We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is how B&Bs should be run”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockmount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockmount
Ranked #2 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is how B&Bs should be run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I was thinking about why Rockmount is so good. The answer I came up with is that this is how B&Bs should be run. It seems that have because resigned to average quality accommodation and service that it has become the norm. When we come across a business that does it well, it stands out.

However, this is not to detract from Rockmount. This is a top-quality establishment. The décor and furnishings are superb, the equipment is superb and it looks refined.

The room service breakfast is a tray of perfection: convenient for guests and, I imagine, proprietor alike. As vegetarians we were more than impressed to find different veggie sausages on each on our two mornings.

If I have one quibble, it’s that the sliding door to the bathroom was glass (albeit frosted) and did not fully close (due to its slidey nature). The former means that, however quiet one is at night, the bathroom light is likely to wake the other person. The latter: well, it’s just a bit odd.

But, really, this is not that big a deal. The room was excellent and I could not recommend Rockmount enough. We had an excellent couple of nights.

Tony: you have a gem on your hands.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie_T62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    12
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
43
165
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Just back from 3 nights in this lovely peaceful B&B. All modern inside, please look at the photos. Tony the owner cannot do enough for you. The meet and greet is first class. Anything not available he will try and provide for you (but I must say there was nothing we needed to ask for it was all there) We think he has found the perfect combination for the rooms with all the extra little touches that you would not expect to find in a B&B. We did a tour of all the rooms before other guests arrived and they were all of the same high standard. The bed was sooooo comfortable and I cannot express how quiet the house is even when all the rooms were full. Breakfast is served in the room at the exact time you request, perfect. Table and chairs in the room so no balancing a tray on your lap. All in all the perfect stay. Would highly recommend for anyone looking to stay in this area. We would stay here again without any hesitation. Just give Tony a call.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omeyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Was an excellent B&B with very clean rooms. The only error made was in the reservation I guess where we requested for a double bed but we got two singles. Anyway, the host took quick action and put the two beds together for us. The breakfast was nice with enough choice. Was room service as they did not have a common area for breakfast but that was okay for us. The rooms were very well maintained and done to modern standard. The rain shower was excellent and the beds as my friend would describe were like clouds to sleep on. There were plenty of good places to eat nearby, Robertsons, pasty house, a eat-in fish and chips shop and a couple of pubs. Value for money as well. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Spent two nights here, relying on the postings about this B&B on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! On arrival we parked with ease in the large carpark at the rear. Tony, who runs the B&B arrived at the same time (great timing) and greated us. He immediately showed us to our room on the first floor, which I understand was one of the larger rooms. It had a good view of the disused railway bridge above (now a cycle path, which I am assured gives excellent views, though as I hadn't brought a bicycle with me "you could always rent one", said Tony, I have to take him at his word) and the rooftops of Tavistock on the other side. Really nice bed, nice bedding, well equipped with one of those Magimix Nespresso machines (apparently they are challenging to some guests...) large flat screen TVs, nice bathroom, and really nice carpet (slippers provided at no extra charge - so keeping the carpet lovely for some time to come...). Moving on to the location, it is an extremely short walk in to Tavistock, which has a wide selection of restaurants to suit all tastes. Tony advises on this as well, and there is also a little booklet with advice, etc. We went to Ganges (see other review) and were satisfied with eating out. Would have been nice to try out some other places, but time didn't allow it. Breakfast is served in the room (remember to specify what time), which is a slight downside, as we would have preferred to eat in a breakfast rom, but clearly the rooms are all made up as guest bedrooms. But the breakfast was delicious, the poached eggs a masterpiece (well done Tony, again) so overall this is the B&B against which to challenge the others! Full marks Tony!!

Room Tip: Just go and stay at the Rockmount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just spent a couple of nights here. Fantastic. Lovely modern rooms with all latest technology, Biggest bed I've ever slept in and oh so comfortable. Spotlessly clean and Tony is an excellent host, he even came out to meet us on arrival with an umbrella and carried our luggage in. Breakfast is served in your room and it was lovely hot and fresh. Can't praise it enough. Short walk to Tavistock ( 2 mins) Great restaurant 360 feet away. Taylors. don't miss it. You wont get better than this even if you went 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I cannot recommend The Rockmount enough, and furthermore can safely say this is not your average B&B. The warm and friendly greeting was like meeting up with an old friend not seen for years. The room was spotlessly clean and very luxuriously decorated, fresh linen (very well pressed) and extremly comfortable beds made this stay my best yet in a bed and breakfast. Breakfast served in the room was lovely and the Nespresso machine was also very much appreciated. I only wish I could have stayed for more than one night. Well done, I hope your next project is as perfect as this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Greeted warmly by Tony the owner, very helpful and recommended places to eat locally, we traveled with another couple for a two night break, both rooms were beautiful, very well equipped with coffee machine and tea, hot choc etc, lovely shower, room and bathroom extremely clean, very comfortable bed, Tony brought a lovely fresh breakfast at the time we asked to our room and we ate in our room which was very restful and the food was excellent, would definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone, parking no problem and a very short stroll into Tavistock

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newport21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount

Property: Rockmount
Address: Rockmount Drake Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockmount 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Tavistock. Pocket sprung mattresses and high quality linens in tastefully decorated en-suite rooms overlooking the town. Great, locally sourced breakfast meats and an extensive breakfast menu. Very well located for country walks or business trips. Tavistock also has many great restaurants to choose from. Rockmount offers accommodation just yards from the historic town centre. All of our bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms fitted with great showers and some with the addition of a bath. We have king-size beds as a minimum, with AppleTv, iPads, digital TV, WiFi, Nespresso machines and a desk in each of our rooms, we're sure you'll find it a great place to stay for work or pleasure. We also have free off road parking and porter service. Please note that some of our rooms are small but perfectly formed and great for a short stay. Our Apartment and Super king are much more generous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rockmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockmount Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing