We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely nosh!!”

The Original Pasty House
Ranked #17 of 70 Restaurants in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Original Pasty House is a cafe & takeaway restaurant in Tavistock Devon, offering friendly eat in table service and fast takeaway. We serve a great selection of traditional West Country pasties, freshly made baguettes & sandwiches, toasted wraps & paninis, homemade cakes and oven baked jacket potatoes as well as fair-trade barista coffee, fruit smoothies and ice cream milkshakes.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my family. A few issues with the menus and food. But overall was lovely. Recommend the carrot cake! Yum!

Thank rachelalafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rachel

The carrot cake is popular choice - I am so pleased to read you enjoyed it and had a pleasant experience overall.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts, feedback is essential to us and helps us improve the business.

We hope to see you back in the shop again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Right on the corner, this is a larger establishment than it first looks, because it goes a long way back. A door at the side allows a double buggie to get in (we saw someone ask). However, we felt it was a bit claustrophobic towards the rear, and managed to get a table at the front. They serve an interesting assortment of pastie fillings, and have a very good menu of non-pasties too. Prices are reasonable, service is quick and the food is good.

Thank DartfordLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lynn,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback.

We do like to introduce new, exciting fillings along with keeping the traditional pasties for our customers to have choice. Excellent service and a good price point is also key for us, so I am delighted to read your comments about this.


We hope to see you in the shop again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Visited today while passing through Tavistock.. we ordered drinks which arrived quickly.. Then after some discussion we ordered food.. No problems, the food arrived quickly and was hot and tasty.. well worth the visit..

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Paul,

I am so pleased to read your comments about your experience with us a few days ago.

We strive to offer a quick service without compromising taste - so I am delighted to read your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

What a buzzing, friendly, gem of a place! Milkshakes were amazing, breakfast wraps wonderful and even a simple sandwich was fab. The staff were plentiful and totally accommodating and there was a great atmosphere. Totally recommend a visit.

Thank Slipfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you - what amazing comments to read!

I am delighted you enjoyed everything you mentioned. We really want to create a welcoming atmosphere as well so I am very pleased to hear about your experience.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Our breakfast of scrambled egg on toast, Danish pastry and a doughnut, went down a treat. The food was inexpensive and the service was friendly. Shame it wasn't lunchtime as the pasties looked great!

Thank FR02JDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

What great comments to read!

Our Breakfast menu is something we have focused on recently and I am so pleased to see you enjoyed it.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you in again soon over lunchtime for a pasty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Pasty House also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Original Pasty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing