We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little find!”

Tavistock Bunkhouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tavistock Bunkhouse
Farnham Royal, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing little find!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Tucked just off the main road of Tavistock, you'll find the pub "the union". The owner is such a character, and you'll warm to him straight away. He'll make your stay worth while. The accommodation is tucked out the back of the pub. It's spotless, with double bunk pods and a curtain for privacy. The beds are so comfy too, you'll sleep like a log especially after a few strong ciders. The shower room/ bathroom is also spotless and well maintained.
I have travelled extensively around the world and can honestly say this is one of the best hostels/ bunkhouses I have stayed in.
I'd recommend this place to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
1
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed at the Tavistock Bunkhouse at the end of day 2 of our Devon Coast to Coast cycle trip. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. Cycle storage is secure and dry, and there is a hose so you can clean your bikes off if you like. The bunkhouse itself was really nice - clean, dry and warm on what was a wet and not so warm August Bank Holiday weekend! Bedding and towel were provided so no need to carry with you. Beds were clean and comfy - bunk beds in dorms that were divided into small sections using curtains - nice idea. The showers were nice and clean - we were each provided with a token giving 10 minutes electricity for the shower - electric showers meant the water was nice and warm. Tea and coffee making factilities were provided which was handy. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but popped over the road to the shop pick up something to eat.

The only negative was that the smoking area of the Union Inn was out the front of the bunkhouse - so it was a little noisy - until closing time, after which it was quiet.

Wouldn't hesitate staying here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Very friendly an comedic owner. Comfy beds, great showers, big breakfast, and Possibly most important for those looking for somewhere to stay on a cycling trip, a very safe and dry place to keep your bike, unlike the sheds they so often offer at Youth Hostels.
Good eateries nearby too!

Room Tip: Its a bunkhouse....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

3 of us stayed here at the end of May 2012 at the end of the first day of a coast-to-coast cycle trip. The bunkhouse is fairly new and the interior is clean, comfortable and well organised. It's well situated in the centre of Tavistock but was still reasonably quite at night. The bunkhouse is attached to the Union Inn, a friendly pub run by a genial landlord who also cooked our breakfast in the morning! There are no catering facilities, although free tea & coffee is provided. Showers & toilets were excellent and very clean. No real noise from pub-goers, although it was a Monday night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We chose Tavistock bunkhouse as our accommodation for the second night of a coast to coast cycle trip with a group of 15 friends. We arrived tired after a full day on the bikes and received a really warm welcome - the bunkhouse is much more than a traditional hostel dorm with dorms divided into sort of "cabins" with bunk beds in each. Showers were lovely and hot and tea and coffee were provided. There is also a drying room for wet gear and a secure cycle area. The Union Inn (to which the bunkhouse is attached) provided a great evenings entertainment too. If you were travelling with young kids you might be disturbed by the noise from the pub-goers if in the bunks at the front of the dorms but for our group this was perfect. A hearty fry-up put us back onto the road in good spirits the next morning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I travelled with a few friends to a couple of towns in the region and so stayed at a few different places. Tavistock Bunkhouse was by far the best. Its close to the city centre and easy to find. The bunkhouse is adjacent to a family run pub and the pub owner is also the owner of the bunkhouse. The facilities are very good. Comfortable bunk beds with up to 8 people being able to share 1 room. The bathroom is clean and the showers are good. The breakfast is also pretty good. Make sure you spend some time at the pub. It's cosy and the owner is friendly. All in all, definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We spent a night in the bunkhouse after a very very wet cycle ride from Plymouth. Very family friendly, lovely and warm, really clean, comfortable beds, hot showers and really friendly. Thanks Tavistock bunk house - only one thing - it would have been good to have had a small communal area ... but not complaining ...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
326 reviews
2.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
653 reviews
2.8 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Bunkhouse

Property: Tavistock Bunkhouse
Address: King Street, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tavistock Bunkhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Tavistock Bunkhouse is right in the centre of Tavistock which nestles in to the Dartmoor Hills close to the Tamar Valley, an area of outstanding natural beauty. The accommodation is located next to the hugely popular Devon Coast to Coast Cycle Route which stretches for more than 100 miles and includes the Tarka Trail, the Granite Way, and the Plym Valley Trail. It’s also within easy reach of the Gawton DH and Tavi Woodlands downhill mountain bike trails.The self-contained hostel accommodation will include three separate bunk rooms, sleeping up to 20 people, a drying room, toilet and shower facilities, a secure cycle storage area and a ‘wash down’ area for cleaning muddy bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Tavistock Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Bunkhouse Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing