We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever been to!!!”
Review of Palmers Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavistock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmers Barn B&B
Ranked #14 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
St Austell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B we have ever been to!!!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for the night before heading back home from our honeymoon, and we found Palmers Barn. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Dave and Anne are genuine people, so down to earth and very helpful. Would deffinately stay there again. Would reccomend Palmers Barn to anyone. The rooms and views are fantastic. Thank you for a very pleasant stay. Carly & Kev.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We needed somewhere local to stay for a week while having some renovations done on our house. We asked Dave & Anne if their B&B was up and running - it wasn't but they shuffled things around so we could use the room that had just been completed. (I say room but it is more of a suite with its own luxury bathroom)
As is normal for Devon/Cornwall the builders informed us that our place would be finished "D'rectly" so two weeks later we left the luxury of Palmers Barn to return home (and cook our own breakfast) :-(
Anyone looking for a base to explore Devon and Cornwall would be well advised to visit Palmers Barn where they will be treated like "Honoured Guests" staying in the nicest B&B Rooms I have ever seen.

Palmers Barn is now fully open and we wish Dave & Anne all the very best - they have worked hard to make Palmers Barn an iconic Bed & Brekfast.

Room Tip: If the Courtyard Suite is available it is the best room in the house (Ask Dave for the Katie Price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveH2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

After a short break in woolacombe, we went to tavistock to meet up with our son who was staying there, we needed a B&B, so we drove around searching for one and came accross
PALMERS BARN, well i'm glad we looked no further, the hosts were very friendly, the accommadation was excellent, And we were very full after our breakfast, we would recommend this B&B to anyone, The other good thing was there is no time limits, so we didnt have to be out to early the next day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Palmers Barn B&B, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments we enjoyed having you to stay although we couldn't do anything about the weather! regards David and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the friendly owners who couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay.
Palmers Barn is in a great location on the Devon/Cornwall border with stunning views overlooking the Tamar River and it's valley. It is central to many places to explore including the Tamar Trails and is within a few minutes walk of the Tree Surfing Adventure Centre, woodland activites and canoe hire.
We received a wonderful breakfast every morning and our two young children thoroughly enjoyed the freedom of the several acres the accomodation is set in.
After our busy days we relaxed in our clean, comfortable rooms and enjoyed the breathtaking sunsets.
We will be returning later this year.
This B&B is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
632 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
159 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beera Farmhouse
Beera Farmhouse
#10 of 25 in Tavistock
65 reviews
2.4 mi away
Number 5ifty 8ight Tavistock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Barn B&B

Property: Palmers Barn B&B
Address: West Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened B&B,set in an area of outstanding natural beauty within a world heritage site with stunning views over the Tamar Valley into Cornwall.Situated 3 miles west of Tavistock it is within easy reach of all the amenities of the southwest.All rooms are beautifully furnished with character features including beams.Each room has a flat screen TV,tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI,the suite also has a fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmers Barn B&B Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing