We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wonderful Mount Tavy wedding”
Review of Mount Tavy Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavistock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Tavy Cottage
Ranked #12 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our wonderful Mount Tavy wedding”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

we got married at this wonderful venue in June 2012 and it was truly amazing, a beautiful little spot with wonderful grounds for photos and just right for our small intimate wedding. Gra and Jo were more than happy to help and helped suggest people for flowers and music and we had one of their pigs for the hog roast. We had guests staying in the accommodation and enjoyed home cooked, home-reared full english breakfast each morning. I've just read someone else's negative review and thought I had to put my experience down in writing for other travellers. If you're looking for a peaceful venue with friendly, down-to-earth people who will go head over heels to help you get exactly what you want your special day to be then Mount Tavy is for you. Our special day couldn't have been more perfect, got an amazing photo of ducks waddling in front of me in my wedding dress.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    7
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We recently had our beautiful wedding day at Mount Tavy Cottages...the sun was shining and the whole day was just perfect. All our friends and family commented on the beautiful venue and our hosts, Jo and Graham, were helpful and accommodating all the way through. They allowed us to plan the day just as we wanted it and we could not have asked for more. Those guests who stayed were very happy with their accommodation...and the delicious cooked breakfasts!
Thank you Jo and Graham for hosting our perfect sunny wedding day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had a family room on two floors. At arrival, the very friendly owners brought tea and scones and the room was already warm and cosy.

The gardens are beautiful and there are plenty of dogs and cats for the kids to play with.

Breakfast was a full cooked English breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We wanted a night away in a peaceful and refreshing location and it doesn't get much better than Mount Tavy Cottage. We stayed in the Woodshed and the views were amazing, including the horse who came to see us in the morning. The accommodation itself was spotless and so well organised for families. Our 6 year old daughter stayed upstairs on the top floor with her own little bathroom (the highlight for her!), and so we could relax downstairs on the comfy sofa whilst knowing that if she needed us, as they sometimes do when they stay somewhere different, we would hear her easily. The log fire was a highlight for us and we got exactly the relaxing evening we were hoping for. The breakfast in the morning was perfect and plentiful, and the honey made by the bees that my daughter had seen on an earlier exploration of the grounds was nice, as were the sausages. Graham and Joanna were so welcoming and helpful, this really contributed to the overall experience and relaxation.
We visited Tavistock Market the next day which was full of local produce and arts and crafts too,
I cannot recommend Mount Tavy Cottage highly enough, we are thinking of going back!

Room Tip: The Woodshed is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Holding our wedding reception at Mount Tavy made it wonderfully original, and truly memorable. All our friends and family remarked that it was a fabulous venue which was made so personal by Graham and Jo who truly go the extra miles to ensure the day is executed perfectly. Nothing is too much trouble and we cannot thank them enough. Being able to retire to our beautiful room at the end of our day was blissful and the breakfast was truly scrumptious. A true gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 452Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenbach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a real nice holiday at Graham's and Joanna's cottage. The cottage is a very peaceful and spacious place, lovely formed as a part of the Dartmoor National park. The atmosphere was even better than seen in the fotos before on their web page, it is a real country cottage in a nicely and carefully restored old farm house. My kids loved all the nature around, the possibility to prowl around and to keep in touch with the animals (pigs and horse etc.) living in the garden, they were allowed to feed them and to play with them what they really loved. Graham and Joanna cared really well for us during the whole stay, we felt very well accomodated. They were so cordial to us that we felt at home from the very beginning and could enjoy our trip to Dartmoor to the fullest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Thanks so much to Graham and Jo for their help in making our family wedding such a great occasion. The setting is superb and was picture perfect on the day. Graham and Jo took a genuine interest in making our whole weekend one to remember and were involved all the way through the process to ensure that everything was exactly how we wanted it. We couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 399Jan203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
497 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
326 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rockmount
Rockmount
#2 of 25 in Tavistock
325 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beera Farmhouse
Beera Farmhouse
#9 of 25 in Tavistock
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Tavy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Tavy Cottage

Property: Mount Tavy Cottage
Address: Mount Tavy Cottage Mount Tavy Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Tavy cottage is a charming 300 year old gardeners cottage, the bedrooms have private bathrooms which have free standing baths and showers. Garden studio's with large ensuite shower rooms. A Victorian walled garden, bee hives, lake and paddocks with plenty of off road parking. We also have 2 self catering cottages for you to enjoy complete independence and freedom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Tavy Cottage Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing