We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How hotels should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“How hotels should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful place to stay.
Attended a wedding and stayed two nights; wish we had stayed more.

Fantastic room great smiling and friendly staff and the breakfasts were just the best.

Brace yourselves Bedford Hotel, we will be coming back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    172
    54
    27
    10
See reviews for
91
197
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Not long returned from a recent short break here. The building is lovely, the area is beautiful, you couldn't ask for a better location. The room was a nice size & had one of the most comfy beds I have ever slept on. However there were certain things that need improving to justify the nightly rate. The spa bath was lovely, until you let the water out & could see all the dirt & dead skin that had come out of the vents from other guests. This is a common issue with spa baths, but not a problem if it is regularly cleaned properly. The breakfast we had was nice, however we decided against the evening meals as the smell of fish was so strong & overpowering you could smell it as soon as you walked into the hotel. The smell even reached the upper floors where our room was, however the smell luckily didn't enter the room. I think lots of people would love this place with a few minor changes as it has huge potential if they only targeted a slightly younger clientele as well. The hotel would come across more like a upmarket chic hotel rather than a retirement home.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a wedding party on the weekend. From check in to check out the service was first class. Initially we couldn't get a parking space due to numerous weddings going on but the receptionist promised to reserve us a space as soon as one become available. We had to park in the car park across the square at first. Within the hour Katie found us to say she had a space for us. Despite the rain the wedding was gorgouse sparkling wine and generous canapés on arrival. Live Jazz made for a very lively atmosphere. The quality of food and service was excellent. The happy bar staff added to fun. The room was modern in contrast to the traditional style hotel lounges and breakfast although hectic was superb. Eggs Benedict and great coffee much needed before the long drive home. Just wish we had more time to explore the ancient town of Tavostock.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gonzo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night visiting Tavistock for a school reunion, having luved in tavistock since birth we felt we should spoil ourselves, but what a big disappointment, our room was on the second floor with no lift, as I am disabled I found this difficult I had previously contacted the hotel requesting a room for a disabled person on the ground floor this was ignored our room was very tired looking with creaky floorboards the window ledge had flaking paint and the wood was rotton, now for breakfast, we were left waiting for our order to be taken for 15 mins and had to ask to give our order after it was taken it was another 45 minutes before it arrived we had dried out bacon and on both plates the eggs were missing, on getting one of the staff to see they were missing the plates were taken and eggs given I did complain but nothing was done about the bad service, I will definately not return to this hotel for the price of the room it was definately not worth it they definately need to train there waiting staff on customer service,

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean4249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My second visit on business and stay in this gem of a hotel. The location is easy to find with a generous, free car park and is central to the small town of Tavistock. Another quiet night with no road noise and a comfortable bed, in which I had a better sleep than any Premier Inn. The bar although small was excellent and the staff from reception to waiting staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself has an old quirky charm and has bags of character and history, something that brand new hotels lack. The breakfast was a good portion and hot and well worth the money. I will be recommending this hotel to my colleagues and returning myself when we need to revisit the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999Mike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel has some nice history to it and dates back many years. Its in the heart of Tavistock which is a thriving market town. The hotel itself could do with a much needed make over inside, whilst its full of nice bits of furnishings its all rather dated. The dining room is the same, old. The food is very nice but comes with a bit of a price tag I dont really think its worth the asking price.. Its a nice place to go for a bit of a chill out and watch the world go by if your after a coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Bedford for a long weekend break with two other couples, having had such a great time on a similar visit last year. This year's stay was no disappointment. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Our guest room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The bathroom had evidently been recently refurbished. There was plenty of hot water for the bath, although the flow of water to the shower was inadequate. The hotel has bags of character, with lots of period portraits and prints on the walls, along with a fine collection of antique clocks. There was a £10 supplement for us to take our dog into our room, which was not unreasonable, for which he received a welcome pack. There is also a charming, secluded walled garden to the rear. Overall, this is a lovely, friendly old hotel which is well-worth a visit. I have reviewed the food (breakfast and dinner) separately, but overall the food is very good, too.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have a problem with stairs, choose a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
14.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: 1 Plymouth Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8BB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Hotel in the heart of the historic Devon market town of Tavistock. 31 individually styled rooms, including Four Poster rooms with spa baths. Welcoming lounges packed with antiques, and a bustling bar popular with locals and residents alike. Full Devon breakfast to set you up for the day. Delicious lunches (from a bowl of homemade soup to a three course meal), and candlelit dinners in the award-winning Woburn restaurant. Or just enjoy a hearty meal in the bar in the evening. Local, seasonal produce is at the heart of all the menus at The Bedford. The Bedford Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the wild majesty of Dartmoor National Park, or the Tamar Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing