We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint but excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint but excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

For an overnight stay this hotel could not be faulted. Easy to find, large car park with safe and secure parking.
The room was clean and comfortable. good sized TV excellent WIFI comfortable bed. The view was over a flat roof but no noise.
The evening meal and breakfast were quickly served, very good quality.
Reception staff were both efficient and friendly.
Shame all the clocks were not going.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clockman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    172
    54
    27
    10
See reviews for
91
197
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, Ringwood
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A large group of us were booked in to the Bedford Hotel for a Classic Car Tour over three days. We had adequate parking for some 35 cars in the hotel car park. A three course dinner was arranged for four evenings, for between 70 and 80 people. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and obliging. We had a choice of 3 starters, main course and deserts each evening. The food was pleasantly presented and nicely cooked. In fact the lamb was the best I have eaten in a long time. I shared a large twin room with my navigator which was clean and well furnished. We had a large shower; however the water pressure was a little pathetic. As one comes to expect in an hotel, the bar prices were on the expensive side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We weren't staying stay at the hotel but went in during the afternoon of our last day in the town and booked for dinner. We wished we had done so sooner on our three night stay! The hotel literally echoes of the marvellous atmosphere of olde Devon and is a veritable art gallery with paintings, watercolours, magnificent grandiose portraits, and excellent black and white photographs of life in Tavistock and on Dartmoor. The reception area, the bar, every wall, passages, corridors, staircases, and every nook and cranny that we looked into had paintings and pictures interesting and fascinating simply to pause and gaze at.
We didn't have a starter, but elected instead for the main course beef casserole - excellent and melted in the mouth - and a dessert. A most enjoyable meal and certainly the BEST we had in Tavistock during our short stay!. I must also mention the excellent reception and waiting staff.
We will certainly visit the town again soon for the Goose Fair and the Christmas Fair and this time we'll book into the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erskine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Located in the centre of Tavistock with ample private parking. An imposing building and a warm reception from the staff. The common areas may need a little updating but there is a very comfortable feel about the place. The bar/restaurant areas are well placed with courteous and prompt service from the staff. Bar meals, snacks or restaurant menu prove to have a wide choice at reasonable prices. Lovely to sit by the fires on a cold day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have recently stayed at The Bedford for four nights, half board. This is a lovely old hotel with pleasant happy staff. Our large group of friends where all accommodated here in the hotel and well looked after. The service and quality of very good prepared food was amazing, for such a large number of people. One draw back is that it does not have a lift. We were told it will be installed, January, next year.

Room Tip: Use the front door for checking in. Hotel car park is at the back. There is access to the hotel from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Bedford for a wedding on the 31st August in the church opposite. The room was clean and comfortable,we didnt have a front facing room as we overlooked the car park. Everything seemed to work except the shower which just ran very slowly, with low pressure.We didnt eat in the restaurant as we were at a wedding reception.The breakfast was excellent. Quality sausages, and good quality bacon.We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

A nice hotel. Nice and clean and the rooms where good, I booked a single but got a double. The menu was a bit pricey so we ate elsewhere but I espect it was still good value. Great breakfast (good sausage!). Very good staff. Plenty of room in the car park. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
14.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing