We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great room, good breakfasts, nothing too much trouble. Andy is a great host with good dinner and golf recommendations . Perfect spot for a relaxing walk into town, no need to take the car. Could not fault the week stay we had.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

A lovely stay in a beautiful room, we had a wonderful few days with Andy and Jayne who made us so very welcome. The room was delightful and breakfast was all we could wish for, nothing was too much trouble. Their advice on good places to eat and where to visit really helped make our weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortisheadPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

1st the good bits. Lovely lounge/breakfast room, good breakfast, large comfortable bed, effective shower and pretty garden. BUT service leaves a bit to be desired and DON'T book room 3 ironically named the Jubilee SUITE! (this was the only one we were offered). Website says "all rooms are spacious" but room 3 is pokey with less than @1m around the bed and tiny bathroom with sliding door, a sink literally the size of 2 bricks and no shelf or loo roll holder - had to put toothbrushes on top of loo. Nowhere to put anything (pretty wardrobe but no shelves). You have to climb over your bags to get to bed - thank goodness we didn't have big cases! We asked to change rooms but this didn't happen even though other rooms were free on 2nd night. Our room wasn't cleaned. Later found a label with "do not disturb" on one side and "please make up room" on other. NEVER come across this anywhere before. Surely cleaning should be done UNLESS specifically declined? Consequently we had dirty cups and no milk for in-room drinks.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletreetavistock, Owner at Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at Apple Tree B&B. I am very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from all the other reviews on here there is one thing that we excel at & that is the service we provide to each & everyone that stays with us. I do feel that your review is a little personal due to the fact that I couldn't move you after your first night with us. I’m also a little aggrieved that you fail to mention in your review that I did inform you of the reasons why we couldn’t do this & apologised. It was never a matter of not caring which your review suggests.

You also mention for potential guests in the future to NOT stay in our Jubilee Room. I appreciate that the Room was a little small for your 2 night stay with us. However we have many repeat customers that request this room when staying. And you only need to look no further than 3 reviews above yours to see a total contrast of opinion. Again your review with us, I feel is purely down to the fact that we we’re unable to move you.

Not only can you clearly see in the images on our website that we are under no elusion trying to pull the wool over guests eyes regarding the size of the room. Not only are there images, but it also states on the room’s description that it is our smallest room & if anyone is looking at staying longer than 2 nights, we strongly suggest choosing another room. You can see there are plenty of pictures showing the layout of the room. So with all of this I’m sure you would of seen what you were booking?

You also mention there was nowhere to place your toothbrush’s in the en-suite? Again this seems a little bizarre as we have a corner shelf & a vanity unit, which would leave plenty of room for a couple of toothbrushes & your toiletries?

We are a small family run business with no additional staff & a new edition to the family. And we try our upmost to give all of our guests a wonderful experience when staying with us. We also treat every single guest that stays with us equally, giving them the time & attention they deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Andy was very welcoming and quickly gave us all the information we needed, including making recommendations for dinner. This is a very hard thing to achieve as it is easy as a host to be over welcoming or not appear interested, but, Andy struck a perfect balance. The rooms were very well decorated and all the appliances were modern and in good order. Breakfast was of a good quality with proper coffee and nicely cooked bacon. I tried to find a reason, being the picky sod I am, to not give them a 5, but couldn't come up with one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very friendly reception. Warm, welcoming and helpful. Lovely room and shower. Hard to fault! Comfort much appreciated as we were on a cycling tour. Excellent breakfast.

Comfortable bed, though we might not have noticed anyway as we were so tired!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferret55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

With children aged 3 and 3 months we were somewhat trepidatious of staying in a B&B but our stay could not have been more comfortable, thanks to the warmth and attentiveness of the owners Andy & Jayne.

4 suites are available, all beautifully decorated, and we stayed in the Gala Suite at the top of the house - a lovely light room, with a massive Super King bed and views over the park. A camp bed had been erected by the window for our 3 year old, and she loved the adventure of sleeping in a big bed!

Breakfast was well made on all 3 mornings, especially the poached eggs. Jayne even went as far as to entertain our 3 month old with a Jungle Gym whilst we ate, which was much appreciated.

It is superbly located for central Tavistock, and is only a few steps away from the Leisure Centre, tennis courts and playground in The Meadows park.

I couldn't recommend it highly enough, the facilities are very comfortable and the owners strike the perfect balance between being attentive but not too intrusive. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueStoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights over the Easter weekend and had a brilliant time - it is one of the best B&B's we've stayed in. The rooms are beautifully decorated, kept to a very high standard, very clean and the beds are lovely and comfy. Andy, Jayne and their daughter Darcey are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome - thank you for a lovely weekend. I'm sure it won't be too long until we stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
358 reviews
0 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockmount
Rockmount
#3 of 25 in Tavistock
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast

Address: 44 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: £70 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast is a grade II Victorian house situated in the historic market town of Tavistock, Devon.Tavistock is a thriving town, busy with markets and small unique shops selling local produce, arts, crafts and curios, rich in history and heritage, set against the wild backdrop of Dartmoor national park. It sits within easy reach of Devon's two major cities, Plymouth and Exeter, and Cornwall's beautiful coast and countryside.The house has a contemporary boutique feel with 4 very stylish bedrooms, a relaxing dining room, blissfully comfortable beds; fine linen and fabulous en-suites, relaxation is easy. All rooms are equipped with the technology today's traveller expects; broadband connection (Wi-Fi), flat LCD TV's, Digital TV and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing