We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockmount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockmount
Ranked #2 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We received a warm welcome from Tony who showed us to our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms on the ground floor. No lugging the cases up narrow stairways, great!
The rooms are very modern and more like a boutique hotel rather than a traditional B&B.
The breakfast provided a wide selection, was well presented and delivered on time to our rooms.
The B&B location is perfect, just a short walk to the town centre and Pannier Market.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    12
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
43
165
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding in December.Parents had a ground floor room,ourselves had up stairs double as did our son who has learning difficulties. The owner was very helpful and friendly. The rooms was immaculate couldn't wish for more.The whole family had a wonderful stay and as they say we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthonyjameswalker, Owner at Rockmount, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Firstly, I'd like to thank you for your review. It makes a huge difference to me when people can see the level of commitment I put into making Rockmount an enjoyable place to stay. Secondly, (I hope you don't mind) I'd like to use this opportunity to urge customers to book directly on my website Rockmount-Tavistock.com. This will ensure greater satisfaction when it comes to the scoring on value as it removes the addition of commissions payable. Many thanks, Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My boyfriend and I are just finishing our time here (tonight is our last night) This b&b is immaculate and very high spec, obviously spent lots of time money and care on the building, very warm welcome, great breakfast, and a lovely historic setting. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I are very weary of B & Bs, as we feel we are interrupting the owners personal home.
How wrong can you be. The host Trevor has got this exactly right, a B & B based on a hotel stay.
Who could believe your breakfast would be delivered to your bedroom at the exact time as requested, and eat in your bedroom, without thinking you are in someone's dining room and making small talk.This idea should be taken further as a franchise.
Trevor very well done, a perfect host, impeccable house keeping, superb rooms, excellent breakfast, ideally placed in the middle of a fantastic town.
In short you must stay here ! ! ! ! We stayed 3 nights and what an outstanding experience.
Alan and Lynda Wright

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We celebrated 15 years of marriage and decided to spend some quality time together away and that's what we had at the Rockmount B&B - quality! Friendly welcome by Tony the owner who also made a super breakfast. The bed was huge and so comfy with luxurious bedding almost didn't want to get up but was easily tempted into the stunning bathroom. Tea and coffee facilities in room along with hair dryer, iron and ironing board if needed. Location 2 minutes walk to the town centre where there are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. There's an indoor market well worth a visit open Tuesday to Saturday. The viaduct makes a lovely walk and views over the town. Would definitely recommend staying here as it is also a great base to visit surrounding areas including the Moors, Lydford Gorge, Dartmoor Prison Museum and many more.

Room Tip: Room 2 has bedroom, bathroom and a separate dressing room with a view of the viaduct. Its on 1st flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanibarrett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We wanted a 'dog friendly' hotel and stumbled upon The Rockmount through internet searches and booked the self contained 'Garden Room' annexe. We could not have found anywhere better and at £110/night represents good value for money! The annexe suite was very well appointed, comfortable and well thought out - we loved the decor! It was a joy to sit outside on the small private terrace with a drink at the end of a long day's drive from Lincolnshire and listen to the swallows and swifts flying overhead and also an unexpected treat - the Tuesday evening bell ringing practice taking place in the parish church. Our GSD dog Sheba was made very welcome by Tony the proprietor and if ever we travel to this area again, we will definitely try and book this room for our stay. Overall, I would say this is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in and we have no problem in recommending a stay at The Rockmount, you are guaranteed to enjoy it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your dog(s), the garden annexe is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

There was absolutely nothing to Fault about this place.......the only minor problem for me was that I was actually visiting Plymouth. However, it was so good that when I visit Plymouth again I will not be looking for anywhere closer.

Unfortunately I didnt have breakfast having booked through an online site. I think I actually regret this as I am sure it would have been wonderful.

The host is very helpful, very thoughtful, always there but discreet and courteous. A very nice chep indeed.

The rooms are very nicely decorated and furnished and on the whole no expense has been spared on fittings with a special mention for the bathrooms.

The location is brilliantly convenient and you can park literally within feet of your door.

Forgot to mention the bed was very nicely adorned and very comfortable.

The room cleanliness was superb and of a very high standard. Whilst we were out some poor sole even hung up all of our clothes......wew dint really expect that level of service but hey, what a lovely surprise.

Keep up the good work......its working.

Kindest Regards

Gavin.

Room Tip: Take any one at the Rockmount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavmoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount

Property: Rockmount
Address: Rockmount Drake Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockmount 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Tavistock. Pocket sprung mattresses and high quality linens in tastefully decorated en-suite rooms overlooking the town. Great, locally sourced breakfast meats and an extensive breakfast menu. Very well located for country walks or business trips. Tavistock also has many great restaurants to choose from. Rockmount offers accommodation just yards from the historic town centre. All of our bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms fitted with great showers and some with the addition of a bath. We have king-size beds as a minimum, with AppleTv, iPads, digital TV, WiFi, Nespresso machines and a desk in each of our rooms, we're sure you'll find it a great place to stay for work or pleasure. We also have free off road parking and porter service. Please note that some of our rooms are small but perfectly formed and great for a short stay. Our Apartment and Super king are much more generous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rockmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockmount Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing