We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding 31st Dec 2013”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding 31st Dec 2013”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding on new years eve and the staff were polite and attentive even though it was a long day and night the service they provided from start to finish was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank manuhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the wedding and hotel. We are very pleased you chose to stay with us on such a special occasion; and thrilled that you enjoyed yourself. Congratulations to the happy couple!

Regards
Josie Bennett
The Events & Wedding Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    177
    54
    29
    10
See reviews for
94
203
34
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A special celebration evening meal with the family and not quite the quality we have had in the past. The food was ordinary to say the least and a dramatic variability in portion size. The vegetarian ravioli was more like a starter than a main course. The service was cursory. To ask for the bill I had to go to the office in the entrance hall.

Won't be rushing back unfortunately.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartmoorChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Bedford Hotel. We take the feedback we receive very seriously and thus we are saddened that you were disappointed by the portion sizes of your meals and also that your service was not up to our normal high standards.
We shall work with the Executive Chef to make sure this has been discussed so that this does not happen again. If you wish to write to me personally i would welcome any further comments you wish to make. I hope that on your next visit our new menu will be up to our normal flavoursome standards with portion sizes to suit all. Thank you again and i look forward to welcoming you back soon. Simon Rowe - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We visited for lunch today and ordered the haddock chowder from the light lunches menu. When it arrived, we were presented with 2 spoons of chowder with 1 small lump of fish and 1 egg yolk - for which we had been charged £7.25 each. There is no way this could be called either chowder, or indeed lunch. So we sent it back, received a refund and went across the street where we happily ordered a filling lunch. Avoid!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Bedford Hotel Dukes Bar. We take the feedback we receive very seriously and thus we are saddened that you were disappointed by the portion sizes of your meals. We shall work with the Executive Chef to make sure this has been discussed so that this does not happen again. I hope this will not deter you from returning to the Bedford Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

bar area was a little small,big hotel with old world charm, however we were put off by a hulking great newfoundland dog, in the bar area with a family who were dinning. felt like we were all sitting on top of each other. plenty of other rooms to sit and eat, but felt they wanted to confine everyone to bar area. had thought of staying here for a big birthday coming soon, but am glad we checked it out first. menu wasnt inspirering, i thought it was basic pub grub, would have expected a lot more, from such a grand looking building from the outside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Bedford Hotel, all feedback is appreciated and taken into consideration. The Bedford Hotel aims to be as pet friendly as possible, and understands this is a key requirement for many guests as we are situated next to the Dartmoor national park. However I apologies that we didn’t take more care to seat you somewhere more spacious, taking the large dog into consideration. We aim to meet every customers needs and hope that we can do better next time. I would also like to let you know that we do offer a special evening menu in the Woburn Restaurant with an extension to our Brasserie menu which is served during the day and early evening in the bar & lounge. We can also put together bespoke menus for special private dining and occasions. All food at the Bedford Hotel is local and seasonal, we hope that if December’s menu wasn’t to your taste, that you will try our new spring menu when it is available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is our local hotel. We mistakenly thought we'd pop in for a light lunch for 4 on Saturday afternoon. It was busy enough, plenty of folk eating in the bar. Sat down perused the menu (about 10 to 2). The very pleasant young lady behind the bar was just about to take our order when the sullen barman intervened and "Foods off". "We only want sandwiches and soup and a bottle of wine" - "Foods off" . We did clarify that we were ,in fact, in a hotel, an asked why this might be. " We have a wake with 200 people arriving in 20 minutes and the kitchen cant cope - we've got crisps or a cream tea". Probably wrongly we bought the bottle of wine and 3 packs of crisps. Plonked on the bar , no ice bucket. We were there for an hour , saw mountains of sandwiches and lunches being served and no arrival of 200 mourners ! Assuming they do want local trade ( and a £50 walk in cant surely be bad business??) and as they ring us regularly to take our company Christmas do there they probably do. This is simply no way for hotel that regards itself highly to behave. Poor poor poor - we'll know better next time we want a bite to eat in town

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Bedford Hotel Dukes Bar. We take the feedback we receive very seriously. That Saturday was in deed a busy day for the waiting staff and the kitchen, however i agree that the service you experienced was not acceptable and i can assure you i have taken the steps to provide the staff who were involved with extra training of how to serve customers whilst under pressure. Our local trade is very important to us and so I would very much like to welcome you back to the hotel so i can rectify the situation. Kindest regards Simon Rowe - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had booked to stay at the hotel for three nights between the 28th and 31st November. One of the first problems was that there is no one to help with the luggage. We had booked a dog friendly room, which is on the ground floor. The bed was not as large as we would have liked and when I asked if there was a room with a bigger bed I was informed that all the dog friendly rooms only had these size beds. Other brooms had larger beds but were not dog friendly. OK not a big problem. Food was OK and the staff were on the ball, as we had asked if we could bring the dog into the bar and they had reserved a table for us. The next day we went out for the day, but when we got back we found that the room had not really been cleaned. The cups we used for tea in the morning were not washed up, the bathroom had not been mopped, the floor still had crisps that we had accidentally dropped and were still on the floor, the bins were not emptied. We did complain about this and they said they would sort it......this never happened. We then started to look at the room as a whole and feel it is well past its sell by date...(the bathroom was however good). The curtains need changing and the room needs to be redecorated. We decided that with the lack of concern re the bathroom we decided to leave a day early. We have booked for three days after Christmas, but have decided to cancel as we are aware that we will be given the same room and this room is just not worth it. In the ratings we have given, poor, was for the room and the fact it needed decorating and was not cleaned, as the food is good and the waiting staff are also good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Bedford Hotel. We are indeed a dog friendly hotel due to the fact we are so close to the Dartmoor National Park. However we do have a doggy policy that we only use certain rooms for our furry friends so that we make sure our other guests who are allergic to animal hair are not affected during their stay. All Classic rooms have standard double beds or larger so I apologize that we were not able to move you into another room with a larger bed due to our doggy policy.
I am pleased that you enjoyed dining with your pooch at the Dukes bar and I hope your furry friend enjoyed its doggy welcome pack that we like to place in the room on arrival. I have reviewed which room you stayed in and have added your comments about the room décor to our yearly decoration plans. In addition I am working with the head of housekeeping to make sure all members of the team are fully trained to make sure this never happens again. I am happy that you enjoyed the food at the hotel and that you received good customer services from our waiting team. I hope one day in the future we can welcome you back to the hotel and you will see your comments have been taken on board and put into action.
Kindest regards Simon Rowe – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the October half term break. What a grand building from the outside, it does need a face lift inside, we had a room over looking the church, staff friendly and helpful although a little young, breakfast in the morning was ok.

I would stay again if in the area it’s a lovely little market town and wonderful surrounding area.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with the hotel and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. We do have yearly plans for the maintenance of the inside of the hotel and are currently introducing a lift to the back of the hotel which we hope will be finished in March/April. Make sure you sign up for our monthly special offers sent out to all customers who have stayed at one of our Warm Welcome Hotels.
Thank you again
Simon Rowe - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
296 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
160 reviews
16.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,245 reviews
7.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing