We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We booked into the Bedford Hotel for a Downtown Abbey night and were not disappointed we had. Everything from my initial enquiry right through to checking out was handled professionally, helpfully and most importantly with a friendly manner. The staff in every department could not do enough to help and were all immaculately turned out and very warm and welcoming - they really could not do enough for us. The Downtown Abbey night was one of the best things we have ever been to and if this is the high level of entertainment the hotel puts on we will be going to another event very soon. The dinner with the event was superbly presented and well cooked and the waiting staff were very efficient and did their jobs exceptionally well. Our room was so spacious with two good chairs to sit in alongside a good size table and desk which was very handy and there was a good range of lighting in the room. The toiletries in the bathroom were a very good make and plentiful. At breakfast again the staff were excellent and there was a very good choice of both not and cold food. The hotel itself is stunning and creates a real wow factor as you approach and is full of character. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetta321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Zetta
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very happy you enjoyed the Doantown Abbey experience, it was a very popular event and we have had lots of guests asking when our next event will be taking place. The house keeping team and waiting staff were very pleased with your review as both teams work very hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay and reviews like yours definitely prove that our hard work has paid off. I hope we will welcome you back to the hotel soon. Keep checking your email special offers, you never know what delights you might find
Kindest regards Simon Rowe – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    170
    54
    27
    10
See reviews for
91
196
33
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

As we live fairly locally to the Bedford we have passed it on several occasions, my husband booked one night for us as an anniversary surprise for me. The hotel looks very impressive from the outside and is ideally situated for the town itself.
Our room was a good size (room 30) and looked to have been recently decorated with new-looking carpet and furnishings, it's just a shame that they didn't paint the wardrobe doors while they were doing it, the paint was dull and chipped which let the appearance down somewhat. It was slightly alarming when I switched the lights on and they all flashed and went out, a trip to reception sorted the problem within 5 minutes though so I guess that it must be a regular occurrence (they simply reset the trip switch). We had free wifi with username and password but our room was 'not within range', we weren't desperate to use it anyway.
Even though the room was a good size and comfortable we didn't feel that it was worth the price.
We didn't have dinner as we were going to Gorton's restaurant, just along the road, but breakfast was excellent with local produce.
The staff throughout the whole hotel were friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front over-looking the road and church but wasn't noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bere Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Bedford Hotel in Tavistock, Devon, is a comfortable welcoming hotel in the centre of town. Lunch here is always enjoyable, particularly the paninis, which are the best for miles around. They stopped doing them recently but there was such an uproar that they were reinstated - well done, Bedford!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bereferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

For pleasure on the eye it is the stand out hotel in the area. Unfortunately that is it's only stand out quality. The rooms are overpriced for what you recieve and rather than feel comforting and inviting they felt emoty, sparse and cold. The four poster bed we had in ours was a nice touch but so much more can be done to enhance people's stays. It does need a bit of a spruce up in the rooms and in the halls but it was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. But in terms of value for money local B&B's offer the same great service for half the price.

The hotel has character, a great location and friendly staff but I feel it has not reached it's full potential in terms of value, room usage and ambience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very fine hotel with many original features. The staff were very attentive & the food delicious especially the grilled kippers for breakfast. Having a good sized car park was an advantage as well as the location central to all ammenities as it was rainy for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

For an overnight stay this hotel could not be faulted. Easy to find, large car park with safe and secure parking.
The room was clean and comfortable. good sized TV excellent WIFI comfortable bed. The view was over a flat roof but no noise.
The evening meal and breakfast were quickly served, very good quality.
Reception staff were both efficient and friendly.
Shame all the clocks were not going.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clockman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, Ringwood
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A large group of us were booked in to the Bedford Hotel for a Classic Car Tour over three days. We had adequate parking for some 35 cars in the hotel car park. A three course dinner was arranged for four evenings, for between 70 and 80 people. The service was excellent and the staff friendly and obliging. We had a choice of 3 starters, main course and deserts each evening. The food was pleasantly presented and nicely cooked. In fact the lamb was the best I have eaten in a long time. I shared a large twin room with my navigator which was clean and well furnished. We had a large shower; however the water pressure was a little pathetic. As one comes to expect in an hotel, the bar prices were on the expensive side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
14.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing