this at a B&B before.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We've just returned from 2 nights at Boyton Farmhouse, very impressed. Stayed with two small children and there were plenty of toys and books to keep them busy - in such a beautiful location. Perfect for families looking for self catering type accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizloz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This B&B has the wow factor! we stayed with our 2 year old and 6 month old. There were toys and books to keep them entertained and animals to see. The hosts had even left children yogurts on top of amazing breakfast spread. It was great to have the studio kitchen. The room was large, well thought out, clean and welcoming. We were extremely impressed and would have paid a lot more!! If you are looking for a peaceful location with excellent hosts and 5 star accommodation book this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspired2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
2.2 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Priory B&B
The Priory B&B
#12 of 25 in Tavistock
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Old School Guesthouse
The Old School Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Horrabridge
84 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beera Farmhouse
Beera Farmhouse
#10 of 25 in Tavistock
65 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyton Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyton Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boyton Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Boyton Farm | Whitchurch, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Boyton Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyton Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing