We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bedford Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Duke of Tavistock(Tavistock)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Horn Of Plenty(Gulworthy)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Endsleigh(Milton Abbot)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Bridges Hotel(Two Bridges)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
248
196
60
33
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
196
60
33
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathsister hoteltraditional hotelfour posterno liftchristmas daylovely old hotelwedding receptionthe ground floorcomfortable hotelcentral locationgood sized car parkpublic areaspannier marketsconesdouble roomcentre of town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel has some nice history to it and dates back many years. Its in the heart of Tavistock which is a thriving market town. The hotel itself could do with a much needed make over inside, whilst its full of nice bits of furnishings its all rather dated. The dining room is the same, old. The food is very nice but comes with a bit of a price tag I dont really think its worth the asking price.. Its a nice place to go for a bit of a chill out and watch the world go by if your after a coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Bedford for a long weekend break with two other couples, having had such a great time on a similar visit last year. This year's stay was no disappointment. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Our guest room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The bathroom had evidently been recently refurbished. There was plenty of hot water for the bath, although the flow of water to the shower was inadequate. The hotel has bags of character, with lots of period portraits and prints on the walls, along with a fine collection of antique clocks. There was a £10 supplement for us to take our dog into our room, which was not unreasonable, for which he received a welcome pack. There is also a charming, secluded walled garden to the rear. Overall, this is a lovely, friendly old hotel which is well-worth a visit. I have reviewed the food (breakfast and dinner) separately, but overall the food is very good, too.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have a problem with stairs, choose a room on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel hosted a 60+ person function for me in mid February and I had relatives staying several nights in the hotel. They ''loved the hotel, lovely room, lovely staff. Period but comfortably up to date. We would definitely go back. Fair price for the quality.''
My function was with just a week's notice, everything professionally managed by Maria, the room well set out and the waiting staff all well turned out, efficient and very polite. The kitchen provided extra food at no notice and we were not hurried on even though the room was required for for the evening. Simon Rowe (gen.manager) was attentive to additional requests and made sure they went smoothly. I was very pleased, and so were my guests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrynorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We just had one night at the Bedford. What made it for us was the calibre of the staff. Everyone with whom we had contact was pleasant and helpful and really seemed to care. This is quite exceptional in my experience.

The hotel is old fashioned but effort has been made with refurbishment. Our room was spacious ( it had a single bed as well as our king-sized one). The furniture, including two armchairs was new and the bathroom was also new. There was some mould in the shower which needs attention but otherwise it was clean. The pillows could do with replacement. Sheets and blankets fit the hotel style!

The view from the windows ( we were in room 26 at the front) was lovely and there was little noise from the street. This may be an issue in warmer weather with windows open though. We had no problems with squeaky floors in this part of the hotel ( as others seem to have had) as there was no second floor above.

Breakfast was great and my disappointment at the lack of black pudding was overcome by the fried bread. The toast was wonderful - proper granary loaf not sliced bread.

The extensive communal space on the ground floor had a really nice atmosphere. It seemed like a popular local meeting place for drinks or a coffee. We had eaten too well at lunchtime so only wanted a snack in the evening. The staff were happy from us to order from the lunch menu in the evening. The open sandwiches are recommended as is the cheese board. In fact I had to visit the country cheese store by the market to buy some of the cheese I had at the Bedford. There is local cask beer on offer.

I did baulk a bit at the room prices when I booked but I guess you are paying for all the public rooms. I would love to stay here again and would certainly be tempted by the sister hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HazelRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear HazelRuth
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review on The Bedford Hotel regarding your recent one night stay with us, I will pass on to the Chef your delight in having his home made granary bread for breakfast. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for the second time, staff excellent, room beautiful, hotel fantastic! Would highly recommend this to any one who wants to feel like they have been looked after! The breakfast is really good and you are made to feel welcome by everyone to speak to in the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmWelcome_Devon, General Manager at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Matt L
Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review on The Bedford Hotel regarding your recent staff with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Simon Rowe – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews