We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, great owner.”
Review of Rockmount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockmount
Ranked #3 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, great owner.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was an overnight stay with my wife and I find that I am going to echo pretty much things that everyone else has said about this B&B. The room was cleverly designed with everything that you need for your stay including hanging space, hairdryer, small table and 2 chairs, TV, Nespresso machine, kettle, tall mirror and plenty of electric sockets. The bathroom, though small, was equally well designed. One item that stood out was just how clean the room was. Immaculate. Our room had a double aspect that made it bright and airy. The B&B is a short walk to the shops and there is onsite parking. I rarely want to stay at places that I have been to before but the Rockmount might just change my mind about that and I would look forward to staying there again. The owner is a delight too! There was only one downside for us and that was that the mattress was too soft for us. We both love a hard mattress but that is purely a personal preference. It certainly won't stop me wanting to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merlin_de_Manaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    12
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
45
168
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for a wedding in April this year. The rooms were exceptionally furnished with all mod cons. Breakfast was served to your room at a time you could choose before 9. We had an issue with arriving a bit later than planned, and Tony was most acommodating to this request given that we were travelling for quite a while to get there! He made the experience very enjoyable and was very friendly!

I would not hesitate to stay here again if I visited Tavistock.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delfieldo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

As I travel alot over the south with my work I stay in many hotels but I have never stayed in one as beatiful or as well done as this b&b. The service was excellent and the rooms were out of this world. They have definatly spent alot of time to make it as modern as possible and i can think of query or complain. The only thing I could not experience was breakfast as I had to leave so early. I will definatly be staying again but this time for pleasure and breakfast! Thank you so much for such a pleasent stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned after enjoying a weekend stay at this B&B. The location was excellent, only a stone's throw to the town centre making it an ideal base to explore. The room itself was impeccable, and the attention to detail was evident throughout the building which made this stay stand out from so many others I have encountered.
Of special mention has to be the breakfast which was delivered to the room each morning, superbly cooked and presented; the impressive choice available was more than adequate to please any palette and a perfect start to the day.
The host, Tony made us all welcome right from the start and even made an extra effort to accommodate a well behaved Jack Russell!
A genuine first class stay, this B&B can't be recommended highly enough..:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cliff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Tony is the the perfect HOST ! We arrived at approx 18.00 as per the check in times, and was greeted by Tony with a smile and an umbrella ( it was bucketing down with rain ) He helped with our coats and luggage so that we did not get too wet..
We have brought with us a bottle of wine of course, Tony noticed this, and without asking delivered two sparkling glasses. ( Better than mugs! )
Our room was 1st class and could not find fault, even our Breakfast was freshly prepared and hot.
Due to the bad weather we decided to cut our break short although we had booked for another day, but guess what? Tony did not charge us for our final booked day. WHAT A STAR.
Yes Tony is the perfect HOST !
16/02/2014

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I haven been lucky enough to stay at Rockmount a few days over the past weeks due to work commitments. The first night I was arriving late due to a long drive from London and was greeted with a smile and a friendly welcome. Although it was late when I arrived I was asked what I would like for breakfast and shown to my room with a smile

My had office booked the Rockmount for me, I'm used to staying in premier Inn's so I was very pleasantly surprised on the quality of the rooms... they look as good if not better as the photos. The beds were top quality and very comfy meaning I had a great nights sleep.

To top the stay off I was greeted with breakfast on a tray every morning. This morning I had to leave by 7.15 today and breakfast is normally served at 7.30 onwards. This wasn't a problem for Rockmount they got up earlier just to do my breakfast.

I'm back in the area soon and will be staying there again.

Thanks :)

Jamie

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Would recommend the Rockmount to anyone wishing for a lovely room and warm welcome from Tony. He was always cheerful and smiling and genuinely concerned that you had everything you need. Breakfasts were lovely and freshly prepared a great start to our day! The toiletries provided were good quality and the tea and coffee topped up regularly. Can't fault anything about our stay and having such a lovely friendly host made our stay memorable. Would definitely stay here again thank you Tony.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
163 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount

Property: Rockmount
Address: Rockmount Drake Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockmount 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Tavistock. Pocket sprung mattresses and high quality linens in tastefully decorated en-suite rooms overlooking the town. Great, locally sourced breakfast meats and an extensive breakfast menu. Very well located for country walks or business trips. Tavistock also has many great restaurants to choose from. Rockmount offers accommodation just yards from the historic town centre. All of our bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms fitted with great showers and some with the addition of a bath. We have king-size beds as a minimum, with AppleTv, iPads, digital TV, WiFi, Nespresso machines and a desk in each of our rooms, we're sure you'll find it a great place to stay for work or pleasure. We also have free off road parking and porter service. Please note that some of our rooms are small but perfectly formed and great for a short stay. Our Apartment and Super king are much more generous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rockmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockmount Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing