We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantasic Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our second visit to the Apple Tree. A warm welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits. Once again Andy did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We would highly recommend the Apple Tree to anyone visiting the area. Everything is to a high standard, especially the breakfast! Can't fault it and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
181
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for one night in Room 3, which faces over the back of the property, probably the best way to face, it's facing away from the road which is a good few yards away anyway. Room was very comfy, very well decorated though a bit cosy. Great shower and bathroom. Lovely welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits.Lovely breakfast in a really pretty sitting room come breakfast room with really good quality local produce. Highly recommended.
Andy, the host, recommended The Cornish Arms for food. It seemed a bit pricey for a pub but the quality was excellent and the food is actually very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmythe0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great room, good breakfasts, nothing too much trouble. Andy is a great host with good dinner and golf recommendations . Perfect spot for a relaxing walk into town, no need to take the car. Could not fault the week stay we had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A lovely stay in a beautiful room, we had a wonderful few days with Andy and Jayne who made us so very welcome. The room was delightful and breakfast was all we could wish for, nothing was too much trouble. Their advice on good places to eat and where to visit really helped make our weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortisheadPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

1st the good bits. Lovely lounge/breakfast room, good breakfast, large comfortable bed, effective shower and pretty garden. BUT service leaves a bit to be desired and DON'T book room 3 ironically named the Jubilee SUITE! (this was the only one we were offered). Website says "all rooms are spacious" but room 3 is pokey with less than @1m around the bed and tiny bathroom with sliding door, a sink literally the size of 2 bricks and no shelf or loo roll holder - had to put toothbrushes on top of loo. Nowhere to put anything (pretty wardrobe but no shelves). You have to climb over your bags to get to bed - thank goodness we didn't have big cases! We asked to change rooms but this didn't happen even though other rooms were free on 2nd night. Our room wasn't cleaned. Later found a label with "do not disturb" on one side and "please make up room" on other. NEVER come across this anywhere before. Surely cleaning should be done UNLESS specifically declined? Consequently we had dirty cups and no milk for in-room drinks.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletreetavistock, Owner at Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at Apple Tree B&B. I am very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from all the other reviews on here there is one thing that we excel at & that is the service we provide to each & everyone that stays with us. I do feel that your review is a little personal due to the fact that I couldn't move you after your first night with us. I’m also a little aggrieved that you fail to mention in your review that I did inform you of the reasons why we couldn’t do this & apologised. It was never a matter of not caring which your review suggests.

You also mention for potential guests in the future to NOT stay in our Jubilee Room. I appreciate that the Room was a little small for your 2 night stay with us. However we have many repeat customers that request this room when staying. And you only need to look no further than 3 reviews above yours to see a total contrast of opinion. Again your review with us, I feel is purely down to the fact that we we’re unable to move you.

Not only can you clearly see in the images on our website that we are under no elusion trying to pull the wool over guests eyes regarding the size of the room. Not only are there images, but it also states on the room’s description that it is our smallest room & if anyone is looking at staying longer than 2 nights, we strongly suggest choosing another room. You can see there are plenty of pictures showing the layout of the room. So with all of this I’m sure you would of seen what you were booking?

You also mention there was nowhere to place your toothbrush’s in the en-suite? Again this seems a little bizarre as we have a corner shelf & a vanity unit, which would leave plenty of room for a couple of toothbrushes & your toiletries?

We are a small family run business with no additional staff & a new edition to the family. And we try our upmost to give all of our guests a wonderful experience when staying with us. We also treat every single guest that stays with us equally, giving them the time & attention they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Andy was very welcoming and quickly gave us all the information we needed, including making recommendations for dinner. This is a very hard thing to achieve as it is easy as a host to be over welcoming or not appear interested, but, Andy struck a perfect balance. The rooms were very well decorated and all the appliances were modern and in good order. Breakfast was of a good quality with proper coffee and nicely cooked bacon. I tried to find a reason, being the picky sod I am, to not give them a 5, but couldn't come up with one.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very friendly reception. Warm, welcoming and helpful. Lovely room and shower. Hard to fault! Comfort much appreciated as we were on a cycling tour. Excellent breakfast.

Comfortable bed, though we might not have noticed anyway as we were so tired!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferret55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.0 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockmount
Rockmount
#2 of 25 in Tavistock
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast

Property: Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Address: 44 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast is a grade II Victorian house situated in the historic market town of Tavistock, Devon.Tavistock is a thriving town, busy with markets and small unique shops selling local produce, arts, crafts and curios, rich in history and heritage, set against the wild backdrop of Dartmoor national park. It sits within easy reach of Devon's two major cities, Plymouth and Exeter, and Cornwall's beautiful coast and countryside.The house has a contemporary boutique feel with 4 very stylish bedrooms, a relaxing dining room, blissfully comfortable beds; fine linen and fabulous en-suites, relaxation is easy. All rooms are equipped with the technology today's traveller expects; broadband connection (Wi-Fi), flat LCD TV's, Digital TV and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing