We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B+B in the Southwest”
Review of Palmers Barn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmers Barn B&B
Ranked #15 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have stayed in this bed and breakfast on numerous occasions throughout the year as it was closer to work, is in a great location close to Tavistock , amazing rooms and brilliant hosts would recommend this place to anyone look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaronhutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Palmers Barn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights recently. David and Anne made us so welcome. The place is spotless and the food all locally produced. Beautiful location near Dartmoor. Sadly, we didn't get the weather but you can't have everything! Lots of animals to talk to - dogs, goats, sheep, chickens. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtreacy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had a lovely stay here. We called to check our dog Bailey was ok to stay and they had everything ready when we arrived. Lovely tranquil setting and great views with plenty to do nearby. We were very impressed with the attention to detail here when it came to comfort and products. Nothing had been done to keep costs low, even though the b&b prices are very competitive. I also don't know how they keep it so clean even though they allow dogs! When we asked in passing where we could grab lunch, Anne was checking opening times on the Internet for us and trying to find out where we could take Bailey. We loved it so much we stuck around for the whole day after check out, and instead of telling us to leave they had the Thorntons chocolates and tea out for us! Can't recommend it enough! Will be planning another trip there again soon, I just hope they are not full once the word gets around!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoppadolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We found Palmer's Barn after searching for dog-friendly accommodation. The place is definitely that, with plenty of space for both human and canine guests. It's also more than a standard B&B, with beautiful rooms and attention to detail, set in great countryside but close to Tavistock. David and Anne were exceptionally friendly and welcoming, and are flexible on things like breakfast and check out times.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spet0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Myself and my wife were a bit worried with taking the dog (1yr Retriever called Morgan) away for the first time. After searching the internet we chose Palmers Barn as they accepted dogs, we need not have worried.
Anne & Dave (the owners) are true dog lovers and were the most welcoming pair I have met. They made a point of meeting Morgan on our arrival and throughout the whole stay catered for his every need with Morgan being made to feel totally at ease. From our room there was access to a outside courtyard which could be closed off by a farm gate to give Morgan a free run, they even offered to dog sit for us whilst we went out to eat that evening. The dog ended up spending more time with Anne & Dave than us.
As for ourselves we were made a cuppa on arrival and throughout our stay it was on hand. The room had such character to it with the most wonderful comfy bed and pillows. Anne & Dave have put huge effort and thought into every detail, everything was clean, tidy and well presented. In the morning the breakfast was wonderful being both cooked to perfection and plentyful. We actually left later that planned because we were to busy enjoying their company. We only stayed one night but prior to leaving wished I was not in work the following day as we would have and wanted to stayed longer. Everything about this B&B will make you want to come back again, although I fear vacancies will be harder to find as this business will become a total success. We will be back! and can not recommend this B&B enough with or without a dog.

Room Tip: If you are staying with a dog as for the room that opens into the courtyard.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at Palmers Barn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and Morgan was an absolute delight and so well behaved, he is welcome here anytime and is a credit to you both.

Kind regards

David and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

After much searching on the internet we booked this place as the reviews sounded so good- and we were so pleased with the choice.It was just for the one night as we'd travelled down for a biking event. A lovely warm welcome -and a cream tea.... We stayed in the suite and my son had one of the double rooms .All rooms were lovely and clean with beautiful linen and fluffy towels.The hosts were really helpful in suggestions/directions for our evening meal out and were very accomodating for our early Sunday morning breakfast requirements.Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it -what a shame we had to dash off.Secure parking was a big hit for us - it was great to have your own courtyard /front entrance. We would happily recommend this little gem of a B&B -Thank you Anne & Dave for a lovely stay - we will be back .

Room Tip: The mini suite with its private entrance and little courtyard is definately top choice - We arrived...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We needed somewhere to stay for the night before heading back home from our honeymoon, and we found Palmers Barn. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Dave and Anne are genuine people, so down to earth and very helpful. Would deffinately stay there again. Would reccomend Palmers Barn to anyone. The rooms and views are fantastic. Thank you for a very pleasant stay. Carly & Kev.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
663 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
334 reviews
5.2 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
505 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Priory B&B
The Priory B&B
#9 of 25 in Tavistock
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Barn B&B

Address: West Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened B&B,set in an area of outstanding natural beauty within a world heritage site with stunning views over the Tamar Valley into Cornwall.Situated 3 miles west of Tavistock it is within easy reach of all the amenities of the southwest.All rooms are beautifully furnished with character features including beams.Each room has a flat screen TV,tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI,the suite also has a fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmers Barn B&B Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing